7/15 Julia PMPS 313

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yesterday

I'd say Happy Monday but that just reminds me there are four more days of work until the weekend... :shock:

The bean messed up this morning. I knew we were lowish on strips so Mom ran out last night for some only to discover Walmart was completely out. We still had enough for a "normal" cycle but when I did a +10 (she was 110) this morning I had a feeling it wouldn't be a "normal" cycle but a lower one. I've never shot that low before and we just increased her dose. Since I had to go to work and my Mom can't leave my Dad alone and we were short on test strips we had to skip. I hate that I did that but I went to a different Walmart at lunch at bought 100 strips so we're good now. I really want to do the tight regulation but I'm figuring we'll have to have an exception now and then since our situation is complicated with my Dad needing someone 24/7 and that person being my Mom (and me when I'm not working).

We've set up a testing towel and spot for Julia. I tend to just test wherever she's sitting but I have read others have their testing spots and towels so maybe more of a routine will help her adjust. We've also discovered she's leaking. As in she might need that diaper I was joking about lol. She is 14 years old though. We've taken to bringing her to the box a few times each day. She knows to come out of the bathroom she has to go and usually goes within a minute or two. If we keep her tank empty maybe the "gasoline" won't overflow on the couch. :lol:

My question is this...I've seen people shoot low numbers, even under 100. However, Julia sometimes drops over 100 points between the shot and +2, sometimes she splits the number right in half (AMPS being 162 and a +2.25 of 78, for example, on 7/14). How in the world would I shoot a 110 if that had actually been the pre-shot number and not the +10? There's not far to drop from the 110. It makes me somewhat nervous (and I know I have to shoot low numbers) because again, at night, she hardly eats. I would like to think she'd eat the high-carb fun food with the gravy if she had to but when she drops that much so early I'm not quite sure what to do.
 
My question is this...I've seen people shoot low numbers, even under 100. However, Julia sometimes drops over 100 points between the shot and +2, sometimes she splits the number right in half (AMPS being 162 and a +2.25 of 78, for example, on 7/14). How in the world would I shoot a 110 if that had actually been the pre-shot number and not the +10? There's not far to drop from the 110. It makes me somewhat nervous (and I know I have to shoot low numbers) because again, at night, she hardly eats.

You gather the data so you know it's ok to shoot low. You read this topic on shooting low numbers to help prepare.

You get coaching from us here. You get support from us here. You have your hypo tool kit, plenty of test strips and with our support, we can guide you through the process. The first few are scary. Then you gain confidence and start to handle them on your own.

By the way, you did absolutely the right things this morning in skipping the shot. With those circumstances nothing else made sense. You made a good decision. :smile: The counting cycles starts over at 1 with this evenings shot. So 6 more cycles until any dose changes.
 
Hi Elizabeth! I'm still fairly new to all this, but I've finally become more comfortable shooting low numbers. What I do is if I get a low number I'm concerned about pre-shot, I wait 30 minutes and test again to see if China is on her way up, flat or still dropping. BUT..I can also be home most days to check as often as I need to though

If she's going up, I'll shoot and then get a +1 and +2 to see how busy to expect the cycle to be, but if she's flat or lower at retest, I'd continue stalling until she WAS going up. If it gets too late in the cycle for you to bump back your shooting schedule, it might be best to skip it so you can get back on schedule at your next test time

Hopefully someone with more experienced eyes will take a look soon to help advise you!

Good luck to both you and Julia!!
 
Good question, Elizabeth.

The higher they are, the more they can drop. But you don't typically see a drop of 100 mg/dL if the PS is 110. Remember you are testing and managing the curve with food when necessary.

She could be 162 at AMPS and 78 at +2.5. But if you know whether she is dropping or not going into PS, then you would k ow when to get the next test....say at +1 :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top