7/16 Bubbas AMPS 346, +4 307, PMPS 105 - dosage question

Bubbas and Katrina

Member Since 2023
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...384-dosage-advice-please.279566/#post-3088134

Hey everyone! I didn’t get a response back on my post from yesterday regarding dosage. I’ve held 1 unit every 12 hours for 9 days straight with no improvements, and 1 unit just doesn’t seem to be doing enough at this point. I was asking if I should go up to 1.25 units?

If I am understanding this right, per SLGS, since his nadir is above 200, I should be increasing his dosage anyway right?

I’m going to give him his insulin here in the next 15 mins so I hope I get a reply, if not I’m going to up it too 1.25


Thanks!
 
Last edited:
Update from 30 mins after posting this: I didn’t get a reply which is fine, but I ended up doing 1.25 units :)

Sorry nobody was around but good job! That is one thing the dosing methods are intended to help you with -- increases or decreases based on their guidelines. I always have to go re-read and then copy/paste to read again haha. Here is what I found:

  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit

Now, those are based on a human meter not the Alphatrak so your statement about nadirs above 200 seems correct. And according to what I read, SLGS says you hold the dose for 1 week.

if any of this is incorrect at all I am sure someone will pop in and clarify anything as needed :)


{edit} Wait a sec -- are you using the Relion now? I'm confused, your signature says Alphatrak, and your Spreadsheet is setup for the AT, but there's a note in your SS that says you're using the Relion as of about a week ago.

If so, your spreadsheet needs adjusted so that the formulas and color-coding reflect human meter numbers.
 
Sorry nobody was around but good job! That is one thing the dosing methods are intended to help you with -- increases or decreases based on their guidelines. I always have to go re-read and then copy/paste to read again haha. Here is what I found:

  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit

Now, those are based on a human meter not the Alphatrak so your statement about nadirs above 200 seems correct. And according to what I read, SLGS says you hold the dose for 1 week.

if any of this is incorrect at all I am sure someone will pop in and clarify anything as needed :)


{edit} Wait a sec -- are you using the Relion now? I'm confused, your signature says Alphatrak, and your Spreadsheet is setup for the AT, but there's a note in your SS that says you're using the Relion as of about a week ago.

If so, your spreadsheet needs adjusted so that the formulas and color-coding reflect human meter numbers.


Hello! Yes sorry, I am using Relion Platinum full time now! I will go ahead and changed that in my signature and my SS!
And yes, my up in dose was based off that information that I read about the nadir numbers. I’m just still so new at this that I don’t really want to make any changes with his dosage until I get the OK from you all!! lol
 
Hi Katrina
Sorry no one got back to you sooner. It's good that you increased! Hoping you'll see lower nadirs soon :).
It is totally fine! I understand people have lives outside of this forum so no biggie at all!!! I more so wanted someone to tell me “yes you can” on the increase of dosage, but I knew if his nadir was gonna be higher than 200 yesterday with his curve I was going to up it this morning anyways lol
 
Hi Katrina ,I'm going to tag Bhooma and have her change the last 2 color coding numbers on your SS since you are using a human meter
@Bandit's Mom
Can you highlight where you noted
07/11/2023 starting to use Relion Platinum full time! So it stands out
Good luck with the increase :cat:
Thank you so much!!! I really appreciate you all so much!
And yeah sorry I should have made a post (or put in a daily post) that I have been using relion platinum full time since 7/10.
 
Thank you so much!!! I really appreciate you all so much!
And yeah sorry I should have made a post (or put in a daily post) that I have been using relion platinum full time since 7/10.
No sorry necessary! The beginning feels like a tornado between getting a handle on testing, giving shots, reading through the stickies, wrestling with Vet advice vs. Here etc etc etc. You're going a great job. We are here to help.
I recall that you were contemplating the TR protocol. If you have any questions, please ASK away. :bighug:
 
Ditto what Angela said
:cat::cat:
Just a reminder
Can you highlight where you noted on your spreadsheet
07/11/2023 starting to use Relion Platinum full time! So it stands out it's where you noted it in the Date Column
I know I'm anal :p
@Kitty Kat
 
Last edited:
No sorry necessary! The beginning feels like a tornado between getting a handle on testing, giving shots, reading through the stickies, wrestling with Vet advice vs. Here etc etc etc. You're going a great job. We are here to help.
I recall that you were contemplating the TR protocol. If you have any questions, please ASK away. :bighug:
Yes I am highly considering TR. I read the sticky’s about it a couple times over and I just wanted to know exactly what the difference is from SLGS and TR? It seems as tho the dosing is different and the amount of test but I want to double check. As long as I can do TR while not being able to test from 7:00am (1 hour after first test) and 4:00pm then I will be fine. I can test as much as I need after 4:00pm Monday threw Friday. But I think I would just like to know the difference overall between the two.
 
Ditto what Angela said
:cat::cat:
Just a reminder
Can you highlight where you noted on your spreadsheet
07/11/2023 starting to use Relion Platinum full time! So it stands out it's where you noted it in the Date Column
I know I'm anal :p
@Kitty Kat
Yes I will do that right now!!! And no you aren’t anal, I’m like the same, I like everything organized and all that stuff so i get it!
 
Fixed everything in my SS to clearly reflect when i started using ReliOn Platinum.

And so will the colors in my SS change now that its going to reflect off my ReliOn and not the Aplhatrak 2 anymore?
 
Fixed everything in my SS to clearly reflect when i started using ReliOn Platinum.

And so will the colors in my SS change now that its going to reflect off my ReliOn and not the Aplhatrak 2 anymore?
Just the last 2 color codes at the top of the spreadsheet, that's why I tagged Bhooma
@Bandit's Mom to contact you and she will change it for you
She will probably be on later tonight because she lives in India and she's probably sleeping now

Take a look at Tyler's spreadsheet and you will see the difference the dark green and the neon green, then look at yours
 
Just the last 2 color codes at the top of the spreadsheet, that's why I tagged Bhooma
@Bandit's Mom to contact you and she will change it for you
She will probably be on later tonight because she lives in India and she's probably sleeping now

Take a look at Tyler's spreadsheet and you will see the difference the dark green and the neon green, then look at yours
OK sounds good to me! Yes ill take a look at Tyler's SS
 
also does anyone know how to change my name on here? I would like to change it to my name and bubbas name from kitty kat but I cant figure out how to do that
 
Let me see if I can answer some of these items.
First @Diane Tyler's Mom is in fact anal, but she's adorable and we LOVE her very much for keeping our SS in great shape for people helping us :cat:

Second, your SS will need a small formatting change which we happily and often volunteer Bhooma @Bandit's Mom to do for us. (I'm a former AT2 user too and Bhooma fixed my SS in 2 seconds flat. We LOVE her very much too)

Third, to change your username, go to your name on the top right of this screen, go to personal details, then scroll to the end of the page. Under "advanced options" there is an option to change username.

TR does push the envelope a bit for comfortability of a newly diagnosed kitty's CG. Those greens are very frightening at first but then are more addictive than chocolate (for me at least ;)).
You'll get there but for now, since Bubbas is newly diagnosed, you are becoming data ready. See this sticky:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...y-to-shoot-handle-lower-pre-shot-numbers.147/

Do you think you may be able to shoot the AMPS a little earlier so that you can get a +2 before leaving for work?
 
Let me see if I can answer some of these items.
First @Diane Tyler's Mom is in fact anal, but she's adorable and we LOVE her very much for keeping our SS in great shape for people helping us :cat:

Second, your SS will need a small formatting change which we happily and often volunteer Bhooma @Bandit's Mom to do for us. (I'm a former AT2 user too and Bhooma fixed my SS in 2 seconds flat. We LOVE her very much too)

Third, to change your username, go to your name on the top right of this screen, go to personal details, then scroll to the end of the page. Under "advanced options" there is an option to change username.

TR does push the envelope a bit for comfortability of a newly diagnosed kitty's CG. Those greens are very frightening at first but then are more addictive than chocolate (for me at least ;)).
You'll get there but for now, since Bubbas is newly diagnosed, you are becoming data ready. See this sticky:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...y-to-shoot-handle-lower-pre-shot-numbers.147/

Do you think you may be able to shoot the AMPS a little earlier so that you can get a +2 before leaving for work?

Well, any extra help or anything I can get in much appreciated so any tweaks or anything I need done to my SS is totally fine!

And the thing is, I would have to wake up at 5:00am my time here to get a +2 reading, and I usually wake up at 6:00am. I have celiac disease which causes chronic fatigue, and for me its the biggest symptoms of the disease, so I am constantly tired, all day every day. And the more tired I am, the less productive I am at work, so even waking up and hour earlier is going to affect me pretty bad, I am not the type to wake up and just go back to sleep in the mornings, If I am up, I am up lol and especially if I have to wake up an extra hour earlier to basically just sit there and wait to start getting ready and stuff, it'll make me very mentally exhausted. Thats why I have hesitated to do TR because I know it's a lot more testing than normal in the AM and I think for the AM, I am pretty much at my limit at what I can mentally and physical do. If I was able to find a work from home job (which I am looking around for something remote currently) than I could maybe wake up an hour earlier. But for now I dont think I can. I can do as many test as needed after 4:30 pm my time because that's when I get home.


I also realize that getting Bubbas into remission means sacrifice from my end on stuff, but if I am not productive at work, and I am just exhausted all day, I could get let go and that would be the worst outcome for him and me, me not having any income.
 
And the thing is, I would have to wake up at 5:00am my time here to get a +2 reading, and I usually wake up at 6:00am. I have celiac disease which causes chronic fatigue, and for me its the biggest symptoms of the disease, so I am constantly tired, all day every day. And the more tired I am, the less productive I am at work, so even waking up and hour earlier is going to affect me pretty bad, I am not the type to wake up and just go back to sleep in the mornings, If I am up, I am up lol and especially if I have to wake up an extra hour earlier to basically just sit there and wait to start getting ready and stuff, it'll make me very mentally exhausted. Thats why I have hesitated to do TR because I know it's a lot more testing than normal in the AM and I think for the AM, I am pretty much at my limit at what I can mentally and physical do. If I was able to find a work from home job (which I am looking around for something remote currently) than I could maybe wake up an hour earlier. But for now I dont think I can. I can do as many test as needed after 4:30 pm my time because that's when I get home.
Thank You very much for sharing this. It's just as important to take care of yourself.
You are off to a great start and Bubbas is lucky to have you :bighug:.
Stick with SLGS and get comfortable with the routines and gathering data.
 
Thank You very much for sharing this. It's just as important to take care of yourself.
You are off to a great start and Bubbas is lucky to have you :bighug:.
Stick with SLGS and get comfortable with the routines and gathering data.
Of course, I am an open book, I have no issues sharing personal things :) and ok great I will stick with SLGS for right now and do the best I can with testing frequently!:)
 
Pretty low pmps I’d get a +1 and +2.
I agree. I didn’t realize that adding the .025 units was going to make it drop to that number. Was kind of nervous to shoot him since he hasn’t been that low in a while. I’ll get a +1 and/or a +2 & +3


I want to clerify, is the +1’s, 2’s, 3’s, ect, is that hours after first testing before food and insulin? Or hours after getting insulin?
 
+1 is one hour after giving insulin. I thought you might see a bounce but the +1 looks like a food bump. Get a +2 or +3 as you planned.

ok thats good to know because this whole time I’ve been doing the +1’s and stuff as hours after first testing, not hours after giving insulin. So my +1 for this pm was one hour after this first test, pre food and shot. So the next test I’ll do, I’ll do hours after actually giving him his insulin.
 
Back
Top