7/15 Lucy PMPS=151;+2=133;+5=155

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Good morning,

Yesterday's

7/14 AMPS=202; +2=140; +4.5=142; +8=130
7/14 PMPS=115; +2=140; +5=149

7/15 AMPS=133; +2=131; +7.5=133
7/15 PMPS=151; +2=133; +5=155

I think Lucy might be feeling better today than yesterday.
She was excited about breakfast, and ate about half of her 1st breakfast by herself.
I hand-fed her the rest, and she ate well.
I'm going to see what her today's poop will look like before calling the vet.
It'll be after I come back from work, but there will be enough time to call the vet before they close.

Her numbers are still not so good, and this worries me that there might be something going on inside her even if her mood is OK.

Lucy has been on the new prednisolone schedule of half tablet every day for 2 weeks now, and I was supposed to call the vet today anyway to discuss reducing it to half table every other day, but I'll see how she does today before calling the vet about that tool.

I really really hope she'll have a better cycle today!
 
Re: 7/15 Lucy AMPS=133

I'm glad to hear that Lucy is feeling better today! It definitely could be the switch in the pred schedule that is affecting Lucy's numbers. I know in the past, you noticed a correlation, too. Or, it could just be that FD is annoyingly fickle, and Lucy is being a cat - they love to keep us guessing! I know how hard it is to not worry, but try not to...Lucy's numbers are still great!
 
Re: 7/15 Lucy AMPS=133

Keeping our fingers crossed for good news from the vet call.

Hope it's a thumbs up on the pred dose change.
 

Attachments

  • gold star thumbs up.jpg
    gold star thumbs up.jpg
    6.6 KB · Views: 477
Re: 7/15 Lucy AMPS=133;+2=131 // AVATAR NOT SHOWING?

FWIW, Lucy's numbers are below renal threshold. Her SS looks good especially given that she's on steroids. If the pred dose is going to stay the same, I'd think about an increase if you are wanting to see more green.

BTW, I can see you avatar just fine.
 
Re: 7/15 Lucy AMPS=133;+2=131 // AVATAR NOT SHOWING?

Lucy is definitely feeling better today.
She ate the 2nd breakfast by herself, and 3rd by finger-feeding.
No poop yet, so I'll try to come home from work early today to check on her.

By the way, I can't see some people's avatars since weekend while the other members seem to see them fine.
For example, I can't see Cleo&Jane or Jupiter&Jamie's avatar. And a few others....
Is anyone else experiencing this?
I replaced my computer over the weekend, but I know some members had their avatars disappeared recently too.
I'm trying to figure out if it's my computer or the board?????
 
Re: 7/15 Lucy AMPS=133;+2=131 // AVATAR NOT SHOWING?

Awesome that Lucy is feeling even better!

I've been having the same avatar issues...most people are OK, some people are missing...and the people who are missing magically return. I know others have been having odd quirks lately, too...so it seems to be the board, and not your computer.
 
Re: 7/15 Lucy AMPS=133;+2=131 // AVATAR NOT SHOWING?

Some of us have reloaded our avatars to get them to appear again. More than a few people I think needed to do this reload.
 
Re: 7/15 Lucy AMPS=133;+2=131 // AVATAR NOT SHOWING?

I'm so glad Lucy is feeling better today and eating more on her own. :-D
 
Re: 7/15 Lucy AMPS=133;+2=131;+7.5=133

Lucy is doing much better this evening.
She ate her 1st dinner by herself.

I spoke with the vet about how Lucy was over the weekend as well as her steroids plan.
The vet does not think her gassy poop on Saturday and vomit on Sunday were due to the prednisolone schedule/dose change I made 2 weeks ago.
She said if Lucy wasn't holding the new pred dose/schedule, I would see her much sicker than one smelly poop and one vomit.
But, to be sure, she wants me to keep the same dose for another week, that is 2.5mg (half tablet) every day until next Monday.
And if she does as well as she has done in the past 2 weeks, she said let's try to reduce it to 2.5mg every other day.
I think this is a good plan.

I'd like some advice about her insulin dose.
Earlier, Sienne suggested an increase if I want to see more green (I do!), and if the pred dose is going to stay the same.
The pred dose is going to reduce (hopefully), but not for another week.
I do want her a bit lower and definitely want to see more green, and the pred reduction is not happening until next Monday.
Can I go ahead and increase the dose now, or do you think it's better if I wait another week till the new pred dose?
Also I kind of increased her dose to 0.5 unit on Monday, so should I hold this dose for 2 more cycles before increasing further (if I'm not waiting for the pred change to increase)?
I hope my questions are making sense.... getting a bit confused my self.....
I really appreciate your advice.
 
Re: 7/15 Lucy PMPS=151 // Spoke with vet & Dose advise pls!

Mariko

I'm glad she is feeling better today.

I'm going to agree with Sienne and venture from the protocol by saying I also think you could increase the dose since she is staying on the pred. If you can continue to test as you do, I'd be tempted to increase to .75u to kind of get her to start seeing more green again. It's totally up to you; if you feel better just fattening the dose, it's your call. But sometimes I think giving them that little extra nudge if you can continue the testing as you are helps. She might only need it one or two cycles.

What do you think???

I also had problems with Gracie's avatar. It kept going back to her old one. I'd reset it to the new, it would go back. I've reset it three times.....so we'll see.
 
Re: 7/15 Lucy PMPS=151 // Spoke with vet & Dose advise pls!

I would wait until Lucy had had 6 cycles at this dose before you make any change. Let's see what Lucy has in store.
 
Re: 7/15 Lucy PMPS=151 // Spoke with vet & Dose advise pls!

Mariko

Sienne and I are discussing the dose increase...yay or nay. I'll let you know what we think but think about what you feel you'd like to do knowing Lucy.

BRB.
 
Re: 7/15 Lucy PMPS=151 // Spoke with vet & Dose advise pls!

Hi Mariko

So glad that Lucy is feeling better tonight :-D

Good luck on whatever you decide for her dose change (or not!)

Jane
 
Re: 7/15 Lucy PMPS=151 // Spoke with vet & Dose advise pls!

Sorry, Mariko. The board went down.

Sienne and I discussed it and suggest you hold the current dose a full six cycles and then reevaluate. Does that work for you!
 
I couldn't get back on board for a long time!

Thank you, Marje and Sienne, for discussing Lucy's insulin dose, and giving me the advice.
I will keep her on the current dose for 2 more cycles, that will be full 6 cycles, and increase her from Wednesday's AM shot.
If her numbers stay where they are, and I have a feeling they will, I'd like to increase her dose to 0.75 unit, as you suggested, Marje.
My chicken increase hasn't worked two times in a row, so I'll do a full 1/4 unit increase, if her numbers don't improve by Wednesday.
Thank you again for your advice, Sienne & Marje.

And thank you, Rhiannon, for bumping me up!

And thank you, everyone else, for visiting, letting me know about avatars, and well wishes!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top