7/14/13 Newbie: Izzy and Janet - dose question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Janet and Izzy (GA)

Member Since 2013
Hello All.

As you can see from my signature Izzy is a 17 year old female maine coon. I have had her since she was bout 8-9 months old. About 3 years ago, she was extremely ill, 15 days at the Vet Clinic and diagnosed withe renal disease. Honestly I think we all thought she was going to die. She is allergic to corn, wheat and soy so no veterinary diet was going to work for her so we went along doing our own thing. I fed her Now Grain free, which is one of he lower phosphorus foods, fancy feast pate's, sheba pates, and still try to get her to eat higher quality foods, but she doth protest that :)

The end of June she was again sick. Stubling and barely walking. I got her into the Vet and once the kept her overnight until the bloodwork came back at over 800. She stayed there for 7 days and they started her on 1unit of Lantus 2x a day....and here we are :) I have been following DCIN for a couple years now, donating and such so I had a tiny big of knowledge about diabetes....at least enough to know this didn't have to be a death sentence...hence she got to stay 7 days at the Vet to see if we could get some numbers down and start her on home insulin etc. And obviously I have been lurking around Tanya CRF site for the past 3 years.

I have been posting on the main board and have had LOTS of help from Wendy & Tiggy, Deb & Wink and BJM. My spreadsheet was set up for me (thank you, thank you!) and I have been trying to make her into my kitty pin cushion as often as I can to track her numbers. Her first week home she was down in the blues and greens getting as low as 61. So per the recommendations here we took her to .5 2x per day, but her numbers went up into yellow and pink. The past 2 days we are at .75 per my best guess, and her numbers have yet to come down much,so it was suggested I start posting here.

So here we are :)

She had her post week check up on Friday and except for her numbers, the Vet was extremely pleased at how she was looking. She is moving around more and at least trying to use the litter box, albeit 1/2 of her in and 1/2 on the pee pad lol But she is trying. She had an upper respiratory something fierce and has only been feeling better the past 4 days. She is alert, giving me the stink eye when come by and especially if she hears the glucometer beep lol, but is being a real trooper.

I did order new syringes with the 1/2 marks which arrived yesterday.

Not sure what else to post in my very first message here. :)
 
Re: 7/14/13 Newbie: Izzy and Janet

Welcome to LantusLand, Janet and Izzy! That is an excellent introduction and here is your post in Health if anyone wants more info. Let us know how we can help.
Liz
 
Re: 7/14/13 Newbie: Izzy and Janet

Wendy thought it was time for Izzy and Janet to move over to the Lantus TR forum for more eyes and suggestions on her dosing.
 
Re: 7/14/13 Newbie: Izzy and Janet

Welcome!!

Aww poor Izzy. Hopefully she start feeling more better soon. My cats love the fancy feast pates (thankfully) though one of them did start turning her nose up at the Friskies I was feeding them after diagnosis. I'm just glad they eat cans that aren't going to break me financially too much every week. :)

Those syringes with the half markings will make the .5u and mostly the .25u/.75u dosings so much easier to figure out.

These boards are full of awesome people that love to help. :D
 
Re: 7/14/13 Newbie: Izzy and Janet

Welcome Janet and Izzy - I've been here for a month or so and it's been very helpful! I'm in no condition to give advice as I am still sucking up the knowledge from everyone else, but I wanted to say hi! We'll be keeping an eye on Izzy's ss and stop in every now and then! Good luck!! :-D
 
Re: 7/14/13 Newbie: Izzy and Janet

Thanks everyone. I just did her +6 for today and her numbers went up? amps 351, +3 286 and her +6 was 362. How does eating effect the numbers? She is a snaker. She has some boiled chicken breast before I too her her +6...would that make it higher? She doesn't seem to do anything like the typical lantus curve that I keep referring back to ?
 
Re: 7/14/13 Newbie: Izzy and Janet

Welcome to Lantus Land!!

It sounds like you have been doing an incredible job juggling Izzy's CRF and now her diabetes. Please let us know how we can lend a hand.
 
Re: 7/14/13 Newbie: Izzy and Janet

Welcome to LantusLand! You are off to a great start...what a lucky kitty Izzy is! Please ask as many questions as you need...we are one big family here, and everyone is very generous with their time, knowledge, and support.
 
Re: 7/14/13 Newbie: Izzy and Janet

I have a question about tonights insulin. Tonight with be the 5th shot at .75. If the numbers don't go down, do I up her to 1 unit Monday morning or wait.

Also, since I screwed up this morning and shot her at 7:45 am (which was 12 hours from the last shot) instead of 7:15 am (to get her back on my 6:15-am/pm schedule Monday through Friday).....Can I shoot her at 7 tonight and move her to 6:15 tomorrow morning? or is that too much spacing?
 
Re: 7/14/13 Newbie: Izzy and Janet

Hello and welcome!
I don't have dosing advice ~ you'll want to change your first post's heading to show that you have a question (click on the "?" button and add "dose question" to your subject line); that way, you'll get a response faster :-D .

Izzy is a cutie pie!
 
Welcome Janet and Izzy!! No advice from me, just wanted to stop by and say Hi :-D
You're in great hands here! The people are so friendly and knowledgeable and willing to help.
You have done a great job with Izzy so far and I hope she will get feeling better real soon :thumbup And she is beautiful cat_pet_icon
And remember there are no stupid questions, trust me :lol: :lol:
Have a great night ;-)
 
Welcome to lantus land. I will let the more experienced members comment but usually we hold the dose 6 cycles before making a change (unless tha cat drops under 50) to allow the depot to fill up. So you wouldn't be changing till tomorrow night at the earliest.

Here's the protocol..
Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.
.
 
Have you ever given a shot and then wondered...did I actually give a shot? GAH!

I used the new needles tonight and they feel different. So now I am wondering if I actually stuck her and got the insulin "in" her....or if I didn't actually go in and it's stuck in all the fluffy fur!

Crap!

I hate it when I have to use a slightly different part of her than between her shoulders...but I have to give her sub qs tonight and I know I can't give the shot in the same area :(
 
damn...so many little things. I did not touch the spot and lord knows I will never find it now lol I guess I need to add that to my "to do" list. squirt out extra insulin on my finger so I can smell it...I have no idea what it smells like.
 
It's really strong and unmistakable. Sometimes you may get a little on the outside of the syringe and will smell that from the fur too.
 
These are all the little tips your vet would never think about telling you.

Don't worry, it will become routine soon.
 
Someone described insulin as smelling like a bandaid. Could you trim a little fur where Izzy gets her shot? You are doing a super job, Janet, so don't worry about this possible fur shot. It happens and Izzy will recover.
Liz
 
Welcome Janet & Izzy,

Izzy is a beautiful kitty!!

You are in the right place - lots of experienced Lantus people to answer your questions, and guide you and Izzy :-D

Again, welcome!
 
Hi Janet and Izzy!

Welcome to Lantus Land. Izzy is quite lovely :-D

I think she really liked the 1u dose but I'm sure that was quite scary for you when she was that low that early in her sugar dance.

Normally, I would suggest you give her one more cycle after tonight and if she doesn't see better numbers, increase the dose by .25u per the protocol. However, if you think you gave a fur shot, the cycle count starts over. This post on Counting Cycles explains fur shots, skipped shots, etc.

If it turns out you did get insulin in her tonight and you are able to test, it would be good to take her back up to 1u after six cycles and if the numbers stay pink/yellow.

Insulin smells very strongly like bandaids. If I think I gave a fur shot, I just hold her up and sniff where I shot.

Please let us know if you have questions!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top