7/15 Miss Kitty AMPS 479 +10 430 PMPS 431+2 404 +6 373

Status
Not open for further replies.

april925

Member Since 2011
yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=47628&p=513247#p513247

She seems to be getting out of control now, could it be the full moon thing I was reading about. I'm going to curve her as best as I can tomorrow, I guess all I can do is wait till then to see what is happening. Should I just give her 1 unit instead of her .75 tonight, depending on what her PMPS is of course? Those bonito flakes wouldn't be doing it, would they? Oh my...
 
Re: 7/15 Miss Kitty AMPS 479, HELP

Sometimes there is a high before a break.
And the full moon makes a lot of cat's numbers goes wonky. Some high, and some low. My cat usually goes high.

Bonito flakes do not have any carbs in them, they should be 100% fish, so those would not cause a rise in BG.

Depending on tonight's number, you may be able to do an increase, but please ask for advise in your post first.
I would change your Subject line in your first post of the day today, to DOSE ADVISE Please or something like that, later in the day today, to get more eyes looking at your spreadsheet.

Good Luck.
I have to sign off and get ready for tbp.
 
Re: 7/15 Miss Kitty AMPS 479, HELP

Good Morning!
I'm no expert... but it could be possible she went very low yesterday while you weren't testing, and this is a bounce.
If it is a bounce, increasing the dose is not what you want to do, at least until the bounce clears.

Someone who knows way more than I do should be along soon :smile:
 
Re: 7/15 Miss Kitty AMPS 479, HELP

Thanks Dyana, Bruce & Simon

I need to get the curve done tomorrow for sure.
 
Re: 7/15 Miss Kitty AMPS 479, HELP

april925 said:
I need to get the curve done tomorrow for sure.
Yes, that would be so helpful. It is so hard to see high numbers and be patient... I too want to say, yes, increase that dose right now- but we need to make sure it is the right thing to do. This "could" be a bounce - we can't tell absolutely and the earlier blues are what causes us to pause.

My guess is - that you will be able to increase very soon, but kitties have been known to make a liar out of me, hahaha!! :o
 
Re: 7/15 Miss Kitty AMPS 479, HELP

I agree with CD.

Just for the future, you may want to consider evaluating a dose a bit sooner. If you look over the dosing protocol, we try to not keep a dose that's still producing higher numbers for more than 3 - 5 days.
 
Re: 7/15 Miss Kitty AMPS 479, HELP

Thanks Sienne, so if she is still this high or even in the 300s at PMPS, I should go for the 1 unit?
 
Re: 7/15 Miss Kitty AMPS 479, HELP

I agree with everything said. She may have went way low yesterday and is just having a bounce from it. Tarragon is a bouncy kitty and that is usually the case when he gets up into the 400's. I would definitely do a curve tomorrow if you can and see what is going on midcycle.

Have a great day!!
 
Re: 7/15 Miss Kitty AMPS 479, HELP

April: I think what Sienne meant was there were several really high cycles that were probably not attributable to a bounce where you could have raised her.

The a.m. cycle on 7/4, she got into green. If you count six cycles after that for a bounce, that would have brought you through the am cycle on 7/7. I think you could have raised her dose on the am cycle of 7/8 as she had several very high cycles there with no evidence of any low numbers; however, there isn't enough testing data at night to know for sure. And as others have said, high numbers can be bounces from low numbers. The curve this weekend will really help you find out what she is doing at night. There are several kitties that run their lowest at night (including mine).

With the number she's giving you this morning, I agree with the others that she might have started a new bounce cycle...she might have been low last night.
 
Re: 7/15 Miss Kitty AMPS 479, HELP

I got home early, so I could check her at +10 and she is at 430. I will check at +11 and the PMPS too. Should I give the 1 unit tonight or wait till the curve tomorrow? I will also try to check her a couple times tonight too, probably at +2 and maybe I can set my alarm to check sometime in the middle of the night. What would be the best +5, 6, 7??
 
Re: 7/15 Miss Kitty AMPS 479 +10 430 +11 478 DOSE ADVISE

Since it is the weekend and you are available to test, this is a good time to try for the increase.
While it is 'possible' that Miss Kitty went low and is bouncing... we just don't know for sure and based on the after work tests you got, she is hanging out kind of high.
It may be the simple answer: time to increase. It is totally up to you of course. What is your gut feeling? Do you want to go for 1.00u and do lots of tests? :-D

As for when to set your alarm tonight... I think the +2 test will give you an idea of whether you can wait longer as in +7. My first choice might be set the clock for the +6.
Full disclosure: I use Levemir and the nadir is around +7 or +8; so I defer to Lantus users to give advice as to when is the best time to get a mid-cycle "sleep" test. I think it is around +6.

(Sleep test: get up, poke kitty, yawn, go back to bed) :lol:
 
Re: 7/15 Miss Kitty AMPS 479 +10 430 +11 478 DOSE ADVISE

Sleep test: get up, poke kitty, yawn, go back to bed) :lol:
Ain't that the truth.

She was at 431 for PMPS, I gave her maybe a fatter dose than usual. Maybe I'll do 2 checks in the middle of the night and tomorrow night too just to see if there is much difference from the daytime curves and what happens at night. Lately, I barely have to touch her ear with the lancet and I get the blood drop. Her poor little kitty ears, ouch.
 
Re: 7/15 Miss Kitty AMPS 479 +10 430 +11 478 PMPS 431DOSE AD

April:

Like I said, we have an active night kitty on lantus. I always do a +2 and a +4. The +2 tells me whether she is going to possibly be busy and even if that number is close to her PMPS, I still get a +4 because she onsets at +3 and can drop really fast. Other cats may drop lower later...I've seen Champ drop lower at +5/+6. You could decide based on her +2....if it's more than 50 or so lower than PMPS, you might want to get a +4 and then decide if any other tests are necessary. If her +2 is close to her PMPS, maybe go for a +5 or +6.
 
Re: 7/15 Miss Kitty AMPS 479 +10 430 +11 478 PMPS 431DOSE AD

Yes, I would increase to 1.0u. Please make sure to get spot checks, especially over the weekend. Good luck with the increase.

If you're question has been answered, could you edit out the "dose advice" from your subject line?
 
Re: 7/15 Miss Kitty AMPS 479 +10 430 +11 478 PMPS 431DOSE AD

Yes, I think I got some good answers. Her +2 is 404. Time to set the alarm.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top