7/13 Esca PMPS 99 +1 68 +1.5 81 +2 61 +2.5 76 +3 85 +4 81

Kirsta & Esca

Member Since 2022
I CANT CATCH A BREAK.
Had to work overnight so I had a *trusted* friend come over to give Esca his PM dose and to monitor him overnight.

She called me in a panic because she said she thinks she measured his dose wrong.
she used the wrong side of the calipers.
No big deal, let’s stay calm, I had her test him at +1 and he dropped (when he usually goes up or stays about the same), so I came home. She grabbed the hypo kit and fed a bit MC. Bumped up to the 81.

I’m home and testing down. Gave a bit of HC when I tested and he dipped again.

Not quite panicking yet, just setting up shop here in case we need it again :(
 
20 mins out from last - 76. Still calm lol

Waiting to hear back from my friend on how she measured wrong, the most I got was that she used the wrong side of the calipers but I didn’t think to ask how or have her show me what she did. Hate not knowing exactly what happened.

And will never be picking up an overnight shift ever again.
 
What is the wrong side of the callipers? You can use both the lower and the upper arms to measure the dose. Could you share a pic of how she measured the dose?

Waiting to hear back from my friend on how she measured wrong, the most I got was that she used the wrong side of the calipers but I didn’t think to ask how or have her show me what she did. Hate not knowing exactly what happened.
Just saw this new post, so ignore my prev message. :-)
 
20 mins out from last - 76. Still calm lol

Waiting to hear back from my friend on how she measured wrong, the most I got was that she used the wrong side of the calipers but I didn’t think to ask how or have her show me what she did. Hate not knowing exactly what happened.

And will never be picking up an overnight shift ever again.
I hope your kitty is okay. You might want to put a 911 prefix or a ? at the beginning of your title it will get more eyes on it quicker to help you.
 
What is the wrong side of the callipers? You can use both the lower and the upper arms to measure the dose. Could you share a pic of how she measured the dose?


Just saw this new post, so ignore my prev message. :)

okay I misunderstood her on the phone - she measured the wrong end of the syringe with the calipers. Instead of doing it how I do (using the little arms in the plunger), she used the little arms to measure from the 0 line and pulled to where the calipers showed my measurement is (8mm), this is apparently how a vet has one of her other clients measuring her dogs insulin and she realized it was wrong for Esca after she shot.

The problem is, my 0 line is not actually at 0. So my best guess is that Esca got around 2-3u.

I sent her home so I can’t have her show me exactly where she pulled to.
 
I'm not sure how you measure the dose using the calipers. This is how I do it. From the bottom of the syringe (where the plunger is when fully pushed). You ignore all markings since they can be awry.

I use the larger arms but one can use the smaller ones as well.

Calliper thru phone camera.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • Calliper thru phone camera.jpeg
    Calliper thru phone camera.jpeg
    37.3 KB · Views: 71
Here's a pic of how you measure the dose with the smaller arms:
callipers small arms.jpg
 

Attachments

  • callipers small arms.jpg
    callipers small arms.jpg
    45.5 KB · Views: 73
This is how I measure mine - it takes the guess work out of lining up to the lines perfectly because my eyes are wonky. I saw it in another group and it just worked for me after i figured out the math! https://ibb.co/z7Jd0qR

the way you shared is close to how she measured it. Except she started at the 0 line to bottom of plunger - but the 0 line is well off on my syringes. https://ibb.co/Fq3hDSZ
So she used this method from another client but used Escas measurement number.
If the zero line were actually 0, the difference in dose I don’t believe would be significant enough for concern. But with the line difference, it’s about 1.4 mm more - which is roughly 2.5 times his dose if im doing the math correctly.
 
+4 81
Smoooth sailing.
Unsure if everything is totally fine or if HC chased away low numbers, but I’ll take it.

Going to tuck in for the night, but will leave a bit of MC down for him. I will check him in 2 hours and update if his number is wonky. Otherwise, thanks for tuning into this journey that I’m going to affectionately call “Esca’s Mama being paranoid about another double dose this week:rolleyes:
 
Not sure which syringe you use but 8mm measured the way your friend did would be anywhere between 5U and 6.6U. 1U in a syringe varies from 1.2mm to 1.5mm. I don't think she gave that much.
Oh well! You've had an exciting week for sure! :confused:
 
Not sure which syringe you use but 8mm measured the way your friend did would be anywhere between 5U and 6.6U. 1U in a syringe varies from 1.2mm to 1.5mm. I don't think she gave that much.
Oh well! You've had an exciting week for sure! :confused:
8mm includes the plunger space when it’s at 0, if that makes sense. On this syringe the plunger space is 6.6mm - so his dose in mm for 1u at an 8mm measurement is 1.4mm. heres a picture of the “how to” for this method, just in case you find someone else that measures this way! I’m horrible at explaining lol - https://ibb.co/MVhvm0f
It works great for accurate dosing when done correctly!
 
Back
Top