7/13 Simpkin AMPS 388 - Day 1 Dose Help Please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patricia&Brownie

Member Since 2010
Well, I cannot believe that I am starting this new condo for my other old guy, almost 20-year-old Simpkin. Three months ago, his bg at the vet was 124. He hasn't been eating well for the past 2 days and has looked "off", so I took him in to the vet today, expecting a high BUN or something else. I NEVER expected a diagnosis of diabetes! He has been eating low-carb FF for the past 3 years, but I was giving him 1/2 can of HC about 2/week as a treat. That stops today... I feel like I know exactly what to do, but I also feel like I'm starting from zero and know nothing! The memory of all those sleepless nights while I was trying to get Brownie regulated is coming back to me now... I'm going to go back and read all the old sticky's, etc. My vet wants me to start him on 1.0u Lantus tonight, but something tells me I should be starting him at either 0.25 or 0.50. I don't have a spreadsheet for him yet - guess I'll get busy! As for Mr. Brownie, he is doing well. His pancreatitis is much better and he is now weaned off his Buprenex and looking alot more alert. He is eating well, but still quite unregulated. He is on 0.75u and his day goes like this: AMPS 450, +3 350, PMPS 300, +4 250. The next day looks the same. I've tried everything I know, but just cannot get him regulated. I took him to the vet today also to have him look at his teeth. He thought they looked good and did not prescribe any clindamycin... We're taking it day by day with him...
 
Re: 7/13 Simpkin AMPS 388 (Brownie's brother!)

Hi Patricia!

I know how you feel about the re-learning. Jesse was OTJ for quite awhile and now we're back.

Starting at 1 unit sounds about right. The calculation is .25u per kilogram (1 lb = 2.2 kg). The one thing to remember is to hold the starting dose 5-7 days to allow the shed to fill.

Wow, 20 years - how wonderful :-D
 
Re: 7/13 Simpkin AMPS 388 (Brownie's brother!)

Oh-for-cryin-out-loud. . .no rest for the weary!
Hello Patricia!
Welcome to LL Simpkin!
I'm not a dosing expert - and I've been out of the loop a while as well. I can understand you wanting to be cautious with the insulin - I think with a 20 yr old cat that had a BG of 124 just 3 months ago I would feel the same way. Maybe apend your initial post title with "dose help please" for some input from dose advisors?

Glad to hear Brownie is feeling better!
 
Re: 7/13 Simpkin AMPS 388 (Brownie's brother!)

Hi Patricia! My goodness, you sure have your hands full.

I agree with you and I probably would want to start conservatively with Simpkin due to his age and move up quickly as needed. Is the 388 a number taken while at the vet's office? If so, maybe it would actually be slightly lower if he was at home.

When BigMac came out of remission after 2.5 years of OTJ, his number was around 300+ at the vet and I started his dose at 0.50u. I did have to increase the dose as soon as protocol allowed since that amount did nothing for him... but I wanted to be careful at first. (Then again.... I was using Levemir and the "mean median maximum dose in cats on detemir is about 30% less than for glargine.")Univ Queensland Protocol

Best of luck on whatever you decide!
 
Thanks for the welcome, all!! Yes, I need some help with dosing - I'm not looking forward to bg testing - Brownie is so easy, but Simpkin is another story alltogether! I'll get a PMPS in about 30 minutes and then it's go time! I need to decide if I should start with 0.5 or 1u. Simpkin is about 15 pounds (he was 13 last year, but he's gained 2 pounds since then - don't know why...). Perhaps if he loses the weight, that would be enough to get his FD under control... But, until then, I think he needs some juice. Any dosing help would be appreciated...
 
I'm lining up behind CD. At least with humans, and from what I've seen with the kitties here, age effects metabolism. Almost all medications are started at smaller doses with kids and with the elderly. Simpkin is not a spring chicken. IMHO, I'd err on the side of being conservative and go with the 0.5u.
 
Re: 7/13 Simpkin PMPS 310 - Day 1 Dose Help Please

I just tested Simpkin and he was rather nice (that was a surprise!). Guess he doesn't feel so hot right now... I think I'll go with 0.75u - the vet suggested 1u, but several of you suggested 0.5. He is rather large at 15 pounds, but he is rather old as well. If one more person suggests 0.5, I'll decrease it in the am and keep it there for 7 days... How's that? I'll be keeping track of him VERRA carefully and he adores HC so I think we'll be in good shape. Thanks for the advice. It is greatly appreciated. :smile:
 
Hi Patricia, Welcome to Simpkin! I'm not a dosing expert, but I think that it is easier on the kitty to increase gradually and work up to the ideal dose rather than starting at what might be too high and having to reduce (but these are small doses, so perhaps it wouldn't be an issue).
Good luck. 20 years! That's really something!!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 7/13 Simpkin PMPS 310 +3 222

Well, it looks like the juice is working - perhaps a little too well for the first dose... I don't know if this is normal for a first dose - if not, perhaps I should have started at 0.5 instead of at 0.75? Any other veteran dosers, please weigh in - thanks! And ni-ni, LL! Check you out in the am.
 
Hi Patricia....it is good to see you here but I wish you were just visiting. :sad:

I have noticed that some cats can have a reaction like this to the first dose. It is a pretty good drop so I would get a +2 and maybe give a tsp or two of low carb.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top