7/13 Heart AMPS 88, +6 58, PMPS 70, +4 43, +5 74

Status
Not open for further replies.

dodgingwrenches

Member Since 2010
I'm thinking of giving him 3.25 instead of 3.5 since I don't want to risk hypo while I'm at work. I gave him 3.25 an hour late last night, but he still surfed the greens. Could have been below 50 but I'm not sure, since that was 1am when he was at 50 (+4.5) and I went back to bed

Yesterday's thread: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=19565
 
Re: 7/13 Heart AMPS 88 - Dose?

no advice on dose here, but what ever you choose, leave plenty of food out for Heart.
You could top some with a bit of HC too, that should help.

are you able to re-test before you leave?
 
Re: 7/13 Heart AMPS 88 - Dose?

Yes, I think the 3.25u is appropriate. Heart was 50 yesterday? If this was my kitty, I would reduce. Heart no longer has dry food, right? That food change will help him go lower.

As Ronnie said, leave lots of food for him while you are gone so he can self-feed if he gets lower. I hope you already did that. :-D
 
Re: 7/13 Heart AMPS 88 - Dose?

You probably already know this, but remember that when you first lower the dose you are still getting some shed action, so your kitty isn't really getting that lower dose until you deplete the shed a bit... which might explain why Heart went so low last night (50 or lower) - could still be residual action from the larger dose.
 
Re: 7/13 Heart AMPS 88 - Dose?

I just called home and had my mom check on him, and he's still doing fine. She'll watching him over the next few hours to be safe (he's at +4 right now, so reaching the nadir). I wish she could BG test, but *shrugs* I haven't finished that training yet (she did it for the first time yesterday).
 
Re: 7/13 Heart AMPS 88 - Dose?

Oh yeah, and I swear Heart is playing a game of chicken with me. He's trying to force me to give him tuna flavour only. Basically he refuses to eat all day, lowering his BG, and then when I want him to eat so I can give him his shot, he turns his nose up on the food. Basically playing chicken with me - who will cave first. Will Heart get so hungry he'll cave, or will I want him to eat so badly because of his low BG that I'll cave and mix some Tuna in with his food?

So far, he always wins :(

Picky bugger. At least when he was still starving due to out of control BG he'd eat his freakin' chicken dinner!
 
Re: 7/13 Heart AMPS 88, reduced dose by 0.25, +6 58

Looks like Heart is doing OK. Tess is also 58 now, but has been below 60 all morning. So I am staying home while Ann runs errands with her Mom. Tess gets bored with a particular food and wants a change. She got tired of us shoving food in front of her face all morning and went and hid just as Ann left. But I found her hidey hole, so she gets stuck in a couple of minutes any way :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 7/13 Heart AMPS 88, +6 58, PMPS 70 - unsure of shot

How much has he eaten lately?

I personally wouldn't give him a full dose at that number... maybe wait a bit to see if he start to go up?
 
Re: 7/13 Heart AMPS 88, +6 58, PMPS 70 - unsure of shot

He always does the new lower pre-shot numbers when he knows I can't be home to watch him... Gave him some higher carb food instead, so hopefully that will keep him steady!

He refused the Special Kitty chicken dinner again, but he did get quite a few pieces of smoked salmon a few hours ago, and is showing down on some other chicken food right now. I can always throw in a temptations treat
 
Re: 7/13 Heart AMPS 88, +6 58, PMPS 70 - unsure of shot

Did you shoot?
will you be around to monitor? opps I guess not - ok!

if you didn't shoot yet, please re-test in 30 minutes if you are still home

let's see what others suggest as well
How is Heart doing? Is he eating the HC this evening?
 
Re: 7/13 Heart AMPS 88, +6 58, PMPS 70 - unsure of shot

just fyi - she apparently did shoot (see her spreadsheet), and I think she is away for a bit, but Heart's "grandparents" will keep an eye on him and they know how to test. I have no idea if they know how to post here though. I asked her in a PM, but I think I missed her.
 
Re: 7/13 Heart AMPS 88, +6 58, PMPS 70, +4 43

Heart is at 43 at +4. After the dose decrease last night (3.5 to 3.25), I think he just really wanted to earn himself another decrease to 3.0 for tomorrow morning. Anyway, I'll be giving him some HC wet food now. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top