7/14 Jenks AMPS 211 +6 245 +9 220 PMPS 183 70 61 56 64 68 82

Status
Not open for further replies.

AZJenks

Member Since 2014
7/13

It's pajama party time....again! Yay!

He's really crashed from PMPS to +3 over the last two nights. After last night's low, I decided to hold him at the 5.25U rather than take a reduction to see if it was a one-time response. Clearly, it's not.

I know the protocol says to take an immediate 0.25U reduction if numbers reach the 40s. Does that refer to having an actual reading of a number in the 40s? Or does it also include a number that would inevitably go to the 40s had it not been for intervention like steering? Because last night I steered him out of the low 50s. Tonight I might have to do that again.

Looking at his spreadsheet, a dose of 5.0U had the effect of keeping him in the blues all night. But if 5.25U is going to bring him too low overnight, what's the middle ground? 5.125U? I don't even know if the ghetto calipers I'm using could even resolve such a small difference.

Anyway, I'll check him in about a half our or so to see which direction we're headed. Back in a bit.
 
Re: 7/14 Jenks AMPS 211 +6 245 +9 220 PMPS 183 +3 70 +3.75 7

It's been 45min since the last test, and Jenks is holding firm at 70.
 
Re: 7/14 Jenks AMPS 211 +6 245 +9 220 PMPS 183 70 61 56 64 6

Numbers so far:

PMPS 183
+3 70
+3.75 70
+4.75 61
+5 seeking food. fed turkey & gibs
+5.5 56
+6 64
+7 68
+9 82
+10 107
 
Re: 7/14 Jenks AMPS 211 +6 245 +9 220 PMPS 183 70 61 56 64 6

"Technically" yes, you are actually supposed to see a number below 50 for that reducie. Back in the early days, Trix would often skate right on the edge with low 50s early on in her cycles, but never dip below it (and I wasn't specifically steering with food because I was looking to see if she wanted a reducie). It turned out that was just her style of working the juice....she almost always dropped at +2 and then started surfing at that point. So if you don't actually see the drop below 50, you don't know for sure if it ever happened.

With that said, you do have to shoot what you are comfortable with in order to keep Jenks safe. Trix never held reducies well, so I would often do "fat" and "skinny" doses. ie, a dose that was just hair less than 1.00u but more than 1.75U, etc. I didn't use calipers so I I would eyeball them, but it is doable.

Jenks has some beautiful surfs going on there!!
 
Re: 7/14 Jenks AMPS 211 +6 245 +9 220 PMPS 183 70 61 56 64 6

Thanks Amy! We're looking at his best night ever right now!

Other human is up, so I'm getting ready to hand him off. If he continues this slow rise, he'll probably be what we consider low(er) for his AMPS. So I'll need to refresh OH on the need for additional monitoring. It will be interesting to see what the day to come looks like.
 
Re: 7/14 Jenks AMPS 211 +6 245 +9 220 PMPS 183 70 61 56 64 6

Wow....looking great, Jenks!!!

I agree with Amy that I'd hold the dose right now. One thing I'd like to add is that if you are feeding a lot of HC food and/or karo to prop up his numbers above 50 and you are working to keep him there, you can reduce (shave). But if he just had LC last night or even just a little HC that got him up and stable to that lovely surf, I wouldn't reduce.

Any reason why you are testing with two separate meters? I would highly recommend you pick one and stick with it.

Have a great day....surf Jenks!
 
Re: 7/14 Jenks AMPS 211 +6 245 +9 220 PMPS 183 70 61 56 64 6

Marje and Gracie said:
Wow....looking great, Jenks!!!

I agree with Amy that I'd hold the dose right now. One thing I'd like to add is that if you are feeding a lot of HC food and/or karo to prop up his numbers above 50 and you are working to keep him there, you can reduce (shave). But if he just had LC last night or even just a little HC that got him up and stable to that lovely surf, I wouldn't reduce.

I steered him on the 13th because he was in the low 50s and continuing to go lower. I feel like he would've touched the 40s had I not intervened. But last night required no steering. He stirred at +5 or so and was looking for food. We can see that he was in the 50s at that time. That seems to be the level that triggers his "need food" impulse. So I just gave him his regular Friskies Turkey & Gibs and monitored. The plan is to hold fast at this dose for now.

Marje and Gracie said:
Any reason why you are testing with two separate meters? I would highly recommend you pick one and stick with it.

It's a necessary compromise.

Other human does alternate site testing on the center pad of his back foot. Getting OH to test at all was a triumph of its own, but I don't think we'll ever get OH to graduate to ear testing. The resulting blood draw from the foot is barely sufficient for the Micro, so the Prime simply wouldn't work there.

In contrast, I test much more frequently. I use his ears. And the Prime strips are half the cost and allow for more frequent testing, which he needs lately. It didn't make any fiscal sense for me to continue to use the Micro.

That means that the cheaper strips are doing most of the work, and while we'll still have to buy the Micro strips, those will now last approximately 3 months per 100 count versus the three weeks they were previously.
 
Re: 7/14 Jenks AMPS 211 +6 245 +9 220 PMPS 183 70 61 56 64 6

Ok...gotcha on the meters. Thanks for explaining. There is likely some difference but the most important thing is OH is testing :-D :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top