7/15-16 Bagheera PMPS 45 +4 72 AMPS 341

Status
Not open for further replies.

bagheerathediabeticcat

Member Since 2013
Well, just when I was all happy with my readings, with blues at shot time and greens in between, things changed. Of course it couldn't be easy. If that were the case, being a diabetic cat would be too easy and my human could get lazy.

He did not dare shoot me with that low 45 number last night. And that was AFTER I went to the place with the humans who wear white coats. So he figured my blood sugar reading would be very high, and when it was nearly hypoglycemic, he was shocked. Since I had just come from the place with the humans in white coats and was okay there, he didn't stress too much. But he was not going to give me my dose. And then when the reading came in at 72 four hours later, after I had eaten, he said forget it.

Well, I knew there would be a spike and that's where it went, all the way up into those pinks that we do not like. My human gave me my normal dose and we will see how it goes today.
 
These kitties know how to surprise us, don't they? I woke up to a number like that from Papaya the other day, too. In her case since I was going to be home all day to monitor I stalled an hour and she was already up to 83 so I went ahead and shot a bit of a reduced dose - but I was feeding her high carb all day. She ended up doing really well and staying mostly in greens for two cycles! But it looks like Bagheera was rising much more slowly so I don't blame you for skipping, easier to stay on track for next shot time if you have to stall that long.

Just FYI, when you write "PMPS" the PS stands for Pre Shot. So saying PMPS 45 indicates that you got a 45 and shot - which even those used to shooting low wouldn't do - I saw it and kind of went YIKES! So if you are stalling or not shooting, note the time from the last shot - so your subject line would probably look like this: AM +12=45 +16=72.

Bagheera's AMPS is not too bad, considering you skipped. I hope he continues giving you some good numbers!
 
Tony -

Numbers below 50 necessitate a dose reduction regardless of what dosing strategy you're following. I'm perplexed by you're avoidance of green numbers yet don't reduce your cat's dose when the numbers actually dictate a dose reduction. It would probably be more to your liking if you followed the Start Low Go Slow approach in order to keep Bagheera safe and not attempt to re-make the wheel by doing what you think is the right thing. With SLGS, doses are reduced if numbers drop below 90. Because you do not get at least 4 tests per day and because you are still feeding dry food, Bagheera should not be following the Tight Regulation Protocol. I do, however, think that you need some guidance when it comes to managing your cat's diabetes.
 
Oh, I did not know that. I know my human would not do that to me. He may not be able to test as often as many people like, and he still gives me the crunchies, but he would never do something like that. He thinks he has finally found a dose where it keeps me way below that 300 threshold, and he is hopeful that we can stay in the blues! I am a southern California cat now, after all, and blue is the color of the ocean that is by me. So that is where I want to be!

Amy & Papaya said:
These kitties know how to surprise us, don't they? I woke up to a number like that from Papaya the other day, too. In her case since I was going to be home all day to monitor I stalled an hour and she was already up to 83 so I went ahead and shot a bit of a reduced dose - but I was feeding her high carb all day. She ended up doing really well and staying mostly in greens for two cycles! But it looks like Bagheera was rising much more slowly so I don't blame you for skipping, easier to stay on track for next shot time if you have to stall that long.

Just FYI, when you write "PMPS" the PS stands for Pre Shot. So saying PMPS 45 indicates that you got a 45 and shot - which even those used to shooting low wouldn't do - I saw it and kind of went YIKES! So if you are stalling or not shooting, note the time from the last shot - so your subject line would probably look like this: AM +12=45 +16=72.

Bagheera's AMPS is not too bad, considering you skipped. I hope he continues giving you some good numbers!

Well, we did start low and go up relatively slowly. Remember how you kept telling my human to put on his patience pants and he wanted to move quicker than you liked? It took several months to get me to this point. And remember, I am a big cat. I am double the size of a typical nine or ten pound cat. So while the dose I am on is high for a normal sized cat, if it varies proportionally with our size, it is pretty much normal.

My human talked to the person with the white coat yesterday. He said that he was okay with me not getting a dose if I dropped below 100, and allowing the blood sugar to spike so that we could bring it down safely. He said that it takes months at a very high level to cause harm to me, but that one very low reading could result in me getting very sick.

And my human had just taken me back from the place with the humans in white coats, otherwise he would have called about my low reading. I was a perfectly normal cat there! Well, maybe that should have been a sign for my human, because normally, I am a ferocious feline when I am there.

Sienne and Gabby said:
Tony -

Numbers below 50 necessitate a dose reduction regardless of what dosing strategy you're following. I'm perplexed by you're avoidance of green numbers yet don't reduce your cat's dose when the numbers actually dictate a dose reduction. It would probably be more to your liking if you followed the Start Low Go Slow approach in order to keep Bagheera safe and not attempt to re-make the wheel by doing what you think is the right thing. With SLGS, doses are reduced if numbers drop below 90. Because you do not get at least 4 tests per day and because you are still feeding dry food, Bagheera should not be following the Tight Regulation Protocol. I do, however, think that you need some guidance when it comes to managing your cat's diabetes.

Hi, Peter! I am hopeful that things get back to normal soon. Well, as normal as you can expect from a diabetic cat like me. My human is committed to doing what works best for me. It does not look like there is a perfect solution. We tried the sliding scale we were given by another human with a white coat first, and we weren't seeing numbers we liked. Then we tried to do the tight protocol as best as we could. It works a little better, but given that I insist on eating crunchies and my human is away during the day, it's not an ideal situation but what we can do works better.

Maybe combining some aspects of both will work better. We will see.

PeterDevonMocha said:
Hi guys .. no advice from me but I hope the bounce is short! Have a great day!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top