7/15 - Bandit - AMPS(290) +3(239) +9(160) PMPS(137) +1(165) +3(281) - confounding!

Bandit's Mom

Member Since 2019
Previous Post

So, Bandit's numbers have me scratching my head again! (That's FD for you?!)

After we stopped the clotrimazole ointment on her ear patch, her numbers came down again. Not surprisingly, she dipped below 50 in the PM cycle of 7/12. She had been touching 50 on 1F itself...and I had taken her up to 1.25 before the ear thingie happened.

Now, her numbers have been all over the place again. Is it that bounces from lower lows (sub 50) take longer to clear - that too on a reduced dose? I was shocked to see that red PMPS yesterday. Also surprised by her 150 pt jump in the 3 hours post PMPS today.

Are these just numbers wobbling on account of her bouncing from the lime 3 nights ago? She has dipped below 150 in cycles subsequently. I therefore thought she had cleared that bounce.

Surely she is not bouncing this hard from a blue PMPS (137 to 281 in 3 hours!)
 
I think it might be this:

(That's FD for you?!)

Not the most satisfying answer, I know! Maybe someone else has some ideas, but looking at Bandit's spreadsheet, I don't think she's bouncing. It's possible that 1.0U just isn't quite enough insulin for her (she did well on the 1F, it seems?), but it's only been a few days, so probably still too early to assess that. In fact, probably now that I said it maybe wasn't enough, she'll start showing green on the 1.0U!
 
Sorry, to clarify what I mean: I'm actually not too concerned about her 'wobbling', as a lot of that is probably just meter variance with fairly flat curves-- most of her wobbles are within a pretty narrow band. If you sort of squint and look at her spreadsheet with that in mind, she's getting some typical curves out of the insulin (eg today: yellow to blue and back up to yellow). You kind of have to step back a bit to see what she's doing, plus she's not helping by throwing you the occasional completely-out-of-the-blue number (I have no explanation for the red pre-shot last night, for example).

Come on Bandit! You are too cute to be so perplexing!
 
Thanks @Nan & Amber (GA) , I will just wait to see how she does on the current dose of 1 unit.

On 1F and 1.25 she was headed to 50 and below. I find that when her nadirs are really low (50-60 or below), she bounces for longer. But if they are higher, she clears her bounces sooner and stays in better numbers overall. Otherwise she has one low green cycle and then 5 cycles of yellows and pinks. And I think holding the dose a week or more works for her. Maybe I am wrong. She always surprises me.

I just panicked looking at the red pre-shot!
 
Maybe she needs an in between dose...increases/decreases in smaller increments. It helps some cats to ease into the blue #s consistently, then the greens. It can help the bouncy bouncy.
Just a thought.:bighug:
I hope you have a great day Bhooma. Be good for mom Bandit. she loves you very much.:)
 
Maybe she needs an in between dose...increases/decreases in smaller increments. It helps some cats to ease into the blue #s consistently, then the greens. It can help the bouncy bouncy.
Just a thought.:bighug:
I hope you have a great day Bhooma. Be good for mom Bandit. she loves you very much.:)

Thanks Brie :bighug:

I will hold this dose a week and see. But she might need to go up to 1F. On Lantus I had used 3 drops below 50 or 1 drop below 40 to take reductions because Bandit doesn't hold them well. Might have to go back to that too.
 
Back
Top