? 7/15 Post DKA Millie Home; AMPS 321, +2 215, +4 62 Concerned about HYPO

Status
Not open for further replies.
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers - any flavor would do, sold at Walmart and most grocery stores.

I'd also get some FF Grilled - the MC, for later.

Have lots of the FF Gravy Lovers. I was going to test again but she is eating now and I figured I'd let her eat in peace. She tends to run & hide with too much testing.
 
Lol...I think the kitty can finish her snack. She'll be okay for a few extra minutes! Remember that the take action numbers are (for most cats) still actually safe number. We intervene because they are heading into dangerous territory, not because they are already there.
 
Her BG went up to 86!!!!!
Thanks everyone. I have company coming in 10 minutes bot I will continue to monitor her. I'll do one in 30 minutes. If it stays level or goes up, I guess it would OK to monitor every hour?
That may still be a little honey effect. If she'll eat another bite or two of food, let her eat it. Retest in 30 minutes. Usually you'll wait for 3 rising numbers, not influenced by food to go to hourly testing. She may not be quite at nadir yet.
 
That may still be a little honey effect. If she'll eat another bite or two of food, let her eat it. Retest in 30 minutes. Usually you'll wait for 3 rising numbers, not influenced by food to go to hourly testing. She may not be quite at nadir yet.
OK, sorry someone was on the computer. Her +7 was 144 (that was 30 minutes ago). I have to leave for a couple of hours for an appointment. I will leave HC food. My husband is home & I'll ask him to teat her at the +8 (1/2 hour).

Thanks everyone!!!
 
Millie's PMPS was 443, bouncing? I didn't feed for several hours before her reshot bg reading.

Decreased the dose to 2.25U. Will do a +2 reading before bed. Probably a three hour curve tomorrow (went through lots of AT test strips and want to make sure caretaker has enough for the week).
 
Great job getting through all that drama today and keeping your kitty safe. Hopefully the bounce will clear quickly! :bighug:
 
Having a late nadir can be tricky, the feeding schedule might need to be adjusted. I think @Bobbie And Bubba was a late nadir kitty (in remission now). Maybe she has some insight for you.
Yes, Bubba had a late nadir, really late. His AM and PM precshot numbers were his nadir. It actually made shooting low numbers easier because he was only going up from the pre shot number.

I am not seeing that Millie is a late nadir cat; looks like she nadirs around +6 - +7 with an occasional one later. But, that said, she can change her nadir at any given time. ( she's a cat and they have a different rule book than us beans)


ETA: Good job bringing her up from the lower numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top