7/13 Hershey 1mo LEV PMPS(144) +5(96) +7(150)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Member Since 2012
7/12 Hershey

**Can't believe I forgot today is our 1-month anniversary on Levemir and 6 months on insulin
:o :oops:

HAPPY FRIDAY!!!!!!!!

You may remember in yesterday's condo - We took Oreo and Hershey to the vet, having phoned to ask about a urinalysis on Hershey. Don't know if one was done at his April, 2010 appointment, but we know one has not been done since then. When we got to the appt, they asked if we had brought a sample. :o They sent us home with a cup, but the tech was NOT confident that we'd be able to obtain said sample because, apparently, Hershey is uncooperative. She said about the only way we'd be able to get one would be to lock him up in the bathroom with food, water and an empty litterbox. Let's just say I DON'T see Hershey using an empty litterbox... :roll: Anyhoo - was folding clothes about 3am and saw him head to the litterbox. When he started doing his business, I lifted his tail (like for a ketone test) and did a catch in the lid of the specimen cup. Done!

I dropped it off today. Was kind of disappointed not to see the tech from yesterday. Just as well. I told you so's aren't very mature. ;-)

So, life is rolling along in the big city. Still don't think I quite understand the protocol exactly. Maybe I'm over-thinking or maybe just have a mental block and need an aha! moment...I don't know...About when to increase - hold 6 - 10 cycles. If 200<nadir<300 raise by .25u. If 300<nadir, raise by .5u. What if his nadirs are all over the board, like some below 200, some greater than 200 but less than 300, and some greater than 300? Do we just give more time until he settles into a majority or increase? Sorry, I'm sure this is a dumb question...

Well, don't want to hang out on the computer too long and lose the momentum I have going today. Will try to come by and visit later -

Have a great day!!

Libby (& Hershey, too!)

AMPS (334) +12 - Shot .75u at 7:00am
+4 (265)
+5 (194) - fed
+7 (149)

PMPS (144) +12 - Shot .75u at 6:55pm
+2 (178)
Almost +4.25 (104)
+5 (96) - fed
+7 (150)
 
Re: 7/13 Hershey AMPS(334) PMPS(144)

PMPS (144) +12 - Shot .75u at 6:55pm

Guess Hershey answered my increasing question...will keep holding...
 
Re: 7/13 Hershey AMPS(334) PMPS(144)

Yup, the old but proven "dosecrease threat" works again. You may have had limited time at the computer, but Hershey has been reading the condo. Go Hershey!
 
Re: 7/13 Hershey AMPS(334) PMPS(144)

Nice pmps Hershey! Keep on comin' down nice and slow!

Good job on catching the pee Libby! Hope the urinalysis comes back ok.
 
Re: 7/13 Hershey AMPS(334) PMPS(144)

Hi Libby

I'd see what he comes down to tonight since it looks like he's clearing a bounce. If he just comes down into high green again but no lower, I'd increase him .25u tomorrow morning if you will be there to monitor. He might need just a tiny bit more insulin to get him there.

The differences in the protocol is often number of cycles held. So if his nadirs are over 300, increase by .5u after six cycles. If his nadirs are 200-300, increase by .25u after six cycles. If his nadirs are less than 200, increase by .25u after 6-10 cycles; generally if they are blue or high green, we'll hold more toward ten cycles. And while a lower number is not mentioned, if they are getting down into 70s regularly on a dose, I'd hold it. But Hershey is not....he's had one cycle of green, as you said. And his other nadirs when bounces have cleared have been blue.

When they are bouncing, you would not consider those numbers in what his nadir might be. You have to look at the nadir when the bounce clears.

Does that help? :-D :-D
 
Re: 7/13 Hershey AMPS(334) PMPS(144)

Make it easy & just ask for dose help --You arent a newbie & have had an FD cat for a long time...You are very devoted to your furbabies, and try so hard to do your best here in LL..I so understand, but you need to relax a little & maybe just give one dose a chance to settle in--I have shot Moonie with a dose for weeks on end & all of a sudden she goes from blue blue blue to green, & stays there confused_cat
IMHO the good dose for Hershey is somewhere between 0.5 & 0.75U, but measuring that would be so hard!!
So we stick with the last best dose, hope that she doesnt get too low of a green number & is able to hold this dose...You are doing a great job, dont give up, & you'll see it will all work one day soon!!
Hugs & love from us!
 
Re: 7/13 Hershey 1mo LEV PMPS(144) +2(178)

paha, Wendy - Hershey ALWAYS reads over his condo! :lol: ...except when I want him to. You should see his indifference when I'm trying to point things out on his SS :lol:

Thanks, Tamara. My daughter was like...is that what I think it is in the refrigerator??? :o :lol:

Hey, Marje - Yes, that makes it a little clearer; thank you. But, Hershey bounces so often that it'd take 15 or so cycles to get 6 - 10 that count. :YMSIGH:

It just occurred to me that today is our 1-month anniversary on Levemir (and 6-month anniversary on insulin). So, I guess I can't be too hard on him about bouncing.

I should be home both cycles tomorrow, but Sunday AM cycle, we'll be gone most of it. I don't know why he seems to like changes made at the end of the week...He knows I'm gone much of the AM cycle on Sundays!

Thanks, Roni - I don't want to rush Hershey, but I don't want to be the reason he doesn't make progress, either. Sometimes when I look at his SS, I think I see opportunities missed for one reason or another...hindsight and all that...And, I just wanted some clarification on the protocol, wasn't sure I was understanding it. Thanks for the vote of confidence and encouragement :-D
 
Re: 7/13 Hershey 1mo LEV PMPS(144) +2(178)

Hi Libby, good for you getting the urine specimen from Hershey! Sorry, I had a laugh just visualizing you lifting Hershey's tail and presto a sample! Yes, they do read their condos when a dose threat is mentioned. Have a good Friday night.
 
Re: 7/13 Hershey 1mo LEV PMPS(144) +2(178)

come on, Hershey, let's try surfing blue/green this cycle, ok? There's no reason to keep rising until +8, surfing would be fine. Surf here for a while, then a nice dip to green (but not too low) later tonight. Please?
 
Re: 7/13 Hershey 1mo LEV PMPS(144) +2(178)

Yes, Ann, Jessica had a laugh, too. Six months ago I would've told you - NO WAY would I be doing such a thing! :lol:

Yes, Libby, a blue, then green surf would be great! :-D
 
Re: 7/13 Hershey 1mo LEV PMPS(144) +2(178)

Doug N Libby said:
Yes, that makes it a little clearer; thank you. But, Hershey bounces so often that it'd take 15 or so cycles to get 6 - 10 that count.

Ok...so I didn't make it clear. You don't have to wait 6-10 cycles for ones that count. Most likely somewhere in those cycles, he'll clear and you can see the nadirs.

For example, before tonight, he had 10 cycles at this dose. You summarized it earlier: one cycle had high green nadirs, four cycles had blue nadirs, the other cycles he was bouncing or clearing a bounce. So....because he's giving you blue and green nadirs, you would look at all your cycles and see that within those 10, he's not coming down too low. So, you could increase after the total of those ten cycles. You don't wait for six to ten cycles with blue/green numbers. I'm sure that is all clear as mud!

BUT....it's looking like he might give you some green closer to his nadir tonight!! So wait and see what he does....you might want to hold this dose longer because he might settle in more and give you more green cycles.
 
Re: 7/13 Hershey 1mo LEV PMPS(144) +5(96)

I see what you're saying, Marje. Was tickled with the +5, wouldn't mind him coming down a little more, though! I may just hold here and evaluate for an increase Sunday night since we'll be gone Sunday am. Maybe he'll decide .75u is tasty! :-D

+5 (96) - fed

He doesn't cry for food like he used to. When he knows we're dishing it out, then he starts begging for it. I don't understand him losing weight, again, though. I tried increasing his food to 9-oz/day and he wouldn't eat it. Went back to 8, worked up to 8.5 and now it's about 9 and he eats it most of the time, although not always all at once. He's uber fluffy, so he looks bigger, but when you pick him up you realize he's still really bony around his hips. I wonder if he'll ever fill back out. We were shooting for 12 pounds as an ideal weight, but when he was almost there, we thought it may end up being a little more than that. But, now he's back to 9.5 :YMSIGH: As of today, increased his total food a little more at shot time. Will weigh it tomorrow and see just how much...
 
Re: 7/13 Hershey 1mo LEV PMPS(144) +5(96)

Hi uys - I wanted to say thanks for checking on Mannie today.

and Happy annifursary to Hershey!! WOO HOO! Way to v celebrate Hershey - I see green in there! :mrgreen:
 
Thanks for comin' over, Michelle. Yes, the green was wonderful to see!

Thanks, Marje. Shame he didn't listen and keep coming down. But, I think it's been one of the best cycles he's ever had (maybe THE best)!

Hey, Sienne. I hadn't had a chance to look through your photo links until tonight. Your cats are just gorgeous! I had never heard of a male calico - had to go read more about male calicos. Learned several new things today! :smile: Yes, Hershey did give the blues and greens I asked for, wish the green had stayed around a while longer, but at least I'm going to bed knowing he's blue and will remain blissfully ignorant of how much he may rise between now and shot time. :-D

+7 (150) - Would that he could surf until shot time...

Goodnight, Everybody...
 
WAy to go HErshey!!
good for you on both counts, great numbers and giving mamma your pee....
Libby, love the green on Hershey, I have everything crossed for you guys that
these numbers continue!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top