7/13 Julia +10/230 PMPS 263

Status
Not open for further replies.
Last Condo

Good morning and Happy Caturday! Hopefully all of the kitties can surf the greens today! Julia has been hanging in there as have we. She still runs from us when we come to test sometimes but other times she sleeps right through it. Since we skipped a shot a few days ago we had to restart the cycle at 0.75. This morning was the 8th shot at this dose after the reset. I'm still too new at this to determine if we should increase to 1.00 or hold for another day or two since the protocol says to hold for 6-10 consecutive cycles before increasing. Any help is appreciated.

We're going to give the vet a call this coming week, too, because this peeing around the house thing is out of control so, we'll inquire about Prozac. She peed 2 night's in a row on one couch (luckily it's an old couch we have just for her) and then last night after using her box (miracle!) we left her out over night. My Mom woke up in the middle of the night to the cat peeing on her which is not acceptable. Talk about behavioral peeing lol! :shock: I hate locking her in the bathroom at night (which is huge so she has room) but this is getting ridiculous. We splurged on a new couch last September after about 15 yrs so it was a treat and she's peed on it 3 times already. We're being patient but this has been going on since at least last October and it's really getting old. I don't want to put her on medicine but I don't know what else to do. We've already spent $1000+ at the vet to determine if there was a medical cause and they couldn't find anything. We've also spent money on Feliway but it did nothing. Any other ideas are appreciated.
 
Re: 7/13 Julia AMPS 214 +2.5/146 +4.75/134 Inc. dose?

Any chance of getting a +7 to +9 test in today?

Like to see how fast she is shooting up from her low of the day.

If no improvement in the numbers, it may be time to raise to 1U tomorrow morning.
 
Re: 7/13 Julia AMPS 214 +2.5/146 +4.75/134 Inc. dose?

whoops, sorry mom. :? :roll:
I'm really sorry about the pee issues. Maybe you could try adding another litter box? Ollie does his pee in one box, gets out and goes to the box right next to it for poos. ???? Have you moved her litter box? Is there something that could be upsetting her about where her box is? a/c vent? loud noise? too small? cleaning agent not rinsed out enough for her nose?
i'm sure you've read all these kinds of things, but here's a link to some "from a cats' point of view"ideas
http://www.catbehaviorassociates.co...en-trying-to-solve-a-cats-litter-box-problem/
and then here's a link from Dr. Lisa Pierson http://www.catinfo.org/?link=litterbox
I hope there's something in there that solves the problem. I'm sure you'll gets lots of good ideas from all the beans here.
Come on Sweet Julia.. just ask!
 
Re: 7/13 Julia AMPS 214 +2.5/146 +4.75/134 Inc. dose?

Actually, I think if she does not come down into green today, I'd increase her dose tonight. I agree with Deb it would be good to get a +7 but instead of a +9, I'd go for a +10/+11 if possible.
 
Re: 7/13 Julia AMPS 214 +2.5/146 +4.75/134 Inc. dose?

The only thing I could suggest other than a med for inappropriate elimination is to try adding Cosequin to her diet. In case the peeing is related to sterile cystitis, the glucosamine in Cosequin may help to calm down Julia's bladder. If it's not a bladder issue, the Cosequin can't hurt. It's available in he big box pet stores and online.
 
Re: 7/13 Julia AMPS 214 +2.5/146 +4.75/134 Inc. dose?

Thanks everyone!

Marje and Gracie said:
Actually, I think if she does not come down into green today, I'd increase her dose tonight. I agree with Deb it would be good to get a +7 but instead of a +9, I'd go for a +10/+11 if possible.
I completely missed seeing that I should do a +7 in time to actually do it but I'll definitely put that on the schedule. It's hard to balance the times I need to test for her safety with the times I should test to get data and at the same time not over test, so these suggestions are most appreciated and always welcomed. I did get the +10 (230) and will do a +11 as usual to see if she's rising or falling before her shot. And we'll go ahead and shoot the 1.00.

Sienne and Gabby said:
The only thing I could suggest other than a med for inappropriate elimination is to try adding Cosequin to her diet. In case the peeing is related to sterile cystitis, the glucosamine in Cosequin may help to calm down Julia's bladder. If it's not a bladder issue, the Cosequin can't hurt. It's available in he big box pet stores and online.

Thanks Sienne! We will try to get that tomorrow. For a split second (or two) I even considered diapers lol. :lol:

The good thing is she seems to be associating her tests with food. After her +10 she went and sat by her food dish. She never liked the freeze dried chicken but is chicken in a can okay? Similar to the tuna in a can that is. Costco sells big cans of it and it looks just like the Fancy Feast appetizers. Obviously too much seafood isn't good but I'm hoping the chicken would be okay?

And thank you for the advice Deb and Mary! Her box hasn't moved. However, I'm thinking about adding another box back next to it that we did have for awhile to try and figure this out. Sometimes it worked, sometimes not so much. I'll be taking a look at those links and hopefully something will work. If we didn't love her we wouldn't have put up with it for this long and spent that much money. However, it would be nice to find a solution.
 
Re: 7/13 Julia AMPS 214 +2.5/146 +4.75/134 +10/230 Inc. dose

I would check the ingredients on the canned chicken. Make sure that it's not cooked in vegetable broth -- no onions or garlic as they can be toxic for cats. Likewise, you want to make sure there's no soy.

I think you're good to go with a dose increase. Good luck!
 
Re: 7/13 Julia AMPS 214 +2.5/146 +4.75/134 +10/230 Inc. dose

Sienne and Gabby said:
I would check the ingredients on the canned chicken. Make sure that it's not cooked in vegetable broth -- no onions or garlic as they can be toxic for cats. Likewise, you want to make sure there's no soy.

I think you're good to go with a dose increase. Good luck!

The label says "chicken breast meat, water, seasoning (salt, modified food starch, sodium phosphates, chicken broth and natural flavors." However, I'm not sure what's in that chicken broth and I don't like her having salt either. I'm thinking I'll just stick with the FF appetizers.
 
good luck with the new dose! And with the peeing thing. I have a friend who uses diapers on her cat who is a sprayer. She uses pampers and cuts out a place for his tail. He does fine with it, and he is a purebred wedgie Siamese (read: high-strung). She says the only time he is bad is the couple of minutes when she is actually changing the diaper, then he is fine and goes on with his day. So it's a bit funny-looking, but not as crazy as it sounds. :lol:

For Jazzy, we went through a bunch of things. I can't say that I ever found a permanent solution, but I found some that worked for a while. She had a bad declaw and I think as she got older her feet started to hurt (a couple of the claws were trying to grow back in but were deformed). The paper/pelleted litter worked for a while. It's softer than clay. CatAttract litter works for some cats. Two litter boxes helped for a while, along with putting litter boxes all over the house so she didn't have to go far (sometimes diabetics gotta go NOW!). After a while, though, the only thing that kept her from going everywhere was puppy pads. She got to the point where she wouldn't go in the litter at all, so I got puppy pads (or adult incontinence bed pads are cheaper) and put those into a litter box. That worked and she used that for the rest of her life. It's not great to have to change out pee pads a couple of times a day, but it beats having to throw away a couch.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top