7/14 Purrcie AMPS 180 +8 48 PMPS 295 +2 269 Dose? BIG ooops!

Status
Not open for further replies.

myla

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

Howdy LL!

My first chance to get online today! Yipes, where does the day go??? I go from cat care to parent care to painting and then it's time to check the cat again! Round and round we go! :dizcat

Boy I made a big boo boo today. I earned yet another ohmygod_smile or maybe even two of them ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile

Purr has been doing great on his dosecrease down to 1.25U. He gets breffis in three installments, part each hour from AMPS through +3 and also snacks as needed after tests.
Look:
180 AMPS
149 +2
69 +4.25
<------- LC meal
82 +5.5
48 +8
I tested him at +8 because he had flopped down in the middle of the hall and was acting lethargic again, had me concerned so I thought I better test and I see this 48. So I don't think it was a meter malfunction. If mine doesn't get enough blood it gives me an error 21 message.
EEEEK! OK, not thinking how late it was in the cycle and just seeing that 48 I gave him a tsp of beef baby food over LC FF and then tested him again in 15 minutes. Well CRIPES his BG shot up to
244 +8.25
307 +9

ARG! I forgot how SUPER carb sensitive he is and how late it was in the cycle. I just saw that 48 and my brain clicked off.

I'm wondering if he had gone lower than 48 and was in the process of bouncing up when I added to the load with the baby food? This poor kitty boy. ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile

He got the usual dose of 1.25U tonight .

What do I do tomorrow morning?
 
Re: 7/14 Purrcie AMPS 180 +8 48 Dose? and BIG ooops!

Wow, thats a quite a rise in under 1 hour after the 48 today.

can I ask, why baby food?
no regular HC gravy food around at the time? Either way, he got outta there fast!! bcatrun_gif


PS: can you add your PMPS to your subject line for tonight?
 
Re: 7/14 Purrcie AMPS 180 +8 48 Dose? and BIG ooops!

Wow! i dont feed that way, so i cant answer why he shot up like that or dropped like that--Had he been eating before the 48? Probably not..
Moonie free feeds, so I have no advice to offer, but it is GREAT that you Caught That!! I watch her & she eats like every 2 hours or so.
I also use accucheck & feel it is pretty accurate!
You can tell by their behavior sometimes, what's happening & good thing you caught it!
See what his BG is tomorrow am & post it if you have any questions--D is usually up early, Miriam, & several others--
Have a good ni ni!
 
Re: 7/14 Purrcie AMPS 180 +8 48 Dose? and BIG ooops!

Myla -

I really wonder if this was a meter error at +8. I just had the same thing happen this evening and my meter is very good about giving me an error message if there's too little blood. If you look at the trend, Purrcie's numbers were heading up. In addition, that's a huge bump from LC + baby food. I wonder whether the 86 during the PM cycle on 7/5 was also a goofy reading. Some meters will give a wonky reading if there's too much blood. You won't get an error message but you will get a suspicious, usually low, number. If this happens again, I'd re-test.

I'm also not seeing where Purrcie is all that carb sensitive. You've noted a couple of times where you've given a snack and there's virtually no change in the next test (e.g., on 7/11 you fed 3 - 4 tbl of LC at around +5 and the +6 test was 96).
 
Re: 7/14 Purrcie AMPS 180 +8 48 Dose? and BIG ooops!

that looks more like a bounce than carbs to me (could be a bit of both, of course). This is just my opinion, but I would probably not reduce the dose because of a 48. Purrcie has been diabetic for a while, so probably needs to work a little harder to earn his reductions. I have to admit, though, that he held the last one nicely. Overall he doesn't look ready for a reduction to me, though I think he will insist on a reduction very soon.
 
He's a finicky eater. Usually there are about 5 cans of different things open in the fridge at any one time. He isn't big on foods with gravy but I did discover he liked the baby food when my other cat had to be assist fed when she had CRF.

He has been eating every hour but sometimes I have to take him over to the food. He can free feed but sometimes then he will eat alot at one time and then if I need him to eat if he gets low he won't do it on his own, which is what I think happened before the 48.

His CRF goofs up his appetite.

Okay we will stick with the 1.25U.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top