7.13 Lucy Amps=291 Vomiting issues...

Status
Not open for further replies.

LucyCat

Member Since 2013
Threw up for the second night in a row a couple hours after her PM shot...trying to figure out why. She acts fine all day, has a very healthy appetite and then come 9pm she is vomiting a lot. It's like liquid too. (Pink/Brownish and stinky!) And projectile!

Any ideas?
 
Are you feeding a new food? Anything different in the house, or with the routine? Is she scarfing the food? I don't really have any advice, just wanted to offer something to consider. Sending support and tummy vines for Lucy.
 
The only vomiting issues that I've seen here are mainly furballs, and when Blackie vomits it's usually white froth, which is typically acid. I would suggest that if Lucy continues this, get her to the vet to have her checked out. Pinkish doesn't sound good.
 
The first time...3 nights ago...it was a huge hairball followed by some vomit...but last night it was just straight up liquified food. I think the color comes from the food...it's not pink as in blood but more pink/brown from her food.

No new foods or routines...she threw up while we were moving the furniture around in our living room...I don't know if she gets so nervous that she throws up?? Strange...but will see if she does it again tonight then I will for sure be calling the vet.

Back in the pink today...with 3 days of pinks do you think I should consider upping the dose to 2.5 units? I tried to review the protocol about this but Lucy is so all over the place that I don't really know...
 
I know this is frustrating but Lucy is bouncing. You are seeing pinks but you're also seeing some blues. When Lucy drops into the blues, she then bounces. Once she clears the bounce, then you might want to consider increasing.

Regarding the vomiting, by any chance are you feeding either beef or fish at the times Lucy has vomited? Gabby doesn't do well with beef and will throw up if I feed it. Beef and fish are common food allergies for cats.
 
Lucy had never had beef...i never buy that bc I think about cats in the wild and they would never eat beef! She has had fish food forever...I believe what she was eating the past two nights was actully the Turkey and Giblets Friskies Pate...i'm going to switch up her treats and stop giving her tuna
 
It might also be a gluten issue. I don't believe the Friskies is gluten-free. I've learned to read ingredients carefully. For example, there are some Fancy Feast Classics that although they are labeled as either chicken or turkey, they contain fish. You may need to go with a type/brand that Lucy is tolerating for a couple of days and then add something new to see if it's a problem.
 
Maybe...it's just weird that it all of a sudden started happening because she has eaten Friskies for a few years now...I did used to buy the Shreds kind though...so maybe there is something in the pate she isn't liking...I gave her the liver kind today so we'll see...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top