7/16 Bob AMPS=496 Blue and a Bounce Advice Please??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lkldcatlady

Member Since 2013
yesterday's condo

Good morning all! I am in good spirits today as Bob ate some canned food AND I saw some blue numbers! This kitty is trying to make a liar out of me. I SWEAR I have tried so many kinds of food and different tricks and he was being so stubborn!!!! I guess maybe I finally found one he liked and when he ate it, he realized canned food isn't so bad. Last night he ate 1/2 can of Fromm duck & chicken (does have fish) and this morning, he ate a little more than 1/2 of FF Ocean whitefish & tuna. I wonder if it's the fish because he has shown a little interest in fish. Or, maybe it's the texture of the Fromm - it is VERY juicy, whereas the FF is kind of firm. I'm just happy he ate it. I did give him 1/4 cup of Orijen dry along with his canned food, which he ate as well. He also ate partially frozen meatsicles, which I can't believe either!!

So, onto his numbers. Not sure what prompted the blue - could it be the 4.25 kicked in? I can't imagine the food made that much of a difference because he still ate 1/4 cup and then a snack of the dry. And of course, I expected the bounce this morning. I have a couple of questions:

1. Is there a danger of him going low during the am cycle? Should I go home and check on him? If so, what would be the best time?

2. Can someone explain to me what will happen now? Will the bounce cause numbers to be high for a few days? Is there anything I need to do? I seem to recall I'm supposed to wait like 72 hours or something for the bounce to clear...

3. I'm not quite sure what to do now. What to watch for, etc. Should I read the dosing protocol again? Am I supposed to dose based on the nadir? Which, btw, I still don't know where that is because he doesn't seem to have one! I've read everything but right now it's flying around in my head and I can't keep anything straight.

Sorry for all the confusing questions. I really hope this is the beginning of some changes, but I guess I could be getting excited over nothing. I would really appreciate any advice.....

I hope everyone has a great day!

Extra comforting prayers for Kathie as she deals with her loss.


“We should certainly count our blessings, but we should also make our blessings count.”
― Neal A. Maxwell
 
It is entirely possible that you're seeing some effects of diet change. I would never underestimate the effect of getting rid of dry food in a cat's diet. The change to canned can be pretty amazing! You'll have to wait for the bounce to clear to really have a better idea of how this is playing out, though.

There's no way to know if Bob's numbers will drop. I'd get a +2 or a +3 and see what that tells you. If Bob's numbers are dropping fast by +3, you'll have an answer. Since this is the first time you're really seeing a bounce, you don't have data to know how long it will take for Bob's numbers to come back to baseline. A bounce can take up to 72 hours to clear although there is some variability between cats. The more time Bob spends in lower numbers, the more quickly bounces clear. There's nothing you need to do or, for that matter, can do to deal with the bounce or make it clear more quickly. That's up to Bob!

Dosing is based on nadir. Bob isn't in dose reduction territory yet. At this point, unless Bob does decide to show you the greener side of his personality, once the bounce clears, I'd be thinking of a dose increase.
 
Hi Dara! Nice blue for Bob there! We had a little blue surf last night too. :cool:

Figuring this out is nuts, but you're doing great! Before you know it Bob will be hounding you for that wet food. :lol:

Have a great day!
 
Thanks Sienne - well, I couldn't get a +2 or +3 because I'm at work, but I'll go home and get a +4.5 and +5.5 or a +5 and +6 (my lunch hour). Hopefully, he's not plummeting! Yikes. I'm so happy for low numbers, but it makes me nervous too. Hard to work full-time and take care of a sugarkitty!
 
Nikki's Mom said:
Hi Dara! Nice blue for Bob there! We had a little blue surf last night too.

Figuring this out is nuts, but you're doing great! Before you know it Bob will be hounding you for that wet food.

Have a great day!

Hi Alexis! Wow - look at Nicki! He and Bob must be cosmically linked! :-D

Yeah, Bob was funny last night - when i was opening the can, he was begging - he never does that! so weird. I wonder what changed. Maybe it was the prayers! Divine intervention! :shock: Whatever, I'm just happy for the moment. Hope it doesn't take a turn in the wrong direction!

You guys have a great day too!
 
Hi guys .. yay for blues!! A diet change can be a wonderful thing .. Mocha really loves walmarts special kitty, turkey and giblets .. I think it's around 4% in carbs .. Have a great day guys!
 
Lkldcatlady said:
oops. Called Nikki a boy! Sorry!!! I'm all discombobulated from the events of last night! ohmygod_smile

That's ok, I totally didn't notice! :lol: And she's a tomboy, so I think she'd approve!

I do think they are cosmically linked. :lol: Let's mind meld them and convince them to stay in the blues!
 
PeterDevonMocha said:
Hi guys .. yay for blues!! A diet change can be a wonderful thing .. Mocha really loves walmarts special kitty, turkey and giblets .. I think it's around 4% in carbs .. Have a great day guys!

Hey Peter - I read your article on Yahoo - that's great! Hopefully, it will lead lots of people here.

I think Bob sort of liked the FF turkey & giblets so I'll def try to get him to eat more of that. I don't mind buying the higher-quality canned food, but the crazy cat likes the most expensive one!! I could never afford $2.29 a can - just for Bob, that would be $137.00 a month. YIKES! And I have two other kitties to feed.

Nikki's Mom said:
I do think they are cosmically linked. Let's mind meld them and convince them to stay in the blues!

Great idea! :lol:
 
One more question - I went home and got Bob's +4.5 - it was 242. quite a big drop. While I was there, he ate the rest of his 1/4 cup of Orijen dry - does anyone think it necessary to run home and test him again? Could he be in danger of another significant drop? I Also have a snack for him at +6 of wet and a little dry.
 
ya!! Bob....so happy to see him in the blues!! Mid-blues too! FINALLY RIGHT??!!

Bless you Dara for running home and checking on Bob. He is very very very lucky to have you!!

Continued improvements! Continued eating the correct food Bob!! And good luck with the dose increase nerves!!!
:roll:
~kelly
 
Yeah for those blues!!! So exciting to see those and that he's finally eating wet. Hopefully you'll be able to transition from wet to a slightly cheaper wet food they all can eat. It should be easier than going from dry to wet.

I'd guess that Bob should be fine for the rest of the day. Nadir is still to come, but he's probably done the worst of his dropping for now. But don't be surprised if you come home to a slightly lower number. As long as he has a bit of food to snack on while you are gone, he should be OK.
 
tomtom13 said:
ya!! Bob....so happy to see him in the blues!! Mid-blues too! FINALLY RIGHT??!!

Bless you Dara for running home and checking on Bob. He is very very very lucky to have you!!

Continued improvements! Continued eating the correct food Bob!! And good luck with the dose increase nerves!!!
:roll:
~kelly

Thanks Kelly! Keeping my fingers crossed he doesn't just change his mind again! He's so complicated.... ohmygod_smile He is a little annoyed I've been testing more than usual. He's very laid back, but he's tired of me messing with his ear and he's pretty much let me know. grumpy_cat

Wendy&Neko said:
Yeah for those blues!!! So exciting to see those and that he's finally eating wet. Hopefully you'll be able to transition from wet to a slightly cheaper wet food they all can eat. It should be easier than going from dry to wet.

I'd guess that Bob should be fine for the rest of the day. Nadir is still to come, but he's probably done the worst of his dropping for now. But don't be surprised if you come home to a slightly lower number. As long as he has a bit of food to snack on while you are gone, he should be OK.

Ok, now I have the dose increase nerves again. So, if he has a low number, do I continue to give him 4.25? He's regularly been in the 300's - what if I get something in the low yellow or blue? Yikes! I'll never sleep again....
 
Yikes! I'll never sleep again



HAHAHA. ain't that the truth! We must be careful what we wish for Dara!!!


He is a little annoyed I've been testing more than usual. He's very laid back, but he's tired of me messing with his ear and he's pretty much let me know
.

I know how you feel.....yesterday Tomcat let me know the very same thing!!

~kelly
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top