7/15 Figaro AMPS=567 after greens last night / PMPS=533

Good luck on the reduction Liz!
Figaro there's nothing on mars for you, come back down to the beach where your friends are!
Have a great day!
 
Yes, come back to earth Figaro!!

Congrats on the reducie Liz! Good luck with the new dose :D
 
Thanks everyone! I hope this dose will work out, but it's only one of our problems.. Unfortunately there are some other weird things that have me concerned - continuing to have small vomits, had a soft stool today, seems very agitated when I get near his butt, which suggests to me he is in pain.. maybe a UTI or some kind of bowel issue. I don't know what, but something is definitely wrong... I just get that feeling. It may be compounded by the bounce, he probably doesn't feel good at all right now. My poor guy.

So we will go to the vet tomorrow. I'm going to ask about hyperthyroid, pancreatitis, UTI, heart... :banghead: where is my crystal ball? :(
 
The vet is a very good place to get a root cause for different issues. We usually don't see vomit or bowel issues cropping up from bounces. High numbers probably make them feel not very good. I hope you can get Figaro singing again.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Bit of an extreme reaction to safe greens last night Figaro! I guess it’s allowed for first greens in a while. Small aside, we don’t call anything a hypo unless kitty is exhibiting hypo symptoms. Otherwise it’s just a low numbers event, which it technically wasn't last night. Low numbers is below 68 on the AT. We usually reserve high carbs for below 68.

Something that might help you next time you see greens, is to track any extra food you gave, at what time, amount and percent carb. This will help you learn how carb sensitive Figaro is, and what you need to do next time you see a lower number. I used to put it in the spreadsheet Remarks, so I could see how it impacted Neko's numbers.

Good luck at the vet tomorrow. I hope you get answers. :bighug: Maybe add anal sac issues to the list? Being in normal numbers for the first time can often feel very odd for them too.
 
Hi Liz, I hope handsome Figaro's vet visit goes well and that it clarifies his issues :bighug:
It is so hard when one's thoughts are scattered in all directions and touches on all possibilities as to what can be the matter with them. Will be thinking of you both!
 
First of all Figaro is doing better! Not 100%, but stable and improving. So grateful for everyone's messages of support @Sonia & Leo @JeffJ @Penelope and Mačka @Wendy&Neko :bighug: Our visit to the vet went fine, although we didn't get clear answers per se, it put me at ease to know he isn't in immediate danger. I did order some bloodwork (pancreatitis included) and a urine culture, to try to rule out some underlying chronic issue at this point. The vet was impressed that we are so on the ball with the diabetes :cool:

Honestly I think what made him feel best was passing some diarrhea last night :oops::eek: it freaked me out when it happened, but since then, he seems to be more comfortable. I hope that as his numbers come down, that will help all around. Cat food soup is on the menu to make sure he stays hydrated.

@Zorro's mom gosh Maritsa, you hit the nail on the head! Scattered thoughts for sure... and it's just awful not knowing what the matter is or how to make them feel better. Last night felt like the week leading up to his diagnosis when I just couldn't figure out what was happening to him or how to help him. At least with the diabetes we know what to do now!! Where would we be without this forum? :bookworm::D
 
Bit of an extreme reaction to safe greens last night Figaro! I guess it’s allowed for first greens in a while. Small aside, we don’t call anything a hypo unless kitty is exhibiting hypo symptoms. Otherwise it’s just a low numbers event, which it technically wasn't last night. Low numbers is below 68 on the AT. We usually reserve high carbs for below 68.

Something that might help you next time you see greens, is to track any extra food you gave, at what time, amount and percent carb. This will help you learn how carb sensitive Figaro is, and what you need to do next time you see a lower number. I used to put it in the spreadsheet Remarks, so I could see how it impacted Neko's numbers.

Good luck at the vet tomorrow. I hope you get answers. :bighug: Maybe add anal sac issues to the list? Being in normal numbers for the first time can often feel very odd for them too.
Thanks Wendy! I've been careful not to call it a hypo, I knew he was safe (and Jeff kept me sane), but it was also a crazy thrill to see those numbers for the first time. Watching others experience that first drop really helped prepare me, even though I did panic slightly :rolleyes:
I did log the extra food in my paper record so I should copy that data to his SS, good idea!
 
I'm glad to hear Figaro is feeling better. With luck, the vet tests may reveal something. A good poop can solve a lot.:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Overall, Figaro has some real high BG values. The numbers he had a couple nights ago are actually good targets to achieve.

You are creating good habits with Figaro's diabetes mgmt. A dose increase is really in order. We need to get him some relief. If he stays in these high numbers then there is a prevalence for neuropathy, and I can tell you from experience that it is something to avoid.
 
Back
Top