7/13 Georgia's Simon PMPS 309 +4 159

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
I think we have begun our slow ascent to higher numbers due to the zymox ear drops with steroid. I'll be home at lunch to see what is happening with his numbers. Question: If Simon's numbers start skyrocketing do I need to wait the full cycles to increase the dose or can I increase sooner? Except for the higher numbers, Simon is doing ok, 4 out of 5 P's in place. It is way too hot here this morning, so Simon does not feel like playing.

Cleo: She is not feeling well today and only ate 1/2 of her food. I gave her a 1/4 pepcid to see if that might help. She is hiding under the bed. I'm really worried about her. She is also getting the ear drops so I had to give her the drops and pepcid and she was not too happy about it either. I'm going on Friday to the vet so I can start the fluids as soon as possible.

I wish I didn't have to go to work today!
 
Re: 7/13 Georgia's Simon AMPS 163

When are you giving the pepcid? And how are you doing it. You should get empty gel pills - size 3 or 4 from the pharmacy. Pepcid can get stuck in the throat and cause issues so you should always follow it with water. Others can provide some tips. I was going to say tuna juice but that wouldn't be the best for kidneys with the sodium. Maybe you can dilute it.

I'll text message Claudia to pop in about the prednisone and Simon.
 
Re: 7/13 Georgia's Simon AMPS 163

sorry Cleo isn't well this morning. I hope she improves soon. It's so hard to go to work when you have a sick furbaby at home.

I always buy low sodium tuna and then dilute it further with a little water. So long as the smell is there, they seem to love it.
 
Re: 7/13 Georgia's Simon AMPS 163

Morning Georgia

I know you hate to see those numbers go up, but they're still in "healthy" territory, and you can
always adjust dosage until his poor ears clear up.

I give our Simon his pepcid in a piece of Pill Pocket (non-allergenic flavour) right before feeding
to make sure it goes down... maybe that would work with Cleo?

Thinking only good thoughts :smile: , hang in there.

Bruce
 
Re: 7/13 Georgia's Simon AMPS 163

Sorry Cleo isn't feeling good. :sad: I hope she gets to feeling better and the vet visit on Friday brings some relief.

Hang in there Georgia! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 7/13 Georgia's Simon AMPS 163

Aw, Georgia, I'm so sorry Cleo and Simon are having a rough time right now. I've got you guys in my thoughts and prayers...

Amy
 
Re: 7/13 Georgia's Simon AMPS 163

I didn't realize that I couldn't just throw the pepcid down Cleo's throat. For some reason, she hates pill pockets and won't eat them. Karrie, I'll go to the pharmacy and ask for the empty gel capsules so I can do the pilling right. I'll also try the low sodium tuna juice in her water to see if she'll drink it after the pill. I"ll be checking on her at lunch and will try to get her to eat a little food. I have some FF gravy lovers for when Simon goes low (I don't think that will be happening any time soon) so I'll try to see if Cleo will eat that.

Thanks for all your well wishes.
 
Re: 7/13 Georgia's Simon AMPS 163

Georgia...I don't know if this would work any more easily for you, but back when Trixie and Frankie had that stomach bug and both needed Pepcid, I crushed the pill up, mixed it with a teeny bit of water, and syringed it in. It worked well for us...in general, we find it much easier to administer liquids than pills. (although, oddly, now I'd rather do injections for everything if it were only possible! Injections are so much easier than pills!!!) Anyway, you could give that a try if the gel capsules don't work for you.
 
Re: 7/13 Georgia's Simon AMPS 163

Good morning guys .. I'm sorry to see simon's numbers are headed up .. we are on zymox ear drops too, but the steroid free ones, for now at least .. I hope that Cleo starts feeling better for you, and that friday comes quickly!
 
Re: 7/13 Georgia's Simon AMPS 163

Cleo eat your foods! I have some pepcids as well that I was given over a year ago when my Gobnait had a belly ache (I always think its strange when non-cat friends ask how i know she had a belly ache). that was her first kidney test and the first warning that something might be up someday.

she ninjaed my thumb with her claw. one claw to the center of the right thumb pad totally crippling that thumb (and therefore my superiority as a species) for two days. I switched hands and whoosh. ninja claw the LEFT thumb-pad.

I'll never forget those pepcids.

I know you've tried mashing them up on food (oh but she won't eat her food)
mashing them up in water and squirting them in with syringe?

do pill pockets ever work on cats? seems a decidedly dog worthy trick to me. cats are too clever.

feel better today!
 
Re: 7/13 Georgia's Simon AMPS 163 +6 169

Simon's + 6 is about the same as his AMPS, even with the insulin this morning. I am just hoping that he surfs where he is today and doesn't go higher. I can deal with these numbers.

I am going to try to syringe technique. Cleo seems to do better with syringes so I'll give it a try. She definitely won't do pill pockets. MJ, wow on the disabled thumbs due to the pepcid. That must have been some struggle!! I just gave Cleo some FF wtih gravy to see if she'll eat it. She is licking at it and starting to eat it, so I'm hoping she gets a little bit of food in her. I have to monitor closely or Simon happily eat up any leftovers. Just what he needs...more carbs!
 
Re: 7/13 Georgia's Simon AMPS 163 +6 169

i posted this video a while back...this is how i pill Rocket....if you are giving the pepcid...use a little bit of the pill pocket just to cover the 1/4 pepcid pill...as this will make it easier for sliding down the throat with the water...i dab it with some butter as you can see and then follow it with water...hope that helps

[youtube]-Sf_36p4zo0[/youtube]

with Rocket when he started the pred i had to wait 4 full cycles to increase his dose by 0.25 u.....i know you are impatient but for best results i would wait it out...his numbers are not that bad all things considered....

as per Cleo try adding a lil more water to her food (i assume it's wet)...get the PHOS values as this will give you more insight as to why she is not herself

btw with Rocket's seizures...whenever i pill him he twitches so don't mind him on the video
 
Re: 7/13 Georgia's Simon AMPS 163 +6 169

Claudia, thanks for posting the video of how you pill Rocket. He is so cooperative! I didn't think about coating the pepcid with a little pill pocket or butter -- I'l give it a try, followed by some tuna water.

I just got back the full results from the lab with the phosphorous level. It was 4.7. According to the range, normal is between 2.4 to 8.2. So is this a good thing that he was 4.7?
 
Re: 7/13 Georgia's Simon AMPS 163 +6 169

Oh Claudia! What a great video. I wish Tarragon was anywhere near that easy to pill. Rocket is absolutely adorable though. I just want to pick him up and rub my face in his fur.

Hope Cleo is feeling better Georgia! I would try the syringe. It is definitely worth a shot.
 
Re: 7/13 Georgia's Simon AMPS 163 +6 169

Georgia, so sorry to see Simon's nunbers go up, but they're not bad considering his meds and how he's feeling, so hope he surfs for you. I sure hope Cleo feels better, too, and the pepcid helps. I want to go back and watch the video but did want to send some feel better vines and prayers for both Cleo and Simon. Hugs
 
Re: 7/13 Georgia's Simon PMPS 309!

Oh darn, darn, darn!! I really want to say something else but I will behave. Obviously, the steroid is causing Simon's numbers to go up, up, up today. My DH came home to test and give him the insulin and Simon had thrown up some nice hairballs. I'm sure that also contributes to the higher number since that usually happens when his tummy is upset. It is so hot here and Simon has been licking his fur all the time, thus the hairballs. I gave him a 1/4 pepcid so we'll see what happens tonight.

I hope these bg's don't go up too high. I'm not sure what to do if that happens.
 
Re: 7/13 Georgia's Simon PMPS 309!

Steroids do raise the bg levels, so dont panic yet...
I think Simon & Cleo Need some Lantus Land Prayers & Healing Vines to help them along--
So I'll start today's--Prayers for Simon to come down to nice blue numbers, ears to clear up & to feel totally better--Cleo, Eating vibes being sent to you & prayers that your tummy feels all better by tomorrow..
Hairballs, well they are just a cat fact of life that will also raise the BG--
SO, Hopes for a better evening & tomorrow--Thinking of you all--Paws & fingers crossed for Healing vines to work for both babies--Hugs & Lub from Us!!
 
Re: 7/13 Georgia's Simon PMPS 309!

those numbers are surely scary but just like Rocket his BG went up when we started the pred....so hang in there....he is probably acting ok....he knows nothing about his numbers....you do!....and yes....you will worry....complete the 4th cycle then proceed to raise the insulin....i hope the experts can chime in....that's what we did with Rocket (with their guidance)....

as far as Rocket being easy to pill.....well....if he gets into the mood of 'i don't wanna get any pills' mood....he LETS me believe he swallows the darn pills and i later find them on the floor....he spits them out....so don't think he is THAT angelic or COOPERATIVE as the video shows :lol: :lol: i gotta bribe him with that butter!

as i mentioned to you re the phos range...it does include kittens so it can be misleading....

Rocket eats the chicken and liver pate fancy feast and also the chef's dinner friskies....not phos friendly foods but i add the binder....i rather have an eating cat than to feed him kidney food which he won't touch....so you can balance it and keep her happy with the current food she likes by adding the binder....another one that Rocket doesn't mind that i can not get here is the Hi-Tor Neo food (you guys can get the case for under $23 where as if i buy it online i have to pay $98 including shipping and custom fees so not something i can easily buy for him :()...it is kidney food but not high in carbs at all....and since Rocket has both CRF and FD i gotta keep the carb values in mind....and kidney foods are HIGH in carbs....so if Simon will have access to eating Cleo's food then i would try to opt out of the kidney food...my opinion though....
 
Re: 7/13 Georgia's Simon PMPS 309!

HI Georgia,
Hang in there! They both will be better soon. Good luck with the pilling. When I had to pill Stu (nearly impossible), Lisa suggested a pill shooter and that worked pretty well. You can get the pill much further back in the mouth. Claudia's video shows how easy pilling can (should?) be!!!!
Hairballs raise bgs, so now that Simon has gotten rid of 2 hairballs, his bgs should come down again. I really feel for you. It is so frustrating to get higher numbers than you are used to getting. At least in your case it is caused by the medication. In my case it is caused by the incompetence of the bean (consecutive fur shots)!

Lots of healing vines heading your way,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 7/13 Georgia's Simon PMPS 309!

Good luck with the pilling. I was very impressed with Rocket... my cats never made it look that easy! :lol:
Most of the meds I had to give my civvie ended up spit back right on my face...sigh. It was a power struggle. You have my sympathy.

I hope Cleo feels better and that Simon's numbers start to stabilize. And I agree with Ella about hairball's raising BG's. I was pleasantly surprised at the difference in BGs the day after BigMac hacked up a big one. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/13 Georgia's Simon PMPS 309!

So sorry for that pmps... oh my! Good luck with the pilling. Wish I had a sure-fire answer for you. Mannie loves the pill pockets... Good luck!
 
Ok, much better +4. I guess the pepcid and getting rid of the hairball helped.

I have a pill gun and used it on Cleo in the past, so I'll probably have to resort to that tomorrow. Poor Cleo -- she just vomited and I feel so bad for her. She is eating a little. I'll give her another pepcid in the AM. I can't wait to get to the vet on Friday to see how to do her fluids. Hope they will make her feel better.

Thanks Claudia for your wonderful help tonight. I know you are exhausted from your job and you still had time to talk to me and hold my hand. And a big thank you to Karrie, too!! And also everyone else for prayers, thoughts, healing vines, and great suggestions. I just don't know what I would do without you!
 
Oh YAY!! on that +4 - go Simon!! so much better!

sorry that Cleo vomited... poor little thing. Good luck with it all. I am hopeful that with the pepcid, and the fluids that she will begin to feel better.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top