7/15 Lucky AMPS 214 PMPS 379 Wobbly walking and bounce qstn

Status
Not open for further replies.

Luckyducky

Member Since 2012
Hi again everyone. I'm checking in with Lucky's numbers and condition for the past week (which unfortunately doesn't seem all that good :sad: ). Here's his spreadsheet along with his numbers for yesterday:

Readings for 7/16
AMPS 214
+3 240
PMPS 379
+5 299
AMPS 333

A week ago I chose to skip two of Lucky's shots (I'd been trying to move his shot schedule back a few hours since I anticipate going back to work sometime soon). I was hoping it wouldn't affect him terribly, but since yesterday I've noticed his walking has been sort of wobbly, he's been having diarrhea, and he isn't quite as hungry as usual (he's been leaving about 1/6 of his meals in his bowl, when he normally eats everything). I haven't noticed any change in his thirst or urination and he seems alert and wakeful as usual, but I can't help worrying that skipping the two shots might have caused some neuropathy, or worse, that he might be experiencing DKA. :sad: Unfortunately my ketone test strips expired recently, so I have to go get some new ones today before I can test.

I have a question about handling bounces in the Tight Regulation protocol. A few days ago (7/13/12) Lucky's numbers dropped to 63 in the middle of the AM cycle, and then jumped up to 349 by the PMPS. I suspected that it might have been a bounce, and I was wondering if it's part of the procedure to generally hold off on following the protocol during a suspected bounce until it clears first. I mostly ask since I've increased his dose back up to 2.5u bid per the protocol with this morning's cycle, and given his low drop the other day I wonder if he might drop down even lower if the bounce clears.

If anyone notices anything else about Lucky's recent numbers, or has some perspective/insight regarding Lucky's situation, I'd be grateful for it. Thanks again everyone!
 
Re: 7/15 Lucky AMPS 214 PMPS 379 Wobbly walking and bounce q

I'm not entirely sure what you mean by "holding off on the protocol." However, with those who are new to FD, we often suggest that you wait until a bounce clears before increasing the dose for just the reason you noted. It does look like Lucky is clearing bounces relatively quickly he was back to blues in 3 cycles. (A bounce can take up to 72 hours to clear.) Lucky does tend to bounce off of blue numbers, though.

Given that the 2.5u dose dropped Lucky to a 35, one thought is to consider fattening the dose rather than increasing the full 0.25u. Since you're already increased, I'd just keep an eye on things.

I would definitely get ketone strips. If the wobbliness doesn't clear up quickly, I'd schedule a vet appointment.
 
Re: 7/15 Lucky AMPS 214 PMPS 379 Wobbly walking and bounce q

Bounces are just a natural thing with FD cats on any protocol being they are home tested( which is the safest way!-)-It takes a long time to get some cats regulated...It is the liver's way of saying, hey I am not feeling safe while my numbers are going down, so I will release some glucose into the bloodstream to bring my numbers up..It is the cat's body reacting to lower numbers & we all deal wth it. Most of those higher numbers can take up to 72 hours to clear, so just be patient, your baby will be fine..
The wobbliness could be from inner ear problem , neuropathy, ketones Or other-- You can ask your vet, but neuropathy is usually walking on the hocks instead of the cat's toes...You are doing a great job with your cat Lucky..

Dont worry, just be Patient, consistent, & your fur baby will be well--Please do watch the wobbling--& contact vet when you can!
 
Re: 7/15 Lucky AMPS 214 PMPS 379 Wobbly walking and bounce q

@Sienne: Thanks again for your insight and perspective, it does help to clear up some of my wonderances. I guess I didn't mean so much 'holding off on the protocol' as much as I meant waiting until enough non-bounce cycles have passed before increasing the dose per the protocol (I figure that readings during a bounce don't reflect how the current dose is actually working, so I hope I'm understanding that correctly).

I'm also pretty certain I'll go with the fattening/shaving idea too, considering Lucky's been jumping back and forth between 2.5u and 2.25u recently. He's on 2.5u right now, so I'll try shaving the dose if he drops below 50 again.

Also, I got the ketone strips last night, and tested this morning, and Lucky seems normal (phew!). I haven't had a chance to watch Lucky's walking yet today, so I'll watch him closely this evening.

@Roni: Thanks for your insight too, it's much appreciated. It definitely seems like Lucky's liver is bounce-prone, which is frustrating, especially when he has a run of good numbers that are unexpectedly followed by bad ones. But it does help put things into perspective to hear that bounces are normal for diabetic cats, so thanks for that, and also thanks for the encouraging words, I hope Lucky's numbers even out eventually too.

As for the leg wobbliness, it's possible I might not have gone into enough detail on his condition (?). Lucky's wobbliness has been in his back legs, which seem to sort of be limping when he walks. Usually he's able to run up the stairs really quickly, but lately he's been going up just a few steps at a time, and then he just sits on his haunches like he's tired.

But at least he's definitely not been walking on his hocks (I'd never even heard of that until you mentioned it) so maybe Lucky's not as bad off as I thought (I'll be looking after him tonight to see if his walking's doing any better too). Definitely much thanks for this information, it really helps to better understand neuropathy and Lucky's condition.

Thank you both again so much for your help, it's much appreciated. I'll check back in if anything happens with Lucky, otherwise I'll be back in a day or so with Lucky's new dose. Thanks, and best of wishes!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top