7/15 - Alice: AMPS 137: PMBG 92

Status
Not open for further replies.

Geneva

Member Since 2014
Not too bad this morning. I was expecting something much higher after Alice had that gravy food and a Kitty Yum last night. She tested 128 at 2 AM so I didn't reset the alarm.

One thing I need to do: get different syringes. I really liked the Terumo ThinPro at first. Love that 1/2 unit marking. But the plunger just slides way too easily. You can pull the plunger out a ways and just watch it slide back all on it's own. Hard to hold the dose in there until you can get it in the cat! I almost gave up on giving Alice .25u this morning, and, honestly, I'm not sure how much, if any, of that tiny dose actually got in to her.

And it doesn't help that I need new glasses. :oops:

Going to see if ADW will let me order the BD 1/2 unit syringes without a prescription. Hope so! That's where I got the ThinPro. I don't know if our small-town local pharmacy even carries 1/2 unit syringes, although I do know they carry the BD brand.
 
Re: 7/15 - Alice: AMPS 137

You and I both were expecting much higher amps this morning. Way to go Alice prove us both wrong. :lol:

I hate the wide lines on them but in a pinch Walmarts Relion syringes if you get the 3/10cc, 31 gauge short needles will have have unit marks on them. Just don't try asking the counter help if they carry half unit mark syringes because if your Walmart is like ours they're clueless.

Just curious...How long ago did Alice go on an all low carb diet?

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 7/15 - Alice: AMPS 137

Mel - Alice had her last dry food meal on Friday, June 27, the day her Mom passed away unexpectedly. As soon as the coroner and sheriff's crews left the house that night, I was allowed by the family to go in with them and retrieve Alice (poor girl was scared to death). From that point on, she has had only low carb wet food ... so not quite 3 weeks.

In that time, she has also gone from 3 units of Lantus twice a day, to the .25u I gave her this morning. Other than starting her on the Zobaline B12, the ONLY thing that has changed is her diet. Thank God for Dr. Pierson's catinfo.org and FDMB! :smile:
 
Re: 7/15 - Alice: AMPS 137

Great number after her +3 last night. Thank god you know how to hometest :)
Prop went OTJ a month after diagnosis and 2 weeksafter the change to all lowcarb wet food. So Alice i definetly going in the right direction. Prop would never have gone OTJ if i havent changed the food. Lets see how far Alice will go, but she i heading in the right direction.
 
Re: 7/15 - Alice: AMPS 137

Charlotte & Prop said:
Great number after her +3 last night. Thank god you know how to hometest :)
Prop went OTJ a month after diagnosis and 2 weeksafter the change to all lowcarb wet food. So Alice i definetly going in the right direction. Prop would never have gone OTJ if i havent changed the food. Lets see how far Alice will go, but she i heading in the right direction.

Thanks, Charlotte! That is so encouraging to hear! I hope Prop gets OTJ just as quickly this go round!

As soon as Alice was diagnosed (well, years before actually) I tried to convince her "Mom" to switch her to canned. Thank goodness she didn't while she was still giving her 6 units a day. She would have killed her! :o

Well, I must have gotten some of that .25u in Alice, because at +2 she was back down to 73. I got to work late, but I'm going to take a super early lunch so I can run back home and check on her.
 
Re: 7/15 - Alice: AMPS 137: +2 73

I wonder if she needs insulin at all. My Maxwell just like Prop went OTJ in about 2weeks after his food switch and knock wood this November 1st will be 4 years insulin free for him.

If Alice goes low in the next few days again I'd say take her off and see if she can fly solo.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 7/15 - Alice: AMPS 137: +2 73

Oh I need to find my picture of my poster child for why we don't feed dry to cats. Cassanova was 37 lbs when I adopted him and being shot blind 11u bid or 22u daily of Levemir. Today which is a little over 6 months he's at a fat 1 u bid and a slimmer but still chunky 18lbs but he's a big guy build wise. Once he sheds a few more pounds and get his teeth worked on I expect him to also go way down in dose if not off altogether. Autumn on the other hand probably never will go off her former owner did too much damage to her by not treating her at all for nearly a year after she was diagnosed. Poor baby girl was half dead when she was transported to me. She's a big Maine Coon mix but didn't even weigh 5lbs with a bg in the high 500s and moderate ketones and flirting with DKA when I picked her up. She was in short a mess. Today well she's my avatar so we've come along ways baby!!

My only regret with any of my Sugarcats is I didn't find them sooner so I could love them longer.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 7/15 - Alice: AMPS 137: +2 73: +5 56

Home at noon ... +5 is 56.

Alice is playing, seems lively and alert. But I wonder if I should give her a spoonful of the chicken and gravy again. I have to leave by 1 PM and the earliest I can be home is 5:15 PM. She was about this low at noon on Saturday, but I was here to check on her.
 
Re: 7/15 - Alice: AMPS 137: +2 73: +5 56

When isher normal feeding time? Props number always begin to rise after her feeding at +6
 
Re: 7/15 - Alice: AMPS 137: +2 73: +5 56

Just feed her up on her regular food maybe if you can leave her a snack. Test before you head out again of course for your own sanity.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 7/15 - Alice: AMPS 137: +2 73: +5 56

Charlotte - The cats eat a small meal around 7 AM. I usually come home from work about 1 PM and feed them again, but I'm home a little earlier than usual today. I don't even have 2 weeks worth of tests yet, so not a lot of data, but looking at her spreadsheet, +6 numbers are usually good numbers for Alice. I just gave her a regular low carb lunch, not the gravy stuff. I'll test her again in about 15 minutes.

Mel - I was wondering which of your many cats was pictured in your avatar. Autumn is gorgeous! :smile:

Edited to add: Mel, I see you posted while long-winded me was still typing ... :lol:
 
Re: 7/15 - Alice: AMPS 137: +5 56: +6 71

Nice #'s Alice! Now, Max has someone to play with on the grass. BTW, I like the BD syringes from ADW. I haven't ever tried the Terumo. Don't want to jinx (knock on wood), but maybe you won't need syringes for too much longer the way Alice is going.
 
PMBG was 92.

Right or wrong, DH and I decided to skip the dose, even .25u. Just afraid she really would go too low tonight. Is that the right thing to do? 92 is already a pretty darn good number, IMO.

hollyall - I was thinking the same thing (about not needing syringes soon). :lol: Would be amazing.
 
It's what I would have done. In fact it'll be interesting to see if she can fly without it. A proper diet maybe all she needs.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Hi Geneva! Wow Alice is doing great! Paws crossed for her and hope she continues down the path to OTJ! That will be so awesome! Come on Alice..show momma bean you are dun wif da jooce! :mrgreen:
 
Well, Alice ain't done with "da jooce" just yet ... +2 at 166 without that .25u evening dose.
I'll test her again in a couple hours to see which way she's going.

Hope I didn't mess her up by skipping! :? Should I have stalled instead?

Edited to add: Is it still called a +2 if she didn't get a shot?
 
Actually it would be +14 but would be logged as a +2 on the spreadsheet. Confusing enough?

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Ah, well, gone up to yellow at 213, but that's okay, as the mantra goes "better to be high for a day, than low for a moment."

Even though DH and I feel like we let Alice down, we just didn't feel comfortable giving a shot with a BG of 92.

On the bright side, at least I can sleep tonight, lol. :razz:
 
Geneva,

Failing Alice is something you and DH should never feel. Afterall when she lost her mommy unexpectedly neither of you gave a second thought to racing over as fast as they would let you in and taking her home with you. Then you went online, found us and jumped in with both feet to take care of not only her but her disease.

So many others in your place would have left her to whatever the winds of fate blew her direction. Or simply had her put to sleep.

So failing her not a chance. Missed shots happen, fur shots happen and skipped shots happen.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top