7/13Huey AMPS133 +3.5 52 +5 223 +7 253 +11.5 51 PMBG63 +3 57

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nancy & Huey

Member Since 2014
Oh boy, gave him his 0.1u this morning and he's grazing that 50 again. Took two readings just be sure, came out to be 51 and 53. I'm about to take him to a new vet for a "second opinion" so no time to see if he's on the rise or still falling, but no symptoms and he just had a snack of his morning leftovers. I sure wish I remembered to print out Huey's spreadsheet at work on Friday, it's gonna be interesting trying to get the vet to look at it on my phone... Wish me luck that this vet is more confidence inspiring than the first one!

Previously: 7/12/14
 
Re: 7/13 Huey AMPS 133, +3.5 52

So I was gonna do a longer post about everything from the new vet but right now, I'm trying to figure what to do about his evening shot. Is there anything special I need to know about handling the spike from going to the vet this afternoon? Especially since it has dropped quite low now... Is this still a standard stall-and-shoot?


**Long story short, much more with it on diabetes management but some quibbles with his dosing, he also raised the prospect of other conditions for some of Huey's symptoms.
 
Re: 7/13 Huey AMPS 133, +3.5 52, +5 223 (vet), +7 253, PMPS

Try a bit of a stall to see where he's going. Often kitties will spike at the vet and Huey may have a sputtering pancreas that took care of that stress.
 
Re: 7/13 Huey AMPS133 +3.5 52 +5 223(vet) +7 253 +11.5 51 PM

PMPS 63 on retest, also I forgot that this morning's shot took so long, that 51 was technically an +11.5. Shoot? Give him just a drop? I guess also I'm nervous because he's just been a little out of it all afternoon, recuperating from the vet, I expect.
 
Re: 7/13 Huey AMPS133 +3.5 52 +5 223(vet) +7 253 +11.5 51 PM

Good that he's rising. Do you think he'll want to eat tonight? If after putting down the food, he doesn't eat with his usual enthusiasm, then doing just a drop would be a good idea. If you are really worried, you can always skip tonight. It's not ideal, but if he's feeling off you don't want to have to be syringe feeding to get him to eat.
 
Re: 7/13 Huey AMPS133 +3.5 52 +5 223(vet) +7 253 +11.5 51 PM

I put his food down and he ate a bit but not much. Also he just hasn't seemed too keen on the Evo that I've been giving him the last few days, even when its mixed with some fancy feast or the other. I think I'm going to skip tonight's shot, especially since it's already an hour past, and I can't stay up worrying til 3am tonight. Thank you so much, Wendy, for walking me through the decision!
 
Re: 7/13Huey AMPS133 +3.5 52 +5 223 +7 253 +11.5 51 PMPS63 +

Good call if he's not eating. When you don't shoot, we call it a PMBG (blood glucose). That's how people can tell that you took the BG test but didn't give the shot. Paws crossed Huey is feeling much better tomorrow.

Huey is sure a great advertisement for home blood testing. You wouldn't want to make dosing decisions based on how he tested at the vet today. :shock:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top