7/15 Bob PMPS=312 help with food issue??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lkldcatlady

Member Since 2013
yesterday's condo

Good morning LL! Happy Monday!!! Trying to get in the swing of things, but it's taking longer than usual.

I'm so sick of these high numbers!!!! Poor Bob. He's really liking his new dry food, but it's possible it's raising his BG a little. Going to try introducing the canned food tonight. This always makes my stomach hurt. I just hate when he won't eat, because I know how much he likes and wants to eat, but will be stubborn if it's something different. Going to start low and go slow, just like the insulin. He'll get 1 tsp of wet with his dry tonight. Please say some prayers for Bob (and that I don't have a breakdown and just give him what he wants). I know it sounds silly when there are so many kitties out there having some really bad times. I just want his numbers down and I'm really, really hoping the food transition will do it. We are on 4.25 units already and it's freaking me out every time I increase it.

Have a great day everyone! Prayers and healing thoughts to all kitties who need it.

This made me laugh really hard:
 

Attachments

  • new legs.jpg
    new legs.jpg
    9.7 KB · Views: 495
Re: 7/15 Bob AMPS=298 Food transition day! Prayers please!!!

I can completely sympathize...I've got 4 kibble addicts myself, and I have never been able to convince them - I know how hard it is, and how strong their will is. Fortunately Trixie will eat canned. Sometimes you've got to do what you got to do...the cat does have to eat, and they can hold out way longer than we beans can, so don't beat yourself up! Sending tons of food transition prayers your way! Hopefully going slow will do the trick for Bob :-D !

That pictures is hilarious :lol: :lol: :lol: !!! I love LOLCats.

Have a great day!
 
Re: 7/15 Bob AMPS=298 Food transition day! Prayers please!!!

Amy&TrixieCat said:
I can completely sympathize...I've got 4 kibble addicts myself, and I have never been able to convince them - I know how hard it is, and how strong their will is. Fortunately Trixie will eat canned. Sometimes you've got to do what you got to do...the cat does have to eat, and they can hold out way longer than we beans can, so don't beat yourself up! Sending tons of food transition prayers your way! Hopefully going slow will do the trick for Bob !

That pictures is hilarious !!! I love LOLCats.

Have a great day!

Thanks Amy! I'm going to give it a really good effort, but if it really comes down to it, I'll just leave him on the dry and increase the insulin as much as I can and hope for the best. I do know I've done everything I possibly can for him and I hope he's around for many, many more years, but there really is only so much I can do. The last thing I want is him being stressed and not eating.

That pic was hysterical. I laughed out loud at work for like 5 straight minutes. Not sure why it tickled me so much, but it did. :-D

Thanks again for the encouragement.
 
Re: 7/15 Bob AMPS=298 Food transition day! Prayers please!!!

Good luck w/ the transition, it just takes trying, and trying and trying. Tess was easy to transition to canned food, but really stubborn when it came to getting her to eat the LC/low phos stuff. The Kittehs want junk fuds, just like human kids! It seems like every so often she goes off a food and will not eat it, after eating something else for a few weeks then that first food is wonderful again! confused_cat confused_cat
 
Re: 7/15 Bob AMPS=298 Food transition day! Prayers please!!!

Strange kitties for sure! Ann, why does Tess eat low phosphorous (?) food?
 
Re: 7/15 Bob AMPS=298 Food transition day! Prayers please!!!

Tess is in the early stages of CKD and low phos food puts less strain on the kidneys. Many cats develop both since dry food is a culprit in aggravating both conditions.
 
Re: 7/15 Bob AMPS=298 Food transition day! Prayers please!!!

Sending buckets of appy vines! We know what you are going through and it will be a journey! We're here to help and support you along the way. :YMHUG:

It took us months to get Zener on wet food. And, in the process, I believe we tried every single type of wet food available in our small town and lots of others from ordering online too. The not so good side of ordering online was we would have to get a case. I would find something Zener would eat a couple of cans of like it was delicious, then order a case, and all of a sudden, it was poison. :roll: The good side of these food trials and tribulations was we sent lots of foods to others in LL because Zener wouldn't eat what we had ordered.


Paws crossed the transition is smooth like buttah!
 

Attachments

  • food od.jpg
    food od.jpg
    38.1 KB · Views: 458
Re: 7/15 Bob AMPS=298 Food transition day! Prayers please!!!

Ann & Tess said:
Tess is in the early stages of CKD and low phos food puts less strain on the kidneys. Many cats develop both since dry food is a culprit in aggravating both conditions.

Must be why all my kitties passed away from kidney disease. Crazy! What does one do? I've heard the extra protein can cause problems too. Not sure if that's a fact, just what I read somewhere.

Anne & Zener said:
Sending buckets of appy vines! We know what you are going through and it will be a journey! We're here to help and support you along the way.

It took us months to get Zener on wet food. And, in the process, I believe we tried every single type of wet food available in our small town and lots of others from ordering online too. The not so good side of ordering online was we would have to get a case. I would find something Zener would eat a couple of cans of like it was delicious, then order a case, and all of a sudden, it was poison. The good side of these food trials and tribulations was we sent lots of foods to others in LL because Zener wouldn't eat what we had ordered.

Thanks Anne! I hope it's smooth like buttah too, but I'm thinking it's gonna be rocky like the driveway! I'm going to go very slow and hopefully that will be the key. What wet foods did Zener like best? Cost is not a problem at this point. I'll buy anything if it works.
 
Re: 7/15 Bob AMPS=298 Food transition day! Prayers please!!!

I just read Bob's profile...what a sweet, adorable, lucky trio of kitties you have! You are right...Hector DOES look surprised...he's so darned cute :lol: !
 
You guys will not believe this but Bob ate almost 1/2 can of wet food. Let me just tell u that I have tried EVERY flavor of FF and some other brands - some high quality and some not. Nothing. Guess what he seems to love? The Fromm Duck & chicken which is $2.50 a can. Nice. BUT, I'm happy he ate it along with 1/4 cup of his dry. Will he like it tomorrow? Who knows?? I do have a couple of questions:

1. If I'm able to convert him, how do I handle his insulin in case the wet food makes his BG go down?
2. I made some meatsicles with the rest of the food. I tested an ice cube and it was melted within 2 hours. Will the food stay ok in a timed feeder if I give bob his snack at +6? In the am, the meatsicles would be out for at least 5 hours.
3. How long does wet food last in the Fotolife after the can is opened?

Thanks in advance.

Amy - Hector says thank u for the compliment. :-D
 
Wow, that's an impressive start! And of course, Bob has discerning tastes. ;-)

We tried just about everything. Zener would only eat medium carb foods and now only eats Fancy Feast Chicken Florentine. It's not the best food, 12% carbs, but it's better than dry! He does not like variety. He has eaten Blue Buffalo tuna, Purina Pro plan urinary formula, Fancy Feast chicken classic and bits and bobs of a few others for a bite or two.

We didn't see a huge change in Zener's BG values as we transitioned to wet food, but we also were changing from Humulin to Lantus, so it's hard to know what affected what. I know many have seen BGs go down. You just follow the protocol for reductions. You may want to post a question in your subject heading to catch more eyes. There are a lot of folks here with experiences in transitioning to wet food and changes in BG values.
 
You can take a look at our history if you'd like to see a food change from 34% to 10%. Since I'm a wuss and am gone all day, I was probably too conservative about dropping her dose. We're right back up to where we were when I switched food. Of course, who knows how much higher we would have gone on the juice had I not switched foods? We're just one example though and Nikki is not one of those cats that seems to be going OTJ right away, so I don't know how good an example we are! :lol:
 
Well, I still like my crunchies, even though my human has tried very hard to get me to eat nothing but wet food. So what I do is eat mostly wet food, and then I munch on the crunchies after the wet food is gone or my human is away.

And do not feel so bad about your insulin level. I am on 6.5 units and it finally seems to be working for me. Of course I have jinxed that now and will cause my human to stress out.
 
Thanks Anne-it's good to know I don't have the only picky cat in the world. Ill add these questions to my amps post!

Hey Alexis - when I first got on the board, every post I saw had either other cats or kitties on .5 units of insulin and I was like "bob, what's wrong with u???" Now I've run into a few that are very close to what bob is. So, we're not alone!!! We will get there, I am sure.
 
bagheerathediabeticcat said:
Well, I still like my crunchies, even though my human has tried very hard to get me to eat nothing but wet food. So what I do is eat mostly wet food, and then I munch on the crunchies after the wet food is gone or my human is away.

And do not feel so bad about your insulin level. I am on 6.5 units and it finally seems to be working for me. Of course I have jinxed that now and will cause my human to stress out.

Oh no Bagheera! U have not jinxed it-I knocked on wood for u. I'm hoping I don't have too much more increasing to do, but whatever it takes!!! Expensive little fella! :roll:
 
If you are transitioning Bob slowly onto canned food, I don't think there should be a dramatic drop in his numbers. Of course, Bob could make a liar out of me!

I leave canned food in my timed feeder all the time. I don't freeze the food (but have in the past) but I do add a good deal of water so it doesn't dry out.
 
Well, tonight, the human is going to leave me alone. My reading was 45.

The human doesn't mind my dosing being so high. He is just happy I am feeling well. And while tomorrow morning, he will likely be looking at a high blood sugar reading, he will tolerate it.

Lkldcatlady said:
Oh no Bagheera! U have not jinxed it-I knocked on wood for u. I'm hoping I don't have too much more increasing to do, but whatever it takes!!! Expensive little fella! :roll:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top