7/15 Simon AMPS 88 +7 81 +9 73 Appetite! PMPS 74 +2 70 +6 66

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bruce & Simon

Member Since 2011
~O) Good Morning Everyone ~O)

Simon's AMPS 88 today, appetite non-existent so I skipped his shot, not even a token dose this AM. I tried
3 of his favourite foods, even put out a bit of the hc gravy - no interest whatsoever. Had to "assist" him with the Tapazole too.
Simon's obviously not feeling well. :cry:

Vet @ 9:45. I think I'll ask if we can do Simon's bloodwork - it's been 3 full weeks on full dose TPZ with over a week before that on 1/2 dose.
The protocol states 4 weeks, but this is new, I somehow remember from previous experience it wasn't that long.
Be good to know what's causing this, although I'm still hopeful it's just a very stubborn furball... :-|

Those high blues at +5 & +7 yesterday have me puzzled..... :?

Yesterday's Condo

Yesterday's Synopsis
AMPS - 68 .10u
+3 - 64
+5 - 178
+7 - 198
PMPS - 93 .10u
+2 - 52
+3 - 64
+5.5 - 65
Have a great day everyone!
 
Re: 7/15 Simon AMPS 88 - Not eating - no shot

Aww, sorry that Simon isn't feeling better. I hope the vet visit will provide some answers.
I'll be thinking about you guys. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 7/15 Simon AMPS 88 - Not eating - no shot

Poor Simon, I'll be keeping him in my thoughts. I sure hope the vet can provide some answers.
Keep us updated.
 
Re: 7/15 Simon AMPS 88 - Not eating - no shot

Oh, I am so sad to hear that Simon is still not feeling any better this morning. I really hope the vet visit goes well and you can find out what is causing him to feel so lousy. Good luck and update when you can.
 
Re: 7/15 Simon AMPS 88 - Not eating - no shot

So sorry to hear Simon still isn't feeling well. Good luck with the vet visit.

Feel better, Simon!!!
 
Re: 7/15 Simon AMPS 88 - Not eating - no shot

From what I've read, the major side effects of Tapazole are loss of appetite and vomiting. The side effects are more common when Tapazole is given in pill form than transdermal. Maybe discussing transdermal with your vet may be a possibility.
 
Re: 7/15 Simon AMPS 88 - Not eating - no shot

Sienne and Gabby said:
From what I've read, the major side effects of Tapazole are loss of appetite and vomiting. The side effects are more common when Tapazole is given in pill form than transdermal. Maybe discussing transdermal with your vet may be a possibility.
Will definitely discuss that. We did drop back to 1/4 tab for a while at the beginning, because he may have had an issue with it. When I resumed the full dose, all was well until a few days ago. I read that if this approach was taken (reduced "acclimatization" dose) that this resolved the issue with "most" kitties, but of course, ECID ;-) With the transdermal, do you dedicate one ear to TPZ and one for poking? :lol:
 
Re: 7/15 Simon AMPS 88 - Not eating - no shot

Hi Bruce, I sure hope that you can get this problem under control and that the vet will have some answers for you. Come on, Simon, eat some food! Stu, who was hyper-t, vomited a lot, mostly hairballs because he was constantly tearing out his dander and ingesting it. I learned that this eating of fur was one of the "symptoms" of hyper-t. We gave the Tapezol in pill form, but I was never sure if it was doing anything for him; we never arrived at the "right" dose. I think it would be a good idea to get some more blood tests for Simon. The transdermal might be the way to go with the Tapezol.

Best of luck at the vets,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 7/15 Simon AMPS 88 - Not eating - no shot

{{{{{{HUGS}}}}} Sending tons of healing vines, and good thoughts for Simon and you. I wish him to make a full and speedy recovery. I hope that the vet visit is a good one, and am sending positive vibes for that, too.
 
Re: 7/15 Simon AMPS 88 - Back from Vet

Thanks for the good wishes everyone :-D

Back from Vet, went fine. He's gained about 1/4 lb. which is good, he was losing due to the HT.
No fever, no detectable furball, mouth OK etc.

Full senior blood panel being done, results Monday. The vet doesn't think Tapazole is the issue, but
will switch to another treatment if necessary. She's not a huge fan of the transdermal, says some of her
patients have had difficulty with getting dosage consistency, other cats in household licking it off etc. (Chloe is always grooming Sime!).

She also prescribed an appetite enhancer, one which we had success with on Justice a few years back. (Mirtazapine).

Anyway, when we got home Simon ate about 15g of regular food. I went out for a while and he was waiting in the kitchen when I came back..

I'm waiting a bit, if he eats a good lunch I may shoot instead of waiting until regular PMPS, and get back on track tomorrow AM.
 
Re: 7/15 Simon AMPS 88 - Back from Vet

Good to hear things went well! I hope the appetite stimulant helps and Simon's blood work comes back good. Have a great day Bruce!
 
Re: 7/15 Simon AMPS 88 +7 81 +9 73 Appetite!!

Man... Simon's having a typical (it seems) reaction to the Mirtz. I've read up a lot on it here and at Tanya's CRF site.
He's VERY chatty (not howling - phew) and eats many small helpings (I haven't wanted him to pig out and....you know ;-) )

And during this, his BG is going down on a skipped shot.... Ack, be nice to have something understandable for a change! :?
 
Re: 7/15 Simon AMPS 88 +7 81 +9 73 Appetite!!

Glad Simon is eating, and I hope everything turns out fine with the blood panel results. The Mirtazapine does help with the appetite and also a side effect of being chatty. Maggie was on it at one time, and I remember the chatty part. Sending some vines and positive thoughts for Simon.
 
Re: 7/15 Simon AMPS 88 +7 81 +9 73 Appetite!!

Bruce & Simon said:
Ack, be nice to have something understandable for a change! :?

Bruce, wouldn't that take all the fun out of what makes our cats who they are? I'm just saying :-D ! I like you're thought process though! That's great to see you got some fud in his belly too :smile: I sure am praying for good news when you get the blood panel back next week.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top