7/14 Papaya AMPS=83 +4=41 +7=40 PMPS=112 +3=110 +5=43(!)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy & Papaya (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday

I woke up a few minutes before my PS alarm - probably because Papaya was staring at me figuring out which end to start eating me at if I didn't wake up and feed her! She was so, so squirmy that I had quite a time testing this AM, so I was expecting a HI reading since that's when she usually hates testing. Nope - only 41!! :shock: I "fed the 40s" - in fact, she didn't even wait for me to bring the food to her, she followed me out to the kitchen. She's not terribly mobile so that says a lot for how hungry she was! I stalled the shot and tested an hour later - up to 83. Figuring the 41 was going to bounce sky-high anyway, I went ahead and shot the 83 but reduced the dose to, as accurately as possible, between 2 and 2.25 which I will call 2-fat. Tested +3 and, again a surprise, still no bounce up, going down again - now at 58.

Well, I'm glad it isn't a work day!

EDITED TO ADD: +4, still dropping! Gave HC at +3 and +4. Not as frantic to eat as at PS but cleans up whatever I offer.
 
Re: 7/14 Papaya +12=41 fed, stalled AMPS=83 +3=58

There's a lot to be said for timing! Don't hesitate to feed HC if you need to. Papaya's already gotten a dose reduction so there's nothing to prove. You may want to be attentive this reduction. I think there's a decent chance that Papaya's numbers may have dropped below 40. If you shave a dose when there are low numbers this way, it's a doubly aggressive approach vs. taking a full reduction.
 
Re: 7/14 Papaya +12=41 fed, stalled AMPS=83 +3=58

Sienne and Gabby said:
Don't hesitate to feed HC if you need to. Papaya's already gotten a dose reduction so there's nothing to prove.

That's a good way to look at it.

+5 even after all the HC is still only 50. Fed more HC.
 
Re: 7/14 Papaya +12=41stall AMPS=83 +3=58 +4=41 +5=50 +7=40

Even after hourly HC, +7 is down again to 40. Afternoon plans have been cancelled in case I still haven't seen the end of this dive, hope Papaya appreciates my hot-rolled hair and lipstick :roll:
She's now had an entire can of 18% FF since I started giving HC at +3, but still seems to be on a mission.
 
Re: 7/14 Papaya +12=41stall AMPS=83 +3=58 +4=41 +5=50 +7=40

WOW what a way to jump start your Sunday!!

When you see Papaya's numbers like this...are you thrilled or scared to death? mixture I suppose.

I am always so amazed by how and when that Lantus decides to kick in/ AND/OR decides to just take the day or sometimes week off! Just Friday night...look at Papaya's numbers...and yesterday too! She certainly is keeping you on your toes!!

I am glad you are off today too! Like I have said before in other posts...I have the greatest respect and sympathies for those of you that have to head out that door everyday while trying to finely tune a diabetic cat!! HATS OFF TO YOU!!

good luck today offering HC food to Papaya every hour while she thinks you are nuts!!

congrats on the reduction!!

~~kelly
 
Re: 7/14 Papaya +12=41stall AMPS=83 +3=58 +4=41 +5=50 +7=40

Thanks, Kelly! Yes she definitely keeps me on my toes. Initially when I saw low numbers I was definitely scared, now since I never know whether I'm going to see "HI" or "40" on the meter it's more of a one-eyebrow-raising event. Papaya, however, I would classify as "thrilled" since when she dives, she has the human bringing her gravy-laden treats hourly. She is lounging around grooming, I swear with a smile on her face!
 
Re: 7/14 Papaya AMPS=83 +4=41 +7=40 +8=92 +11=110 PMPS=112

Who IS this cat? I tested at +11, thinking that if she was on a huge bounce already I'd be able to shoot a bit early and get back on schedule. Um, no. +11 was just barely up into blue at 110, and an hour later still hovering at 112. So I took the full 0.25 reduction that I could have taken this morning (yesterday 2.25, just shaved dose this morning), since stuffing HC into her all day pretty much just kept her around 40-50. I shot the reduced to 2.0 dose exactly 12 hours after this morning's stalled shot. Really curious to see where this cycle goes!
 
Re: 7/14 Papaya AMPS=83 +4=41 +7=40 +8=92 +11=110 PMPS=112

I think she likes you hanging around the house!!

I have to laugh at the visual of you all dolled up and papaya smiling and licking HC gravy from her whiskers!!

so here is a question:

when do you feed the caro? I notice you never did that....have you in the past?

is that something you just do when in the 30's or so....or you can't get them to eat?

just taking notes for when Tom makes my eye-brows raise!!

~kelly
 
Re: 7/14 Papaya AMPS=83 +4=41 +7=40 +11=110 PMPS=112 +3=110

Hi Kelly! I have to apologize, I was looking at your post from Thursday and see nobody came back to answer your questions. So I'll make sure I answer these ones!

As to the karo - the first time I saw a really low number I think I gave high carb food plus honey and even some dry . . . way overkill. But better safe than sorry! Now I find if I give a teaspoon or two of really high carb food (like 18-22%) it will pretty much keep Papaya's BG steady for an hour, and then it will start to drop again. If I don't have that high carb food I may use a medium carb (around 13%) plus just a dab of honey. I found it weird that she likes the honey - who knew a cat would eat it??

It's probably a very "every cat is different" situation. Some people can keep their cat's BG stable, especially if it's mid cycle or later, just with a bit of the usual low carb food. Even the high carb doesn't seem to change Papaya's BG if she is diving, so I don't usually try low carb. Hopefully you don't ever see it as low as 30s but for sure load up the syrup if you do!! I think the best way to figure out what works for Tom is that when you see some lower numbers, offer higher carb food just a bit at a time - not too much because you might need him to eat more later to keep things level - and test OFTEN, probably every half hour, until you know how that food changes his BG and for how long. Papaya rarely turns down food so I don't have to worry too much about whether she'll be full at the next time I need to give food . . . she's just "More food? Excellent!" but if Tom is more one to watch his diet you can also just try some of the gravy out of the higher carb foods. It wouldn't fill him up but if he licks it up it would raise his BG - but it will also wear off faster so again, make sure you are testing really frequently if you're in a low-numbers situation.

She definitely does like me around the house! She has never been a lap cat but she likes to sit beside me, and lie belly-up with her back legs propped up on me. Cat footstool, that's me :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top