7/14 Heart AMPS 146,+9 56,PMPS 72, +1.5 47,+2 56,+3 50,+4 58

Status
Not open for further replies.

dodgingwrenches

Member Since 2010
Since Heart dipped below 50 last night after a few cycles of a decreased dose (from 3.5 to 3.25), I decreased a little further this morning to 3.0. He seems to want to go down, which mamma bean is more than okay with! He is on a higher dose after all. I think the higher pre-shot value is probably residual from the high carb food I gave him last night (yes? no?) which is why I still gave the decreased dose despite being out of the green this morning. If it doesn't work, I can always increase again. At least he's out of the terrible reds he spent so much time in.

Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=19650&start=0
 
Re: 7/14 Heart AMPS 146 - decreased dose

Glad to see you took the reduction. The HC wet food would likely be out of the system by now. AMPS 146 isn't exactly high. ;-)
You are doing a great job and how great to see Heart in such good numbers.
 
Re: 7/14 Heart AMPS 146 - decreased dose

Sounds great! This AMPS is practically a normal number for a non-diabetic... I wouldn't call it a higher number! Hee, hee!
Heart is doing so well and will be green again before you even blink.
 
Re: 7/14 Heart AMPS 146 - decreased dose

Just a point for consideration...

We generally recommend getting 2 consecutive tests where numbers are above the 40s before you stop testing. It's not unusual for numbers to bobble around a little as the HC food wears off. Heart's numbers could have easily dropped back down into the 40s last night.
 
Re: 7/14 Heart AMPS 146 - decreased dose

Yeah, he's playful again which is nice! Yesterday he was going bonkers chasing a stuffed mouse. First time in a loooong time.
 
Re: 7/14 Heart AMPS 146 - decreased dose

I love love love to hear how kitties become playful again!

Oh, I just watched Heart's Begging video, how funny is that and so cute! "Please, please, please... give me gravy food mommy"... I can hear him now. :lol:

Does he catch treats if you toss them to him? He looks like he could catch them mid-air with those paws. My mother had a kitty that would catch treats with his paws and it looked so much like what Heart is doing.
 
Re: 7/14 Heart AMPS 146 - decreased dose

I never tried tossing treats, but I've now (only took two days) trained him to do that thing with his paws when I say "Say please!" He was super easy to train to do that on command.

The sad thing is that it took his parents a year to figure what that paw thing means, because he'd do it everywhere, not just in the kitchen. He used to mainly do it lying on a table with his paws hanging over the edge, as if he was swimming. His previous parents never figured it out in five years. They just thought he was weird.
 
Re: 7/14 Heart AMPS 146, +9 56

Oh man, I wish my cats would do that paw thing. That was adorable.
Great numbers!
 
Re: 7/14 Heart AMPS 146, +9 56, PMPS 72

PMPS is 72, and I refuse to give him Tuna. He has to be a good boy and eat his chicken dinner. Gave him a reduced dose (2.5) to match the refusal to eat. I'm waiting until he gets really hungry and gets over his pickyness. When he was still starved skin and bones he'd eat his chicken dinner!
 
Re: 7/14 Heart AMPS 146, +9 56, PMPS 72, +1.5 47

Heart won this round of hunger strike again, and is now getting HC food with gravy due to his +1.5 47
 
Re: 7/14 Heart AMPS 146, +9 56, PMPS 72, +1.5 47, +2 56, +3 50

I'd suggest getting a test at +3.5. It looks like Heart's numbers are bobbling around. You're doing great!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top