7/15 Jenks AMPS 152 +6 218 +9 167 PMPS 101 110 121 170 189

Status
Not open for further replies.

AZJenks

Member Since 2014
7/13

Very pleasant morning numbers, and not as drastic of a midday rise. So far, so good!

Make sure to check out the 7/13 link to see his BEST NIGHT EVA!
 
Re: 7/15 Jenks AMPS 152 +1.5 157 +6 218 +9 167

Jenks is coming down nicely. Fingers crossed because it looks like we're in for another good night.
 
Re: 7/15 Jenks AMPS 152 +1.5 157 +6 218 +9 167

Yes it does. Looks like Jenks might have found his fitting dose......we hope :-D
 
Re: 7/15 Jenks AMPS 152 +1.5 157 +6 218 +9 167

Oh my, PMPS of 101. That's low for me, especially with a 5.25U dose on deck. The last two nights he's dropped 70-100 points in the first couple of hours. I'm going to hold him for about 15mins to see what he's doing. Any advice would be awesome.
 
Re: 7/15 Jenks AMPS 152 +1.5 157 +6 218 +9 167 PMPS 101

Don't feed him, ok? Give him 20 mins and retest and let's see where he is.

I'll wait for the next test.
 
Re: 7/15 Jenks AMPS 152 +1.5 157 +6 218 +9 167 PMPS 101

After 25min, he's 110. Slight rise, but essentially the same if we account for meter variance. SS updated.
 
Re: 7/15 Jenks AMPS 152 +1.5 157 +6 218 +9 167 PMPS 101

Right.

Well....he's clearing a bounce and so it's likely he will continue down if you shoot. I'm not a fan of shooting a reduced dose or stalling a shot because, with the depot, you will still very likely see the same cycle as if you shoot the 5.25u dose. The effects would not likely be seen until a later cycle. Also if you stall, he could start dropping to where you would feel it necessary to skip.

Normally if we suggest you shoot, we stay up with you and help you through the numbers. I'm not able to do that tonight as tomorrow is my one work day. I know you've been handling his low numbers just fine the last two nights.

It has to be your decision because you've already been up two nights and you will likely be on your own... I can check with Wendy and see how late she will be up. There's no telling what he might do. If you skip, he will get back on track within a few cycles.
 
Re: 7/15 Jenks AMPS 152 +1.5 157 +6 218 +9 167 PMPS 101

Thanks Marje. I'll make a judgment call and be up all night to watch him. If something appears awry, I'll just steer him. Part of me feels like 5.25 has suddenly become too much. So I'll figure out whether to shave or back off to 5.0U. Thank you for sticking around though :) Have a great night!
 
Re: 7/15 Jenks AMPS 152 +1.5 157 +6 218 +9 167 PMPS 101

Yes...you can use HC food and karo to steer him. You've printed off the "Handling Low Numbers" post (link in my signature block). If you use Hc/karo, and he comes up, keep with the testing because it usually wears off after two hours. You want him to be high green at least and have two, rising, no food influenced numbers before you stop testing for the night.

Wish I could stay up to help you. If you do get in a bind, post here or on Health. There are often late night lurkers and the East Coast crowd is usually on at about 2 our time.

Good luck.
 
Re: 7/15 Jenks AMPS 152 +1.5 157 +6 218 +9 167 PMPS 101

Thanks again :) In the spirit of shoot low to stay low, Jenks got his full dose. He'll either balance out and coast at safe numbers like he's done the last two nights, or he'll reveal that this dose is now too potent. Either way, it's pajama party time.
 
Re: 7/15 Jenks AMPS 152 +1.5 157 +6 218 +9 167 PMPS 101

~O) ~O) ~O)

PJParty.jpg


Hope you have a good party and a safe 70ish surf.
 
Re: 7/15 Jenks AMPS 152 +1.5 157 +6 218 +9 167 PMPS 101

Good shooting tonight! Paws crossed for some excellent surfing. Jenks SS the last couple days is almost all below renal threshold so this dose is doing a great job. :-D

Sorry I can't stay up, but I'm getting up early tomorrow morning. As someone whose cat got into the higher doses, I just want to reiterate that the mantra shoot low to stay low also works for higher doses. The dose is just a number and the goal is time in green so you just have to find what that dose is. For some contrast, Rick shot 17U into Mr. Grey tonight with a PS of 66 and yesterday Suzanne gave Cobb 31U with a PS of 58 and had a lovely surf overnight. Both cats are on way more insulin than Jenks, but still show the point that the size of the dose doesn't matter when deciding whether or not to shoot a green PS.
 
Re: 7/15 Jenks AMPS 152 +6 218 +9 167 PMPS 101 110 121 170 1

121 +1.5
170 +3
189 +4.5

Still blue as we approach +5, but it's been a steady rise from PMPS. Either I completely blew his cycle by stalling him for 30min because of my apprehension, or he's bouncing off of his PMPS number.
 
Re: 7/15 Jenks AMPS 152 218 167 PMPS 101 110 121 170 189 246

Well, the streak is over. 246 at +9. The consistent upward trend throughout the night indicates a bounce, so I guess we just wait him out.
 
Re: 7/15 Jenks AMPS 152 +6 218 +9 167 PMPS 101 110 121 170 1

Great job shooting, though. Think what he would have done if you hadn't.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top