? 7/13 Ember AMPS 246, +4 304 L TR food pondering

Elaine and Ember

Member Since 2025
Good morning all. 😻
I was on the phone for over an hour yesterday with a fellow rescuer whose foster just got diagnosed with diabetes. I was trying to explain TR and SLGS and realized I don’t truly fully understand why dry food isn’t compatible with TR. I always assumed it had something to do with how quickly the body can metabolize it, but then I decided to re-read the stickies to make sure I wasn’t misinterpreting it, and realized I actually don’t really know. 😬
I did a couple no-dry-food-trial days with Ember and it didn’t make any difference at all with her numbers, but that might be because of her IAA? Or maybe she’d need to not have any for longer than 24 hours? Anyway, I figured I’d ask the dumb question since I’d rather truly understand something than just parrot back information I read and possibly tell her the wrong thing. Thank you!
Safe surfing all. 😻
3/12 Ember AMPS 308, +6 317 L, PMPS 294
 
The research that ended up being where TR was created only did the studies with low carb wet or raw food. There have been no studies done using dry food. As TR is a more aggressive dosing method, we don't want to throw any unknowns into the mix. TR has safety mechanisms built in that allow it to have faster increases and lower reduction points. So, the need for low carb wet or raw only. Safety first.
 
The research that ended up being where TR was created only did the studies with low carb wet or raw food. There have been no studies done using dry food. As TR is a more aggressive dosing method, we don't want to throw any unknowns into the mix. TR has safety mechanisms built in that allow it to have faster increases and lower reduction points. So, the need for low carb wet or raw only. Safety first.
That makes sense. Thanks!
I’m surprised no scientists have done subsequent studies with more types of food.
 
The "scientists" who did the original study are the German Diabetes Katzen forum, ie. lay people. Kirsten Roomp of the forum, along with from Dr. Jacquie Rand of U of Queensland, first published TR.
 
The "scientists" who did the original study are the German Diabetes Katzen forum, ie. lay people. Kirsten Roomp of the forum, along with from Dr. Jacquie Rand of U of Queensland, first published TR.
Well scientists SHOULD study feline diabetes! I mean, what's more important than that, right? 😻 Thank goodness for all the lay people out in the world doing the good work. 🩷
 
Back
Top