7/13 Gobnait AMPS 191 +1 142 +2 99 +7 126 +10 167 PMPS 162

Status
Not open for further replies.

MJ and Gobnait

Member Since 2011
Hm. Higher today that she's been. She did start just yesterday on the wellness diet after having been on the DM which she hated. Maybe that's it? Although... the 19 and the 1 in the 191 were pretty far separated. it really looked like a 19 with a 1 on the side for some reason but I'm sure that can't be the case.

Am working from home today so will get my +1s and +2s per everyone's suggestions

7/1/2011 Shot 3.0u NOTES: Feeding only diabetic food but still also dry diabetic food

* no AMPS
* +3 106
* +6 128
* +9 183
* PMPS 224

7/2/2011 Shot 3.0u NOTES: Spoke with Vet on phone. He suggesting lowering to 2.5 from 3.

* AMPS 22
* +2 213
* +8 178
* PMPS 220 Shot 2.5u

7/3/2011 Shot 2.5u NOTES: now eating only wet food per reco from zobaline people

* AMPS
* +3 139
* +8 180
* PMPS 223 Shot 2.5 u

7/4 to 7/11: During this week I did test her occasionally but didn’t record. She was always around 120-180. She began to drop on 7/9/2011. On 7/10/2011 I joined the forum

7/11/2011 Shot 2.5u NOTES: 1st week as board member. Starting spreadsheet. Feeding only wet and meat (some sliced turkey today at breakfast)

* AMPS 121
* +5 86
* PMPS 107 Shot 2.25u.

7/12/2011

* AMPS 108
* +9 75
* +11 112
* shot 2.5 blind
* +2 106
* +3 90

7/13/2011
* AMPS 191
* +1 142
* +2 99
* +7 126
* +10 167
* PMPS 162
U 2.5
 
Re: 7/13 Gobnait AMPS 191

Good morning guys .. yeah a little higher then normal for gobnait but let's see what she can do .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 7/13 Gobnait AMPS 191 +1 142

today is for reviewing the food lists I've been sent :) let's see if it's her food that's causing the increase. maybe it's just yesterdays lows?

she is now getting 1/2 of a medium sized, fresh cooked shrimp after each poke. I bet she'll be carrying little lancets to me in her mouth by the end of the week. I'm going Pavlovian and feeding it when the sugar meter beeps.
 
Re: 7/13 Gobnait AMPS 191 +1 142

I know someone tried Wellness and they thought it raised their kitties BG. There might be something to that. Hope you get it figured out!
 
Re: 7/13 Gobnait AMPS 191 +1 142 +2 99

Yeah, I'm the one who is suspicious that Wellness raises Trixie's BGs a bit - not drastically like high carb gravy or anything like that, but a bit. However, Trixie is stubborn and loves her Wellness, so I couldn't completely remove it from her menu. Instead, she and I reached a compromise: she eats a 50/50 mix of Wellness and Merrick's BG 96% chicken. Whether or not this compromise is why Trix is doing well...we'll never know. I'm just running on suspicion, not cold, hard facts.

However, since Gobnait just started eating Wellness, I would definitely give it a little more time before thinking for sure it's the food. Wellness is a very good food (definitely better than the DM), but as we all quickly learn, every cat is different, even in how they react to low carb foods.

It is possible that today is a bit of a bounce, too. I'm sure she wasn't at 19...she'd be in bad shape if she was!

None-the-less...very nice numbers!

Amy
 
Re: 7/13 Gobnait AMPS 191 +1 142 +2 99

Nice to see Gobnait back in green. Which Wellness flavors are you feeding> Make sure that it is one of the Grain Free flavors those are all 4% to 6% and DM is 7%. There are some Wellness cans that are not Grain Free. The pouches are higher, but great for gravy if you need to bump up a really low number.

The higher AMPS could be a little bouncing or the result of food closer to the test. It could also be that if she likes the Wellness better she is eating more and that can add up to more carbs even if the food is a lower % carb. It is great that Gobnait actually likes a better quality food, a lot of cats are junkies. :roll:
 
Re: 7/13 Gobnait AMPS 191 +1 142 +2 99

Thanks Amy!

I was able to get to binkyspage in my iPad (this PC locks me out of everything!) and I selected the following based on low carb count and relatively low phosphorus.

I just feel so weird about fancy feast? whny do i assume it's inferior?

thankfully Gobnait really is a bit of a piggy but the other cat is going to have to eat the same food. In fact not letting him eat this morning until AFTER I shot Gobnait was NOT easy. -Wake up to meows and paw-pokes, feed beasts and open cat door, go back to bed and sleep till alarm - is pretty much my morning routine. Today it was orange cat yowls till from 5:30 to 7:30.....

Newmans own chicken and liver
Newmans own turkey
Wholefood beef and liver
9-lives ground with tuna and shrimp
Fancy feast tender liver and chicken
Fancy feast turkey and giblets
Fancy feast tender beef feast
Fancy feast savory salmon
Fancy feast seafood feast
Fancy feast ocean whitefish and tuna feast
Fancy feast gourmet chicken feast
Fancy feast cod sole and shrimp feast
Fancy feast beef and liver feast
 
Re: 7/13 Gobnait AMPS 191 +1 142 +2 99

Remember too that meters can vary by 20% up or down. On the odd look of the 191, there is a big space to the left of a 1 because it only uses the far right segments for the digital numbers. Try looking back at it and visualize the space needed for the rest of the segments in that position.
 
Re: 7/13 Gobnait AMPS 191 +1 142 +2 99

The AMPS looks like a bounce from yesterday's low numbers. When cats have numbers that are lower than what they are used to, their livers panic and send glucose and hormones into the blood, hence the "bounce" to a higher number. As they get used to being in lower numbers, hopefully they don't bounce as much or as often (but every cat is different!!!). This process is called "Liver Training School" (LTS).

Those foods look fine, but are you sure that the Newman foods are low carb? I seem to recall that they have rice as a main ingredient. The Fancy Feast foods are always big hits with the kitties. I think they have a secret ingredient! Rusty goes bananas for the Turkey and Giblets feast (and it tends to spike his bg, so I only serve it as a "treat"--a very small amount at bedtime). The Wellness Turkey and Wellness Chicken are both 4% carbs. Wellness Turkey is Rusty's main food; it does not spike his bg. You will have to experiment to see what works for Gobnait. ECID!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 7/13 Gobnait AMPS 191 +1 142 +2 99

Oh the Newman's ones certainly READ as lo carb on the list! at 5 and 4 grams and the calories are lower than most too. or so says bunkyslist.

i did just realize that these values are not absolute but are tied to can size so... hmmm... i prefer the little cans so i dont have cat food sitting around open all day :)
 
Re: 7/13 Gobnait AMPS 191 +1 142 +2 99 +7 126

wanted to test at +6 but was trapped on a conference call. background yowling is frowned upon in conference calls. at +7 she was 126.

I only have 1 more little can of the wellness and now the Orange cat has snubbed this wellness can anyway. I will head out tonight and pick up some other and give her the DM in the meantime and just give him the dry food he really wants anyhow. Maybe that's what's causing it.

Say, should I have a picture of BOTH kitties? I feel like this is Gobnait's forum but I certainly don;t want to NEGLECT the Desmond. Besides, she's his kitty. I got her for him and he LOVES her.

I will post a very cute one of them holding paws....

then back to the grind! lots of politics and angst in the office today. blech.
 
Re: 7/13 Gobnait AMPS 191 +1 142 +2 99 +7 126 +10 167

blech. 167 at +10? no food till dinner at 7:30 and i will give her the DM instead of the wellness. then I go to dinner and will test her when home.
 
Re: 7/13 Gobnait AMPS 191 +1 142 +2 99 +7 126 +10 167

wait. why am I griping? these are all blue in the spreadsheet I can't post to googledocs... That's good! what is the big difference then between green and blue? is it that green is a nice low number but is getting low for an insulin injection and so there is reason to call it out? is blue the right number FOR a cat ON insulin but not a "normal" cat? Am I trying too hard to define paramaters?
 
Re: 7/13 Gobnait AMPS 191 +1 142 +2 99 +7 126 +10 167

I think Gobnait's numbers are looking right nice for this early in the game. Some kitties don't see blue preshot numbers for months and you are getting green nadirs too. This is terrific.
Keep up the good work. When the food situation is stable I bet that Gobnait will start needing some lower doses in a short time. I will keep my fingers crossed for you.

One thing... my fingers had a hard time typing your kitty's name... I'd hate for you to see some of the typo's I did before I backspaced them. :lol:
Then I checked your source for the meaning of the name... so she's a joyful, talkative, honeybee of a kitty? Hahahaha! Sweet name, really.

Best of luck!
 
Re: 7/13 Gobnait AMPS 191 +1 142 +2 99 +7 126 +10 167

:lol: :lol: :lol: You are funny with the gripeing---If you actually look at these numbers they are actually very good--If you were doing a curve, he is doing exactly what lantus is supposed to do---
Normal BG numbers are 60-120..These are also Healing numbers for your boy! Healing the panceas numbers That is!--
He probably surfed today between +3 and+6, so on a day when you are home, get a +3( usual onset of dropping number) ,+4 and +6 to see where his nadir or midpoint is.
He is doing just fine--I am looking for the actual picture of a lantus curve do you can see how it goes.
Will post when I find it! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/13 Gobnait AMPS 191 +1 142 +2 99 +7 126 +10 167

Thanks!

Gobanit's a girl! Maybe I'll have her start wearing a bow or some pearls. pearls would suit her :) She is a tough little dame though. and you're right. the numbers are good. I'll shut up. Gobnait would like me to stop poking her too although the piece of shrimp after each shot is making it more palatable to her. She developed a fun habit today of shaking her head just as a nice droplet forms.

I missed the +6 today because of a conference call :( but LUCKILY it looks like this sprained ankle wants surgery so I'll be working from home a lot more. yippee. ankle surgery! ... (read that with every ounce of intended sarcasm) Still, if there was ever good timing for me to need to be laid up or for my cat to be diagnosed with diabetes.....
 
Re: 7/13 Gobnait AMPS 191 +1 142 +2 99 +7 126 +10 167

Hi BigMac!

yes Gobnait is a strange old Irish name but still used quite a bit actually. if you search it on facebook you'll come up with quite a few of them in Ireland. It fit her./ she was a tough scrappy little kitty and all my pets have Irtish names. When I ran across Gobnait it just stuck.

Here she is as a tiny 3 month old kitty on her first day home from Animal Care and Control. I got her for my SPCA kitty Desmond who had already frightened off another kitty with his playfulness. She was JUST right and 9 years later he still grabs her and holds her down and licks her head.

http://www.youtube.com/user/MJTisor#p/u/10/kv3JN4Xmjpo
 
Re: 7/13 Gobnait AMPS 191 +1 142 +2 99 +7 126 +10 167

Sorry about the gender--She looks real good--I had a fractured ankle had surgery, laid up for a bit--Yes couldnt have happened at a better time :razz: --I do a mini curve most days--I do amps, +3, +4or +5 and usually +6--
Moonie's nadir (midpoint or lowest number in this cycle) is between +4 and +6....
Hope your ankle will heal well, so take advantage of your time with Gobnait!
Moonie's real name is Moonstone.
 
Re: 7/13 Gobnait AMPS 191 +1 142 +2 99 +7 126 +10 167 PMPS 1

Well Hi to Moonstone!

Gobnait is Gobnait or doobdoo or doobie or fatty or (in third person only) the black one - as opposed to Desmond who is frequently called "orange" directly

PMPS at 162 and dinner of the DM not the wellness.

I save a piece of shrimp for a test when i get home.

limping off to dinner...

thanks for all the advice!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top