7/13 Templeton AMPS 506 +1 450, +5 303 Stuff in his pee, help!

NOT AGAIN. We just got back to normal Leukocyte levels man. We just had a C&S done at the tune of $385 because I didn't want to keep throwing Clavamox into him. Came back negative for UTI. That was two weeks ago and his LK levels just went back to normal a few days ago.
 
On 6/26 I took him in because his belly had been distended for about 2 weeks (thought it was just bc he was gaining weight fast- ~1 oz a day), leukocytes still high after his Clavamox course in early May, and he also still didn't have solid poo since starting the Clavamox.
Vet said belly swelling was borderline worrisome, did cysto for the c&s sample, and did ultrasound to look for fluid.
No fluid found, culture came back negative.
Diarrhea stopped 7/4, leukocytes went back to normal on 7/6, and belly is less distended.
 
Hi! A comment on UTIs...cats often get recurring UTIs when they are not eradicated the first time (it's the same infection coming back). The infection recurs then several weeks to a couple months later, even.

You need to get on antibiotics that the C/S has indicated are effective and STAY ON THEM for at least 6-8 weeks with no break. Sounds like a long time, it is. UTIs require that kind of intensity. I would also not suggest Clavamox. It's often not strong enough to deal with a urinary tract infection. Baytril, Zeniquin, and Veraflox (my favorite) are excellent choices. They also have less likely GI upset as side effect, and they are known to be very thorough with eradicating urinary and kidney infections.

After you get off those antibiotics (after 6-8 weeks minimum), you wait 10 days then do another urinalysis (vet can look under microscope manually) to make sure the urine is cleared. Does this help? We've had a lot of UTIs in this house!

If it's idiopathic cystits, this is a moot point what I Just wrote - but I Hope it's useful information for you to have if you ever do have a UTI and need it! If it's idiopathic cystitis and you need Prednisolone, never fear there is still hope to become regulated with the FD and Pred. My rule of thumb has been to always give the Pred, b/c you can always increase insulin dose as needed.
 
I would not use prednisolone unless absolutely necessary. I’ve never dealt with fluted but Max did block at around 5 and a temporary switch to RX food followed by an all canned diet worked. My vet would not give an antibiotic for more than 10 days. I’ve read that if a kidney infection a longer run if the antibiotics is often necessary. Good luck figuring this out.
 
D-mannose 4 times a day for 3 days cleared up Ravan's UTI. Safe, natural & no side effects! Might be worth a try?

Benefits of D-Mannose in Cats
D-Mannose does not only adhere to bacteria, but also to harmful substances and kidney or bladder stones. This way, the lining of the bladder and of the urethra is cleared up and the infection is treated.

https://www.vetinfo.com/d-mannose-for-cats.html
 
Last edited:
Hi! A comment on UTIs...cats often get recurring UTIs when they are not eradicated the first time (it's the same infection coming back). The infection recurs then several weeks to a couple months later, even.

You need to get on antibiotics that the C/S has indicated are effective and STAY ON THEM for at least 6-8 weeks with no break. Sounds like a long time, it is. UTIs require that kind of intensity. I would also not suggest Clavamox. It's often not strong enough to deal with a urinary tract infection. Baytril, Zeniquin, and Veraflox (my favorite) are excellent choices. They also have less likely GI upset as side effect, and they are known to be very thorough with eradicating urinary and kidney infections.

After you get off those antibiotics (after 6-8 weeks minimum), you wait 10 days then do another urinalysis (vet can look under microscope manually) to make sure the urine is cleared. Does this help? We've had a lot of UTIs in this house!

If it's idiopathic cystits, this is a moot point what I Just wrote - but I Hope it's useful information for you to have if you ever do have a UTI and need it! If it's idiopathic cystitis and you need Prednisolone, never fear there is still hope to become regulated with the FD and Pred. My rule of thumb has been to always give the Pred, b/c you can always increase insulin dose as needed.

Thank you so much! This is the information I needed. 6-8 weeks is sure longer than the 7 days of Clavamox. That stuff is evil, he lost a whole pound on it last time, all of his hard earned weight gain.
Any idea why the culture came back negative after taking him in at the end of June? Maybe there wasn't enough of the bacteria to show up at that time? What is it measured in, parts per million? I should ask my husband, he's a chemist.

Thanks again, hopefully not IC, and Pred won't be needed, but we shall see.
 
D-mannose 4 times a day for 3 days cleared up Ravan's UTI. Safe, natural & no side effects! Might be worth a try?

Benefits of D-Mannose in Cats
D-Mannose does not only adhere to bacteria, but also to harmful substances and kidney or bladder stones. This way, the lining of the bladder and of the urethra is cleared up and the infection is treated.

https://www.vetinfo.com/d-mannose-for-cats.html
I swore we had some, but I think lost in the move, ordered more!
 
If it's idiopathic cystitis and you need Prednisolone, never fear there is still hope to become regulated with the FD and Pred. My rule of thumb has been to always give the Pred, b/c you can always increase insulin dose as needed.
I have never seen Prednisolone recommended for IC The most effective treatment is to address the stressors that trigger the IC.
I think if you are going to give weeks of an antibiotic, you need to first establish by a C&S that there is an infection and the antibiotic that will treat it effectively.
I thought Sheba was getting repeated UTI but it was in fact IC and once I started to address that, I got results.
https://veterinarypartner.vin.com/default.aspx?pid=19239&id=4951488
 
Back
Top