7/15 Huey +11.5 75 AMPS 64 PMBG 88, +1 85, +3 74

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 7/15 Huey +11.5 75 AMPS 64??!?

Hi Nancy-

His AMPS might be lower than is +11.5 just because he hasn't eaten yet, although those two numbers are really, really close together.

Given the current info, if you are going to be around to test this morning, I would give him a drop, then get a +1 and a +2 to see where he is heading. His numbers are awesome, but since he did bounce up into the yellows the other day, I would try to get some insulin going today. Technically, he did earn a reducie last night with that 47.

But, if you are more comfortable skipping, that certainly makes sense and is OK, too.
 
Re: 7/15 Huey +11.5 75 AMPS 64??!?

Hi guys .. no dosing advice from me, but what great looking numbers for huey! I know, great for him, scary for you right? You're doing super with him! have a great day!
 
Re: 7/15 Huey +11.5 75 AMPS 64??!?

Morning Nancy ~O) ~O) ~O)

I agree with Amy. Good luck. If you're more comfortable skipping the shot, that is OK too. As Devon says, it is a little scary when PS numbers are that low.

Have a great day today. I hope all goes well.
 
Re: 7/15 Huey +11.5 75 AMPS 64??!?

Nancy

Sorry I missed your post last night. I tanked about 15 mins before you asked about MC.

MC is in the 10-15% calories from carbs range.

I see you skipped and that is fine. This will give us a chance to see how he's doing without insulin and if the yellows and blues were from him bouncing off the insulin.

If you are around at what would normally be +9, I'd test and feed him just a bit of LC food and then test at his PS and let's see if his pancreas is working. If it is, his PS should be lower than the +9.

If you get a green PMPS, post first before you shoot. We might want you to hold off and see what he does and whether he can stay in green with no insulin.
 
Re: 7/15 Huey +11.5 75 AMPS 64??!?

Hello hello everyone, thank you stopping in, I hope everyone else's day was less frazzled than mine. I feel so bad I am constantly only posting RIGHT WHEN I NEED ADVICE but the last few days have been extra busy. Yes I ended up skipping this morning because I had to leave for work. I left out a significantly larger portion of warmed up food and a smaller refrigerated portion in a different part of the room in the hopes of spacing out his eating a bit, both were pretty much gone when I got home.

I just took Huey's PMPS a little late, 88. I wonder if he managed to stay in the green all day? He nibbled on a bit of dinner already, my plan is to give him a drop and continue to monitor. Seem sound?

The yellows a couple days ago were stress spikes from a rather arduous journey to the vet. Does it have the same potential long term effects of any other spike? Sugar is sugar, whether its coming from the liver or the kibble, no?
 
Re: 7/15 Huey +11.5 75 AMPS 64 PMPS 88

Actually on second thought, I think I'll skip tonight's shot and monitor to see how it goes. Partly this is selfish, I don't want to push back Huey's schedule to 10AM/PM and if I skip and start up tomorrow at 8AM, I can make an evening excursion that just came up nailbite_smile but also, he's been nibbling all day, I think, could that be helping him stay green?

Actually, is scheduling like this OK? I know normally you have that half an hour of leeway to adjust the timing forward or back, but when I skip a cycle, is it OK to start the next one at anytime after the missed shot?
 
Re: 7/15 Huey +11.5 75 AMPS 64 PMBG 88

Looking good Huey! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Yes, once you have skipped a dose, you can start the next cycle whenever you want.

Marje suggested trying to give him a small snack at +9 - did you manage to do that today? If not, I'd be interested in seeing what Huey's BG is three hours after his dinner/PMBG number.
 
Re: 7/15 Huey +11.5 75 AMPS 64 PMBG 88

I did not manage to feed him at +9 today, I just left out a huge honking pile of food in the morning that (based on his appetite the last few days) he probably didn't eat all in one go. There was still a little bit left in the bowls when I got home, but not much. I am putting catsicles in the freezer RIGHT NOW and I will make sure to get a +3.

I'm expecting some more downtime this coming weekend than this past one, so if he doesn't start flattening out on this tinydose/skip/shoot we've been doing the last few days, that will be a good time to experiment with the dosage and slowing him down with MC food, like Marje suggested. I just really wish I could go two days without getting preshot numbers that make me spazz out and run to my computer...
 
Re: 7/15 Huey +11.5 75 AMPS 64 PMBG 88, +1 85

That would be great to get the +3 tonight as Wendy suggested.

I'm rather of the mind that if he keeps giving you green PSs and nadirs, let it ride, skip, and let's see how he does. At first sign of higher numbers, you can give a drop. Others might have some thoughts as well.
 
Re: 7/15 Huey +11.5 75 AMPS 64 PMBG 88, +1 85

Wendy, here's a nice fat 74 at +3 for you :mrgreen: So tired, fingers crossed for a good AMPS!
 
WOOT!! Looks like Mr. P(ancreas) is reporting for duty. :mrgreen: I agree with Marje, as long as you see a green PS, hold off on dosing him and see how he does.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top