7/14: Sammy - AMPS - 215; PMPS 266

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Sammy

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

Well, Sammy is still on the rise. I don't know why the problem is. He was doing so well this weekend after the Convenia Shot, and then Sunday night he started to rise up. I might have thought he would rise once he started eating better, but he ate pretty well on Saturday and his numbers stayed in the GREEN all day, through the night and into the next night. Now he has pretty much been on the rise since Sunday evening. The only difference between this weekend and the last couple of days is that I stopped giving "kitty crack" sprinkles on his food since the rise started. And you would think that would help bring him back down again, but that just hasn't happened.

I have a call in to the vet, but she wasn't in today.

I am wondering if we need to think about increasing again. I am just really nervous to do that since I can't test during the day, except maybe at lunch time, but I never know if I will be able to get away to run home to test.

I still think it might have something to do with the antibiotic. I just think it is ironic that as soon as we started the antibiotic his numbers came down, but when we stopped the Clavamox pill and switched to the Conveina after just a couple of days the numbers started going back up again.

Any thoughts, @Jill & Alex (GA) @Marje and Gracie @Libby and Lucy @Vyktors Mum
 
It could be that Convenia isn't the right AB for the job, if Sammy does actually have some sort of infection. From what I've heard, Convenia is primarily most effective for skin conditions, although admittedly I haven't done all that much research on it, so don't quote me on that. Maybe there's a better AB that Sammy will tolerate better, and maybe an anti-nausea med should be part of the AB plan.

I used to do Trix's increases the night before I had a day or two off, so I could monitor her response more closely. It wouldn't be the worst thing to do that with Sammy....safety first, and if you can't monitor as closely during the week, it make sense to do increases when you can keep tabs on things.
 
Amy, I thought the same as you. Vets do seem to be using it more and more. I bet Tina's vet was trying it to avoid intestinal upset.
 
Because Convenia lasts for 2 weeks in the cat's system, you really can't switch to a different antibiotic at this time. I hope that Sammy will adjust to the meds and feel better.
I'm unsure whether or not changes in dose should be made while on an antibiotic. I think I would wait and see what happens.
Hang in there, Tina!
Ella & Rusty
 
He seems to have a cycle of yellow every once in a while and then he comes back down. It could be that the convenia is not addressing his infection. It's hard to say.

See what he does tonight and where he is in the morning. If he's still yellow, you could increase a bit if you are comfortable doing so. When a cat has been in green numbers and you see a rise, you don't want to wait too long to get on top of it with a little more insulin. He might only need a little extra for a cycle or two.
 
Tina

With his AMPS today, I'd definitely increase his dose tonight unless you see a big shift down into normal numbers. If it were me, I'd increase by 0.25u but I know work concerns are an issue. Are you not able to take him to work any longer?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top