7/15 Sammy: 45 yesterday, need help shooting green today

Status
Not open for further replies.

TokyoKitty

Member Since 2013
Sammy's previous post

So yesterday we had the first ever <50 test result, around AMPS+9. I steered with food, then reduced her PM dose to 0.75 (was 1.0). She did fine through the night (~150's), then dropped to 103 at +11. Her AMPS this morning was 91. She usually continues to drop through +1, but starts going up after her meal. Since I just reduced her dose, I thought it would be safe to proceed with the 0.75 shot and feed her morning meal.

I would really appreciate a review of her spreadsheet and any advice you might have. In particular, I'm wondering what to do with her PM shot tonight if she drops <50 again today. Stick with the 0.75, or reduce again?

Recap:
AMPS+9 = 45 steered with food
PMPS = 83 shot reduced dose 0.7 levemir and fed normal meal
+6 = 157
+11 = 103
AMPS = 91 shot 0.7 and fed normal meal

I'm a little rattled with the sudden drop into greens yesterday and today. I don't know how you guys do this! You've got nerves of steel. But I'll have to get used to it, since that's where Sammy is taking us. And she's still only at 50% low carb! I won't be adding any more low carb until her numbers stabilize.

Sienne and Sheila: thanks so much for your help last night!
 
Hello.
Looks like you shot that 91.
It would be a good idea to get a +1 .... and a +2 to start with.
See where Sammy is heading this cycle.

One of the advising people will be on later... I'm guessing.
 
Hi Rhiannon,

Yes, I shot the 91. I just did a +1 and she's at 113. I'll do a +2 as well to confirm she's heading up.
 
Hi Susan

Great shooting this morning!!! Let's see how she does today but if she drops below 50 again, I wouldn't reduce yet. The insulin depot from the 1u dose can affect up to six subsequent cycles in some cats. So if she goes below 50 again during this cycle, I would leave the dose and shoot .75u again tonight provided she gives you a safe BG over 50 to shoot.

She's doing so much better on the new diet!!!
 
Since you're still relatively new at managing Sammy's numbers, I would be attentive to shooting dropping numbers. There can be a lot of momentum behind a drop and couple that with giving a shot, it could end up being a busy time testing. It may be worth delaying your shot by 20 min. and retesting to see what's happening with Sammy's numbers.

Seeing a rise in numbers at +1 is typical. Many cats experience a "food spike." By +2, numbers should be at roughly the same place at your pre-shot number. If your +2 is considerably lower, then it's likely that you will need to be attentive to Sammy's numbers. Because you haven't shot lower numbers all that often yet, it's prudent to get early tests (a +1 and +2) if you're shooting low.
 
Ok, her +2 is 122 so all seems well. I'm going to try to get a few zzz's before the next test. Since levemir onset is around +4, I figure +5 would be a good time for her next test.

Sheila and Sienne, thanks for the advice! I'll be sure to get early tests (+1/+2) and will try to hold the current dose.

Sienne: Gizmo is gorgeous! Reminds me so much of my cat Foxy (OTR in 1993). I still miss her.
 
I think Sienne is thinking Sammy is on lantus. ;-)

BUT, with the way Sammy gets some duration on her lev ....or a second dip....after PS, it's a good idea to check the +1/+2 just to be sure she is headed up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top