7/15 Tyler AMPS 84 +4.5 62 PMPS 102. +4 50 :)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 7/15 Tyler AMPS 84 +4.5 62 :)

I'm thinking if he's still in normal numbers through tomorrow night, it will be "time" ;-) :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/15 Tyler AMPS 84 +4.5 62 :)

I'm so excited!!! So now...
What do I need to know about OTJ trial and how long is ?
How often and what times do I test?
Does feeding schedule remain the same, do I still need to feed small meals in the middle of the day?
If he goes high on a trial, do I shoot or see how he adjusts?
Anything else I'm not thinking of?
 
Re: 7/15 Tyler AMPS 84 +4.5 62 :)

Here are the instructions for an OTJ trial:

Test at your normal AMPS and PMPS times. Feed multiple small meals throughout the day as much as possible (small meals are less likely to overwhelm a newly functioning pancreas). The morning test is now called the AMBG (AM Blood Glucose). The evening test is now called the PMBG.

If your cat is green (0-99 mg/L human meter, 0-130 mg/L pet meter, 0-5.5 mmoL) at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If the numbers are blue (100-199 human meter, 130-230 pet meter, 5.5-11 mmoL), feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. Food raises BG's. So if the number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!

After 2 weeks, if everything is looking good, we have a party! And boy, do we party hearty. :cool:

Sometimes, the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support by starting the cat with a tiny dose of insulin again. We simply start the cat back on a tiny dose of insulin to support the pancreas with healing for a bit longer. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to be safe now then sorry later that you rushed it. With just a little more time we will probably get that strong remission we are looking for.
 
Re: 7/15 Tyler AMPS 84 +4.5 62 :)

Actually, we've changed the instructions. I hate to jump the gun and jinx him :? :? but here are the correct instructions but please give the current dose a full seven days unless he earns a reduction:

Start the trial on a green pre shot.

If he is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If he is blue, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. If his number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then his pancreas is working!

Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. It is not unusual for cats to get lots of blue during their trial, especially at first. Don't panic and don't shoot unless we tell you to.

After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens, we just give him the support he needs. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

Good luck!

If he gets through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic, but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low-carb food and small meals for the rest of his life. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood sugar weekly for the next few months and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him monthly. His weight should remain stable. If he seems "off" or sick, or is showing symptoms of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss) test his blood sugar right away. Keep the teeth clean; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission.

If you see rising blood sugar numbers, post here before you restart insulin and ask for advice on how to proceed.
 
Ok, he's sooooooooper close tonight. I fed him a little after testing him, it is time for bed. Hope everyone has a good night!!
 
Brian

I have to apologize because, for some reason when I looked at his SS and was counting days, I had it in my head that he was on 0.1u. But he's still on 0.25u.

The last couple of years, we've been having CGs go from 0.25u to 0.1u before starting a trial. However, before that, they would go directly from 0.25u to the trial once they earned the reduction.

I am going to leave it up to you to decide. We'd like him to have a strong remission but he might do fine going from 0.25u to off. IMHO, if it were my cat, I'd reduce to 0.1u after the full seven days at 0.25u and then take him off when he earns the reduction.

I'm very sorry :oops: :oops: but I feel it is more important to bring it to your attention and suggest you take him down to 0.1u after tomorrow and then off after he earns a reduction by going below 50 or being in normal numbers a week.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top