7/13 Skooter PMPS 299 +2 296 +4 226 +5.5 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

MollynSkooter

Member Since 2014
The Condo o Yesterday:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=121654

Skooter's +10 was 292 with AMPS of 342.

I will be putting out his frozen food at 730 as that is when I would normally be leaving for work (I may have to leave a little earlier tomorrow with the new person starting) and I want to see one 1. how long it takes to unfreeze 2. if he will eat it once it thaws and 3. if he will try to eat it before it unfreezes...

He is hoping for some wonderful blue today!!

Skooter's bean, Molly
 
Re: 7/13 Skooter AMPS 342 +2 295

I shall take that slide into lellow, yes I will!

The frozen food seems to be "a hit" as well....It seems like an awful lot of food, but I only did 1/3 of the can...it is almost completely thawed and he has taken a few bites...we shall see what the rest of the morning brings....

Unless something feels otherwise, I was thinking of a reading at +5?
 
Re: 7/13 Skooter AMPS 342 +2 295

I'd probably get a +4 just because he dropped at +2, but if you want to go out, a +5 will probably be fine too..he's still got aways to go

Sounds like you might need to add a little more water to your next batch of foodcicles...get them good and hard so they don't thaw quite so quickly

Did he try to eat it when it was frozen? Or did it sit for awhile until it started to thaw and then he became interested?

Looks like another decent cycle today!
 
Re: 7/13 Skooter AMPS 342 +2 295

I am meeting my sister for brunch, she feels bad that I didn't get to do my 5K. I will test him at +3 and see how he is doing. I should be home in time to do a +5.

I actually thought I had TOO much water in there last night when I was making them, so I dumped some out lol I will make them with more water tonight. I fell asleep from 730 to 830 so I am not sure if he tired to eat it while frozen, doesn't look like it. He has ate a little of it, but I am guessing he is still full from breakfast.

I sure am hoping for a nice slide into the blues today.....or whatever needs to happen so his cycle tomorrow morning doesn't start out scaring me lol as I won't be able to swing home during the day.
 
Re: 7/13 Skooter AMPS 342 +2 295 +3 269

So far I am enjoying this cycle....I feel comfy leaving him until +5 to have brunch with my sister and run an errand or two

He is not starting to snack on his foodcisle, so yay!!! I might be able to hold off on getting an autofeeder for a little bit longer if he will eat this...I will see how he does in the next couple of days with it and see how it goes.
 
Re: 7/13 Skooter AMPS 342 +2 295 +3 269

I think the "recipe" I see most is 1/2 food + 1/2 water....so if you use a 3oz can of food, you'd add a can full of water, mix well and freeze (they also may have just not had enough time in the freezer to get real hard)
 
Re: 7/13 Skooter AMPS 342 +2 295 +3 269 +5 226 +8 257

I am greedy!!! I have tasted the land of the blue and would MUCH rather be surfing blue waves then sunshiney yellow....

HOWEVER,

Considering how much he has enjoyed spending in pink, red and black....I am taking and enjoying the yellow....
 
Re: 7/13 Skooter AMPS 342 +2 295 +3 269 +5 226 +8 257

Remember...a lot of times, those flat yellow cycles are followed by something a little more "exciting" shall we call it :lol:

Hope you had a nice time out with your sister!
 
Re: 7/13 Skooter AMPS 342 +2 295 +3 269 +5 226 +8 257

Ugh....I forgot that part of it :/

Oh well, we do what we have to! About to have a very nummy dinner of pizza rolls and then time to get some cleaning and laundry done...

Let's hope I can at least get to work at a decent time seeing as I start training a new employee at 8:00 a.m. lol

Thinking after dinner I shall run to the gym real quick as my shower is broken lol...best to go BEFORE the "fun" of Skooter's possible PM fun begins
 
Re: 7/13 Skooter PMPS 299

AMPS 342
+2 295
+3 269
+5 226
+8 257
+10 293

PMPS 299

So, with a cycle like this, and while the trusty crystal ball is broken....I am gonna go and call it.....its gonna be a loooooooooooong a@% night for this mommabean.....So I am guessing when people talk about a "PJ party" it means it is going to be not a lot of sleep and lots of testing? If so, I mind as well put my Sesame Street PJ bottoms and a tank top on now and settle in....

Hrmmmmm, since I have gone through NCIS Seasons 1 and 2.....I think tonight will be a Nicholas Sparks movie marathon.....Perhaps I will start with the first one made into a movie and watch them in that order....I think I have a box of microwave popcorn as well if anyone cares to join in the fun....

However, I am not worried, I gots the power, I know how to get his numbers up if need be....I am just not sure at what point to get concerned....I am guessing if he slides too much too quickly??? I guess when in doubt, if no one is around, I can give him a bit of HC food to put my mind at ease....


****Putting my game face on and getting ready to go!!!!****
 
Re: 7/13 Skooter PMPS 299 +2 296

I am thinking of getting a +4 and if that number is still a decent number (not moving too fast) I will head to the gym quick....

Here is my concern....if he has two flat cycles in a row, does that up his chance of having an active cycle tomorrow (of course the ONE day this week I for sure will not be able to come home and test him midday).....I know it is frowned upon, but would I be ok in either reducing or skipping his dose tomorrow morning as I cannot get home to test him? I will be leaving out a foodcisle for him which he did eat later in the day today.

I just worry about him doing crazy things tomorrow when I am not here to check on him....he will get his IBD med in the morning, which should also help some, but I want to be prepared for tomorrow in case there is no one around in the am. I would feel better about shooting a full dose or a reduced dose if I knew for a fact I was coming home to check on him, but since my lunch tomorrow is booked for a "meet and greet" with new employees, I will for sure not be home. I know this could risk screwing up his next few cycles, but I am wondering if it is safer to do that than run the risk of him going hypo when I am not home.

Thanks in advance everyone!
 
Re: 7/13 Skooter PMPS 299 +2 296

Those of us on the west coast or with kitties named China that like to scrape the 50's at night will be up for a while yet. :-D

Bring it on Skooter - let's see those blues again. If he comes rushing down, you can always give him a small snack of wet food to slow him down. But with that +2 it looks like a normal Lantus cycle. Maybe a +4 next? We usually save the HC for below 50, or if they are getting there and we need to go out/sleep/can't monitor.
 
Re: 7/13 Skooter PMPS 299 +2 296

+4 sounds good....

I am gonna run out for like an hour then and then settle in for the night....

Do I have to wait a bit longer to see what he is gonna be like before trying to prepare for tomorrow?
 
Re: 7/13 Skooter PMPS 299 +2 296

Also, I am working a 4th meal in for him (trying to do four smaller meals a day), so he is still good to get that around +3, right?
 
Re: 7/13 Skooter PMPS 299 +2 296

For now, a +3 meal is good. Some people have kitties who like to drop a lot early in the cycle. For them, meals at +1 or +2 are better.

Do I have to wait a bit longer to see what he is gonna be like before trying to prepare for tomorrow?
Not sure what you mean by that. Feel free to head out now. Skooter is high enough and not looking like a diving cycle.
 
Re: 7/13 Skooter PMPS 299 +2 296

If this cycle is flat, that will be TWO flat cycles in a row. My fear is then he would have an active cycle tomorrow, which of course due to the new person starting, is the only day this week I know for a fact I will not be able to come home to test him.

I know it is not the best option, but am I ok then not shooting at AMPS tomorrow or is it going to depend on what his numbers look like? I probably will be home to feed him around +4, so I will test him at +4 and then give him his next mini meal.
 
Re: 7/13 Skooter PMPS 299 +2 296

Let's see how tonight's cycle goes before deciding on tomorrow. Two flat cycles in a row can also mean too low a dose.
 
Re: 7/13 Skooter PMPS 299 +2 296

That was my other thought. If I do need to do an increase, I would prefer to do it on the PM cycle where I can keep a closer eye on him...in the AM cycle I get the pre-shot and a +1 then a +5 to +7, if I can get home from work, then I can test to my heart's desire!

I am calling the vet tomorrow and asking her to call in an Rx for the .5 marked syringes (not sure if they come in .25 marked syringes), so if I do need to increase or decrease his dose, it will be easier to eyeball it.

I am off and will be back for a +4!
 
Re: 7/13 Skooter PMPS 299 +2 296

They don't come in .25 unit markings....1/2 unit are as close as you can get

Hope you enjoyed your shower!
 
Re: 7/13 Skooter PMPS 299 +2 296 +4 226

I did, Chris, thanks!

I have got to get that shower fixed....one thing I miss about renting....all of that kind of stuff was covered :/

Oh well....eventually, that, along with everything else in this house that needs to get fixed, will lolol

I will have to check out the digital calipers, thanks for the suggestion!

Tomorrow a.m. will be Skooter's 6th cycle on 2 units.....so if he is still in the 200 range AMPS, would it be appropriate to increase his dose for his PM shot (as I don't want to do a dose change when I am not available to watch and monitor him) and if so, what would I go up to?
 
Re: 7/13 Skooter PMPS 299 +2 296 +4 226

We dose based on the nadir, not the preshot number. Skooter has been getting nadirs in the blue, but he could still be bouncing from those low blues that he got on the night of the 11th. Bounces can take 6 cycles to clear, tonight is only the 4th cycle after those numbers so I'd hold the dose a bit yet. From the protocol:
Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
So, if you do go up it would be by .25U but this is only the 5th cycle on this dose. I'd wait until at least the 8th cycle before increasing. When you think it might be time for an increase, change your first post to add something like "dose advice?" and that will bring more eyes.

Looks like Skooter is letting you get to bed at a decent time tonight. :-D
 
Re: 7/13 Skooter PMPS 299 +2 296 +4 226

Molly

Unless you magically see a very low blue or a green number, I'd increase his dose to 2.25u tomorrow night or Tuesday morning.
 
Thanks everyone....had some stuff to do for work, but I should still be able to get about 5 1/2 hours a solid sleep....which is more than I have really gotten since Friday night, so hopefully it will feel like 8 hours lol

I am hoping to get the new syringes tomorrow and saving the other ones for emergencies only.....I think the 1/2 markings will be a lot easier to use....

Sweet dreams to one and all in LL!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top