Luckyducky
Member Since 2012
Hi again everyone. I'm checking in with Lucky's numbers and condition for the past week (which unfortunately doesn't seem all that good :sad: ). Here's his spreadsheet along with his numbers for yesterday:
Readings for 7/16
AMPS 214
+3 240
PMPS 379
+5 299
AMPS 333
A week ago I chose to skip two of Lucky's shots (I'd been trying to move his shot schedule back a few hours since I anticipate going back to work sometime soon). I was hoping it wouldn't affect him terribly, but since yesterday I've noticed his walking has been sort of wobbly, he's been having diarrhea, and he isn't quite as hungry as usual (he's been leaving about 1/6 of his meals in his bowl, when he normally eats everything). I haven't noticed any change in his thirst or urination and he seems alert and wakeful as usual, but I can't help worrying that skipping the two shots might have caused some neuropathy, or worse, that he might be experiencing DKA. :sad: Unfortunately my ketone test strips expired recently, so I have to go get some new ones today before I can test.
I have a question about handling bounces in the Tight Regulation protocol. A few days ago (7/13/12) Lucky's numbers dropped to 63 in the middle of the AM cycle, and then jumped up to 349 by the PMPS. I suspected that it might have been a bounce, and I was wondering if it's part of the procedure to generally hold off on following the protocol during a suspected bounce until it clears first. I mostly ask since I've increased his dose back up to 2.5u bid per the protocol with this morning's cycle, and given his low drop the other day I wonder if he might drop down even lower if the bounce clears.
If anyone notices anything else about Lucky's recent numbers, or has some perspective/insight regarding Lucky's situation, I'd be grateful for it. Thanks again everyone!
Readings for 7/16
AMPS 214
+3 240
PMPS 379
+5 299
AMPS 333
A week ago I chose to skip two of Lucky's shots (I'd been trying to move his shot schedule back a few hours since I anticipate going back to work sometime soon). I was hoping it wouldn't affect him terribly, but since yesterday I've noticed his walking has been sort of wobbly, he's been having diarrhea, and he isn't quite as hungry as usual (he's been leaving about 1/6 of his meals in his bowl, when he normally eats everything). I haven't noticed any change in his thirst or urination and he seems alert and wakeful as usual, but I can't help worrying that skipping the two shots might have caused some neuropathy, or worse, that he might be experiencing DKA. :sad: Unfortunately my ketone test strips expired recently, so I have to go get some new ones today before I can test.
I have a question about handling bounces in the Tight Regulation protocol. A few days ago (7/13/12) Lucky's numbers dropped to 63 in the middle of the AM cycle, and then jumped up to 349 by the PMPS. I suspected that it might have been a bounce, and I was wondering if it's part of the procedure to generally hold off on following the protocol during a suspected bounce until it clears first. I mostly ask since I've increased his dose back up to 2.5u bid per the protocol with this morning's cycle, and given his low drop the other day I wonder if he might drop down even lower if the bounce clears.
If anyone notices anything else about Lucky's recent numbers, or has some perspective/insight regarding Lucky's situation, I'd be grateful for it. Thanks again everyone!