Shiloh567
Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-14-gideon-blue-amps-287.232282/
I think my Gideon Blue is liking the decrease in Lantus from 2 units to 1.5 units. He is still bouncing a bit, but seems to be staying out of the RED more. This morning the vet tech called me to report a 121 BG. After the test and before Lantus he ate and was tested 15 mins later, and he was 181. Yes, he should have been retested without feeding, I know. Vet tech is off today, so she is coming back at +4 to test and just let me know how he is doing. Pet sitter will test again at +6, but I might have her wait to +7, depending on what his +4 reading is. Pet sitter is feeding him the same amount, and he is eating well. I do wonder how low he was during the night. He hit dark green yesterday, and just had pet sitter feed normal food, and he seemed to do fine. My instruction to her is to feed higher carb during day if he is 60 or below.
So, my question is: Do you think 2 units of Lantus BID was too much for Gideon, and his body is reacting a bit better to 1.5 units BID? Is there anything else I should be doing or not doing?
I think my Gideon Blue is liking the decrease in Lantus from 2 units to 1.5 units. He is still bouncing a bit, but seems to be staying out of the RED more. This morning the vet tech called me to report a 121 BG. After the test and before Lantus he ate and was tested 15 mins later, and he was 181. Yes, he should have been retested without feeding, I know. Vet tech is off today, so she is coming back at +4 to test and just let me know how he is doing. Pet sitter will test again at +6, but I might have her wait to +7, depending on what his +4 reading is. Pet sitter is feeding him the same amount, and he is eating well. I do wonder how low he was during the night. He hit dark green yesterday, and just had pet sitter feed normal food, and he seemed to do fine. My instruction to her is to feed higher carb during day if he is 60 or below.
So, my question is: Do you think 2 units of Lantus BID was too much for Gideon, and his body is reacting a bit better to 1.5 units BID? Is there anything else I should be doing or not doing?
Last edited: