7/15 Mac PMPS 512 +3 424 +8 362 PMPS 354

It’s very common for cats to bounce. As he gets used to normal numbers again the bounces will get less and less. I suspect part of his higher numbers is due to him needing a dental as well. Max bin rd for about 9 months. Then he became tightly regulated.
 
  • Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
 
  • Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
Thank you! I have read that several times. I guess my question is how long might it take so there are less bounces. I was just getting ready to move 2.0 U the morning the bounce cleared and we had blues and a green. Should I continue to plan to go with the 2.0 U dose since I will be the 300 and 400's while the bounce clears or stay at 1.75 since we did achieve a blue/green cycle on that amount. Thank you
 
It’s very common for cats to bounce. As he gets used to normal numbers again the bounces will get less and less. I suspect part of his higher numbers is due to him needing a dental as well. Max bin rd for about 9 months. Then he became tightly regulated.
Thanks for setting my expectations that this may be awhile. I guess less testing during bounce period is one positive. I am also collecting data and seeing the patterns so I am not as shocked when it happened.
 
You can increase when bouncing. You just don’t want to increase on a bounce clearing cycle if you can help it, especially if you can’t monitor as it can have extra momentum. I like to see where they land when the bounce clears and wait 4-6 cycles.
 
You can increase when bouncing. You just don’t want to increase on a bounce clearing cycle if you can help it, especially if you can’t monitor as it can have extra momentum. I like to see where they land when the bounce clears and wait 4-6 cycles.
Thanks for that advice.
 
You can increase when bouncing. You just don’t want to increase on a bounce clearing cycle if you can help it, especially if you can’t monitor as it can have extra momentum. I like to see where they land when the bounce clears and wait 4-6 cycles.
One last question, when the bounce is clearing at what number should I try to stop the drop? Should I let it get all the way to 60 before I start bringing him up. I have been starting around 85-95 to start feeding him some LC food. Should I see how low he would go green before I intervene?
 
You can feed 1-2 tsps of LC when they first hit green, to try to encourage him to surf in those healing green numbers.

You can increase any time now.

Cats out of remission tend to be even bouncier than the first time on insulin. Nothing you can do except try to get him to a dose quickly as safely possible to get him regulated and used to more green.
 
You can feed 1-2 tsps of LC when they first hit green, to try to encourage him to surf in those healing green numbers.

You can increase any time now.

Cats out of remission tend to be even bouncier than the first time on insulin. Nothing you can do except try to get him to a dose quickly as safely possible to get him regulated and used to more green.
Thanks Wendy
 
Thanks Wendy

+10 he is 189 so no question any longer that I will give new full dose to him again.
____________________________________________________________________

Thanks Wendy for the advice to increase Mac's dose. He had a beautiful blue cycle this morning.

I am expecting that I will shoot the full new dose again tonight. I am expecting his PMPS to be 125-150. Do you agree? I can monitor.

Thanks again
 
Last edited:
Back
Top