7/14 Henry

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela&Henry

Very Active Member
AMPS 389 Yikes! No insulin before dental.
Vet's office just called (11:30) they finished his dental and hes waking up. I can pick him up around 1:00.
Don't know where a 389 BG came from, he hasn't been that high in several months for AMPS. Only thing different is he had no food from 10:00 pm until AMPS and he usually free feeds from feeder overnight and he usually eats something around 3:00-4:00 a.m.
Glad its over and ready to get him home.
 
Glad Henry did well. Maybe he "anticipated" the dental and he was high this morning. My kitties always know when they have appointments. :o
 
Glad everything went well! He was talking to Thumper, they had matching AMPS this morning!!
 
Glad things went alright. Better a high number before the dental than one that is too low?

Things may be a little strange for a few days with Henry with the pain and pain meds. I would think you could just float with the numbers till things get back to "normal".
 
We got home about 2:00. All his blood work and EKG were normal. No teeth had to be pulled, she said a couple had a little infection around them, nothing bad.
Oh and his BG was 461 there on their meter. UGH. hope it was stress and no insulin.
So when we got home, within 10 minutes he was eating his FF and has finished a whole can in an hour, drank water several times. No pee yet going to try to get a pee sample to take back for a urinalysis, just to make sure no infection.
Hes resting in his favorite spot now and I haven't poked him to check BG yet, I am going to let him rest and recoup for a while.
 
Glad Big Henry did good at his appointment :) Now it’s over and you can relax a bit in your favorite spot!
 
So glad everything went well and he is on the mend.

Their bg's tend to run a little low after anestesia so once he gets settled in and knows he's home I'm sure his #'s will come down nicely.
 
Glad it went well & he's back home already, yay! Bix's numbers waffled around a while after the dental, so I would shoot a little on the light side at first and just roll with whatever you get. I think Bix ran lower for the first day, then higher for about a week, and then went back to where he had been before the dental. ECID though, who knows what will happen!!!! Hopefully it will help Henry in the long run. Bet you are glad it's O-V-E-R!!!!! :mrgreen:
 
PMPS 284 1.3U
Shooting now 1/2 usual dose 1.3 U per vet instruction. (no insulin today until now)
Hes doing really well since he got home, has even played with some toys.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top