7/15 Guinness-My consult with the vet oncologist re: Acro

Status
Not open for further replies.

linda and guinness

Member Since 2009
Well, I had a nice, long discussion with the Dr. Burke, the Veterinarian Oncologist at Veterinary Specialty Hospital here in San Diego. He had some answers to my questions and couldn't answer others. Basically, my options are radioactive therapy (not true SRT, but just a regular 16 time course of radiation to shrink the tumor) or Radiation Therapy that involves using a "radioactive knife". He explained that this is something that is done at a human facility and would be a 3 time course. That "knife" therapy costs upwards of $5,800 and he was just guessing at the cost since he would have to find out from the facility where it would be done and the other 16 course treatment would be double that cost. I did ask if he would like to use Guinness for a research paper or study, but he just kind of laughed me off :-D

He has treated exactly 4 cats with acro...I think all have done the 16 course Radiation treatment and it sounded like none had lived 2 years after the procedure, but that they died of some other endocrinological disease. No answer as to why he may have gone OTJ in the first place and no answers on how to manage his diabetes if I don't (which I won't be) use the radiation courses of therapy. He did refer me to an internal medicine intern who is familiar with diabetes, but didn't know if they were experienced with the diabetes/acro combo cat. So, I'm emailing the internist to find out if he has any experience in this area and will go from there. Lastly, he didn't think that Guinness' enlarged heart was acro related since it didn't have a murmur. Just a big-hearted kitty.

So that's where we are at. Wait. Treat as usual and wait.

PMPS 273, still trying to come down slowly after our skipped shot bonanza.
 
Re: 7/15 Guinness-My consult with the vet oncologist re: Acr

I'm glad you got some answers. We do the best we can. That's all we can do.
 
Re: 7/15 Guinness-My consult with the vet oncologist re: Acr

Maybe Susan/Lanky can give you some info on the SRT at Colorado State, if going there is a possibility. At least you'll have another option to explore.
 
Re: 7/15 Guinness-My consult with the vet oncologist re: Acr

i'm just reading this now on Guinness....i had no idea you were dealing with so much...

i have no input...only hugs hugs hugs and PRAYERS for you and Guinness.....i know exactly how you feel....
 
Re: 7/15 Guinness-My consult with the vet oncologist re: Acr

I, too, have no input, but can give you tons of {{{{{HUGS}}}}} and prayers, and healing vines, and good thoughts. I'm sending tons of wishes for Guinness to make a full and speedy recovery.
 
Re: 7/15 Guinness-My consult with the vet oncologist re: Acr

Well, I'm happy that you at least got some answers to your questions. Not a bad pmps. I hope that he continues to come down. Good luck with whatever path you choose for your boy.. He sure is a lucky
kitty Linda :smile:
 
Re: 7/15 Guinness-My consult with the vet oncologist re: Acr

Linda: also sending hugs and prayers and hope you are able to continue finding info out about possible cures.
 
Re: 7/15 Guinness-My consult with the vet oncologist re: Acr

linda and guinness said:
Lastly, he didn't think that Guinness' enlarged heart was acro related since it didn't have a murmur. Just a big-hearted kitty.

Hi there

I'm sorry to hear your kitty is having problems. I wanted to hop on the soapbox a bit here and say -- not pertaining specifically to your cat -- that no one can tell from ausculation (listening with a stethoscope) if a cat has a heart problem. It is a diagnosis by echocardiogram only, so unless your cat got an all-clear after an echocardiogram, there is no way to know if he has acro-related cardiac issues. Murmur, no murmur, it doesn't matter, and I'm sorry you were given mistaken information. I'm not sure why many vets equate heart murmurs with degree of heart disease in cats -- this is incorrect. Of course, your cat is probably 100% fine, cardiac-wise, so my point is only that it's an 'unknown' unless there has been an echocardiogram recently. The lack of murmur gives no information on heart status. /soapbox :)
 
Re: 7/15 Guinness-My consult with the vet oncologist re: Acr

Linda:

FWIW, Jess is a vet tech who specializes in cardiology. She's very knowledgeable and one of the people who I turn to for complicated medical questions.
 
Re: 7/15 Guinness-My consult with the vet oncologist re: Acr

By all means, please contact Dr. Lunn (kathy.lunn@colostate.edu or 970 297-5000). She will probably want all of your history & current lab work etc. She was happy to chat with Lanky's vet & the 3 of us made the decision that Lanky was a good candidate with the possibility of a good outcome. Today Lanky's dose is down to 6.5u Levemir from a man of 14 or 14.5. Milo went OTJ just over a year after SRT. Lanky's treatment was 1 year ago this August. So far in hindsight, I'd do it again. My sister drove w/ me making the road trip & adventure fun. I can't say enough about the folks at Colo St Vet School. PM me & we can trade ph# if you would like to chat or just ask me questions. Even my local vet would be willing to talk to you or your vet I am betting. He is a great guy.

Hope this helps,
Susan & Lanky
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top