7/14 Skooter AMPS 262 +10.5 240 PMPS 299 +2 295 +4 257

Status
Not open for further replies.

MollynSkooter

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's Condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=121706

Greetings Everyone and Happy(?) Monday LL!

So it looks like Skooter is lovin the yellow. I am wondering if I do a dose increase at PM or if I give him his 2 and monitor him during the night to see if he gets out of the yellow. I would prefer to do his dose changes on weekends or during his PM cycle when I can monitor him.

While Skooter is still not being super playful, he is coming up voluntarily to snuggle with me. He even slept with me for part of the night. While he used to sleep with me all night, I will take the partial nights as a sign he is feeling more like himself :)

Also wanted to say again a great big thank you for all the encouragement, support and advice this weekend while getting Skooter transitioned to his all wet diet.

Welpers, guess I best be on my way, let the training of the newbie at work begin!

~Molly
 
Re: Dose Increase?? 7/14 Skooter AMPS 262 +10.5 240

Well Skooter, ok I survived not being able to stop home to check on my Skooterbear during lunch today....

I am really liking our new person and I think he will fit in great with our team :) So, funny thing. While he and I were talking, as I said I normally go home at lunch to test Skooter, he mentioned his sister-in-law has a diabetic cat, has been for a year or so, but is having a hard time with it. So of course I gave him the FDMB web site and told him to have her come and join us!

I am thinking that Skoots is gonna have to go with a dose increase, do I do .25 and should I start that tonight or wait until tomorrow night....tonight would be his 7th cycle on the 2 units. I know typically the increase happens at the 8th cycle, but I would prefer to do his increases during his PM cycles or a weekend cycle when I can monitor him better. If so, I am not quiet sure how to measure that with my current syringes....which brings me to my next question. When I had spoken to someone at WalMart they said they had the half marking syringes, but when the vet called today to order them the pharmacists said they didn't carry them. Is it possible that some WalMart's carry them and others do not? Or do I need to order them on line? The vet is willing to do whatever I need for an rx for them.

I came home to a large box at my door, and was a bit disappointed that all that was in it was a t-shirt. Seems just a shame to waste such a big box on a t-shirt...I got excited for nothing :(
 
Re: Dose Increase?? 7/14 Skooter AMPS 262 +10.5 240

Hi Molly, I wonder if Skooter went blue during the day. That +10 looks encouraging. :-D I can't answer your question on the Walmart syringe, but I have heard many people say they've the pharmacist says they don't have them but they do. All I can suggest is getting a paper Rx and checking out a few stores.

Since you would be increasing by .25U, it will be a lot easier to do if you have the 1/2 unit marked syringes. You are still eyeballing, but it's easier with the extra line. One thing to know about increases, you don't always notice a change in the first cycle. In fact, often you see the opposite and get something called New Dose Wonkiness or NDW. I think that's a round about way of saying you could increase tonight or tomorrow night. ;-)

Good to hear that Skooter is sleeping with you part of the night now. :-D
 
Re: Dose Increase?? 7/14 Skooter AMPS 262 +10.5 240 PMPS 299

I guess I answered my own question about dose....I attempted to do 2.25, and well, I got 2 LOL I will keep trying with the needles I have while I attempt to get needles with the half marks....which is a WHOLE other issue.....

The convo went something like this:

Me: I am calling to see if you have a specific syringe with half unit markings
Walgreens Clerk: What do you want to do with it? Inject Something?
Me: Yes I would like to inject insulin with the syringe.
Walgreens Clerk: Let me go ask the pharmacists....
WAITING, WAITING, WAITING
Walgreens Clerk: Yeah we don't have it
Me: I didn't even tell you what one I wanted
Walgreens Clerk: Well I told the pharmacists exactly what you said and she said we didn't have it...

First off, what in the SAMHILL do you think I want to do with the syringes?!?! Make musical instruments out of them?!?!?

Ugh....not much better with Target, but at least he knew what I was talking about!

I did sprinkle a little of the probiotic I got on his food for dinner....and he couldn't eat it fast enough! He seems to be coming up to me and wanting to be around me more often than he used to, which is good...I just hope I can get him to the point where he will play a little....He is being such a good boy with all that is going on and I am sure he is exhausted and tired with all the stuff his body is going through......
 
Re: 7/14 Skooter AMPS 262 +10.5 240 PMPS 299

Walmart DOES have them.....they are their own brand...Relion Syringes, 3/10cc, 5/16" needle length, and your choice of 29, 30 or 31 gauge needles....the higher the gauge, the thinner the needle, so the 31's are the tiniest (but not that big a difference between them so get whatever you can)

I think I'd go ahead and increase to 2.25 if you can get the syringes or eyeball it...what you can do is draw up some colored water into an old syringe until you decide where 2.25 is going to be. Keep that one to compare your others to when you draw up actual insulin
 
Re: 7/14 Skooter AMPS 262 +10.5 240 PMPS 299

That is what I thought...


I think I am going to go in there AGAIN tomorrow and ask to see them....once I can confirm they have them, then I shall call the vet and have her call in a script....this is sooooooooooo dumb......why do people have to make it so difficult??!?!?!

I may practice on a needle to see if I can try and figure out a .25, we shall see.....I haven't had an eye exam in about 2 years and so need a new prescription, so this could be very interesting lol
 
Re: 7/14 Skooter AMPS 262 +10.5 240 PMPS 299

Another thing to consider: the markings are often off by a bit (that's why the digital calipers are nice) so you might want to note that when you first open the syringe, where the plunger is, relative to the markings. We figure there are 12 drops per unit, which means 0.25u = 3 drops. If you want a 2.25u dose, then get a 2.5u dose and squeeze out 3 drops. You can twist the plunger for greater control.

We also use a magnifying lamp and a magnifying visor, both at the same time.

You and Skooter are a great team! :-D :-D :-D
Liz
 
Re: 7/14 Skooter AMPS 262 +10.5 240 PMPS 299

Chris & China said:
Walmart DOES have them.....they are their own brand...Relion Syringes, 3/10cc, 5/16" needle length, and your choice of 29, 30 or 31 gauge needles....the higher the gauge, the thinner the needle, so the 31's are the tiniest (but not that big a difference between them so get whatever you can)

Molly and Chris, I went to 3 different WalMarts in my area and all 3 pharmacies said they definitely didn't have them! :roll: I was so exasperated the 3rd try, I gave up and am sticking with BD's. :roll: I hope you have better luck than I did at trying to find the Relions!
 
Re: 7/14 Skooter AMPS 262 +10.5 240 PMPS 299

The other option is to purchase online. Many people buy at ADW. I buy my strips there. I am lucky that my local pharmacist has so many pet owners buy supplies there that she was the one who suggested what syringes I needed.
 
Re: 7/14 Skooter AMPS 262 +10.5 240 PMPS 299 +2 295

This mommabean is all of a sudden is a not feelin so well mommabean.......

With a +2 like that.....I am thinking it is safe to think that it will be a pretty uneventful cycle.....Skooter will get his 4th meal at +3 (I am still trying to figure out how much food to be giving him per day, I fear I am giving too little.....perhaps that will be tomorrow night's research ***SIGH***.....I will get a +4 and if that is still in the 200s I am assuming I would be good to go to bed "early" and try and wake up feeling better....

Just got off the phone with another Walmart and they have them! I went to this site: http://www.relion.com/diabetes/syringes And asked why the web site says: "NOTE: All 3/10cc syringes feature half unit markings. THIS IS ESPECIALLY IMPORTANT FOR PARENTS CARING FOR CHILDREN WITH DIABETES." if the syringes "don't exist"? And looky looky what they found! He said that the markings were difficult to read, so I will go in and look at them, but I am thinking they have to be easier than the full unit for getting the .25 doses.


On a random side note.....since Skooter's dx and I have been needed to test him frequently and been staying home, just because I worry about him....I have "treated" myself to NCIS Seasons 1, 2, 3 and 4....Can I just say....I soooooooooooooooooooooooo heart this show. It has been a great distraction for me :P
 
Re: 7/14 Skooter AMPS 262 +10.5 240 PMPS 299 +2 295

Hi Molly! I use the ReliOn syringes with half unit markings, and I have run into the issue with some pharmacists not knowing that they have them/not understanding what I am asking for. One pharmacist told me that they didn't have them even though I had already gotten them at the same Walmart, and I could see the box on the shelf in the back.

Now, I ask for "ReliOn 3/10 cc 31 gauge insulin syringes...the box has a a purple stripe on it." Ever since I started asking for the box with the purple stripe, they have known what I am looking for, so that might be worth mentioning. It is just like the box with the purple stripe in this picture http://www.relion.com/diabetes/syringes except I get 31 gauge instead of 30.

Also, I am so with you on the TV binging :-D I am tearing my way through Orange is the New Black on the nights I stay up with Billie.
 
Molly

I posted this on Skooters condo last night:

Unless you magically see a very low blue or a green number, I'd increase his dose to 2.25u tomorrow night or Tuesday morning.

You can wait until the weekend but I'd like to see him out of these numbers and more Into blue and green, if possible.
 
Hi Molly. You're doing a great job. I know you get nervous, but you should be gaining confidence every day, especially as you see old behaviors return - that's a sure sign you're on the right path!

When I go to Walmart to buy more syringes, I take either one of the empty bags from my last batch, or I tear off the front of the box and take that. I've never had a problem getting the right ones when I do that, so once you get a box, you can do the same next time.

OT: We just finished binge watching the entire NCIS series. We were so busy catching up (well, catching me up - DH watched it all along), we missed last season, so now we are waiting for that to come out on DVD (in August), and we are recording the current season on our DVR to watch after that. LOVE it!

Good luck with the dosecrease.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top