7/13: Nova--amps 117-whining a bit to get it off my chest

LindyNova

Member Since 2019
Nice # to start the work week.

I have been exhausted, frustrated, and a bit depressed not only about her bouncy #s, but life in general. Wondering if I test enough, and whether or not my near obsession with this disease is putting a strain on my home & social life. (it is) I guess we all go thru this at some point. Going this alone, with no help or moral support (except for on this board) really sucks. Just once, I'd like to do something for a whole day/weekend (Girls' weekend away calls!) without the worry of her going too low, keeping a schedule for shots, and testing as much as I can....wondering if I need to back to SLGS or what. Not knowing when to increase or decrease is another thing.....increases bring lows & bounces, decreases bring higher #s. Sometime it's just too much.

For the record....I am not giving up and I really do rely on whether or not she is doing well...she is....I hope & pray I see....one day....that she doesn't sky rocket when she eats.....that will give me more hope.

Whine over, thanks for listening. :bighug:

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-10-nova-amps-300-5-5-141-pmps-54.232125/
 
I wish I could help. It sounds like you need a good pet sitter. I know I could use one, and I pet sit myself. My lady and co worker has retired and I've almost given up ever leaving home for a trip. I have a dog and six cats, including one with special and frequent needs.

It would not be cruel at all if you need to leave Nova at the vet clinic for 2 to 3 days of boarding either. I'm sure Nova loves you and wants you healthy. As much as you give her, she could allow you a break!!! Mental health is vital, along with uninterrupted sleep and time with friends.
Big hugs Linda.
 
Linda, we've all been in that spot, sometimes more than once. When you really need a break if only for a evening out or good night's sleep, I'm sure someone here will have suggestions. It might take some planning.
 
You're doing so well and you test enough! Nova's numbers have improved so much since you started.:)

I know what you mean for the social life and that feeling of "no freedom".... how many times did I say NO to an outing or if I went, I kept staring at my watch to make sure I was back home on time for his shot.... All this is not easy but it's important that you take some time for yourself: start with an afternoon off or go out for the evening: you test before you go, leave some food and test when you're back.

We're all in the same boat so we understand how you feel !!! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
You definitely test enough and do a great job taking care of Nova. Sometimes we all get frustrated. Just take some time for yourself when Nova bounces. She'll be okay if you ease off testing sometimes.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Linda,
I know what would help me, and probably you. Go ahead and put something on your calendar - book something for yourself, giving enough advance time to put a good plan in place for Ms. Nova
Could be anything from dinner to an overnight to a whole weekend. Maybe start small, and see good results, then go for a bit longer!?
 
Nice # to start the work week.

I have been exhausted, frustrated, and a bit depressed not only about her bouncy #s, but life in general. Wondering if I test enough, and whether or not my near obsession with this disease is putting a strain on my home & social life. (it is) I guess we all go thru this at some point. Going this alone, with no help or moral support (except for on this board) really sucks. Just once, I'd like to do something for a whole day/weekend (Girls' weekend away calls!) without the worry of her going too low, keeping a schedule for shots, and testing as much as I can....wondering if I need to back to SLGS or what. Not knowing when to increase or decrease is another thing.....increases bring lows & bounces, decreases bring higher #s. Sometime it's just too much.

For the record....I am not giving up and I really do rely on whether or not she is doing well...she is....I hope & pray I see....one day....that she doesn't sky rocket when she eats.....that will give me more hope.

Whine over, thanks for listening. :bighug:

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-10-nova-amps-300-5-5-141-pmps-54.232125/
Oh my gosh, I could've written this! I can't offer advice because I am in the exact same mind space, but I can offer a hand to walk though this with you.
 
You're doing so well and you test enough! Nova's numbers have improved so much since you started.:)

I know what you mean for the social life and that feeling of "no freedom".... how many times did I say NO to an outing or if I went, I kept staring at my watch to make sure I was back home on time for his shot.... All this is not easy but it's important that you take some time for yourself: start with an afternoon off or go out for the evening: you test before you go, leave some food and test when you're back.

We're all in the same boat so we understand how you feel !!! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

How you doing? How is Uncle?
 
Thank you all so much for your replies. :kiss: It sure does help to have others chime in on the same feelings. I will figure something out......maybe when my other son gets home from his raft guiding trips (he is now in the grand canyon) He was the only one to shoot her besides me (Nova loves him too--not my eldest tho--big growly hissy hate there). AND...I DO have a garden and yard that need some yanking, pulling and trimming/thinning, so I can take out some frustration there. :) :bighug:
 
How you doing? How is Uncle?
Thanks for asking !!:bighug: Uncle is doing good but of course always very demanding....
Me? close to where you were when you posted a little while ago with your suitcase... but unfortunately I'm not good at gardening... !! So, still looking for something that will bring life again into my life. Not posting since a little while, nothing very interesting to share.
I follow sweet little Ollie who keeps greens in those 4u; what a great improvement! :D Hope everything is ok for you!
 
I feel the same way sometimes! Everything I do is catered around insulin times and being able to do BG checks especially when Kitten surfs.This forum has been great for support and understanding. :bighug:

Definitely get to that garden and start yanking those weeds! Nova will be happy for you to take care of yourself too :D
 
Back
Top