7/14 Tıfıl AMPS 321, +6.75 274, +11 326, +2 189

Status
Not open for further replies.

ISIL&TIFIL

Member Since 2011
Hello, these days she is really getting high, I now you are going to say its normal but do we need a dose increasement? I am affraid that she will have ketons, she is really prone to it..
I need your suggestions?
Thank you :)
 
Re: 7/14 Tıfıl AMPS 321, +6.75 274, +11 326 Question??

Isil: I'm not one of the really experienced ones on dosing but FWIW, I would not increase her. She had a 45 last night; I believe her numbers today are a bounce. Bounces can last up to 72 hours and you typically do not want to increase on a bounce. Sometimes kitties can be "cyclic" on their cycles....in other words, sometimes at a nice dose for them they'll throw blue numbers, bounce a little, toss in some greens, etc. A prime example of this is Michelle's Mannie. She has held his dose for about 186 cycles and he's doing the best he's ever done.

I would wait until her bounce clears and see what she does. It looks to me like she clears them pretty quickly.
 
Re: 7/14 Tıfıl AMPS 321, +6.75 274, +11 326 Question??

ok..so its my shot time and I will go for 0.5 again..meanwhile I will give lots and lots of water in her meal to get rid of ketons if there are some...or am I just composing a stupid story :)
 
Re: 7/14 Tıfıl AMPS 321, +6.75 274, +11 326 Question??

I'm sorry I didn't answer your question about ketones. When Gracie bounces, I am more diligent about checking for ketones. Do you check her?

Absolutely, giving her more water is very helpful. I do this for Gracie no matter what just as a preventative. In other words, if I were you, I'd always give her extra water in her food....not just when she's high because they can also get ketones when they are low. So: (1) check her daily for ketones...twice if it makes you feel better and (2) give her lots of extra water every meal.

I hope that helps...and yes, I would shoot her regular dose and let this bounce clear. If you increase and she clears the bounce as fast as she has been, you could be up all night fighting numbers based on last night's numbers :-D

I know it's tough!! Hang in there...you are both doing great.
 
Re: 7/14 Tıfıl AMPS 321, +6.75 274, +11 326 Question??

With all the greens yesterday this is almost certainly a bounce. Marje is right, you have to wait it out. Ketones usually form during prolonged hyperglycemic periods. You should be fine waiting for the bounce to clear. If you are really concerned, check her urine frequently w/ ketone strips.
 
Re: 7/14 Tıfıl AMPS 321, +6.75 274, +11 326 Question??

to tell you the truth, I am not checking her for ketons :( the reason is I can't have the courage to see the result.. :(:(:(:
I have stripes but no guts :(
 
Isil: you should be checking her for ketones ;-) If she shows a trace, then you can be very proactive. Remember...denial ain't just a river in Egypt! Get it??? :lol: :lol: :lol: Sick Ami humor!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top