7/12 Skooter PMPS 206 +2 344 +4 272

Status
Not open for further replies.

MollynSkooter

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's EVENTFUL Condo
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=121610&start=50#unread

I have to start about today by saying a great big HUGE THANK YOU to everyone who stuck around with Skooter and I last night for his first full cycle with ALL WET FOOD!!!! Saying I was pleased with is results is an understatement. :RAHCAT party_cat

I also impressed myself, as I only got slightly freaked out around the 2 hour mark as he hit his lowest number EVER since we began testing. Woo Hoo!

He got 1/3 of a 5.5 oz can of Nature's Variety chicken for breakfast this morning and ate probably half of it. But I am noticing that is his MO now, eat part of it, then come back within 10-20 minutes to eat the rest of it. He seems to be doing awesome after his long surf in the blues last night!

His +11 was 356 and he came down nicely into the lellow (as I like to call yellow) for his official AMPS number. While I expect today to be somewhat eventful, I am hoping he is doing well enough between +6 and +9 as I am supposed to go over to my parent's house for a "family meeting". It appears my dad may have Leukemia, however there is some confusion with the information he received (he always confused things), so we are all supposed to get together to discuss and see what is going on. So let's hope Skooter corporates with that schedule. Since I will HOPEFULLY be out during that time, I was hoping to run and stock up on more food, more HC gravy lovers and a little bit of chocolate for myself :-D

Again, thanks everyone for your amazing support last night and all the awesome advice and encouragement you gave.....here we go again!

*** He did get his IBD med at the same time as his insulin, I am thinking for tomorrow morning I would like to give his IBD med at +1, depending on what today brings. ***
 
Re: 7/12 Skooter AMPS 295

Woohoo, Skooter and Molly! Awesome job last night, purrfect. :-D :-D I'm sorry about your dad, good idea to have a family meeting so everyone has the same info. That medical stuff is confusing.
Liz
 
Re: 7/12 Skooter AMPS 295 +1 341

Boo to pink!

But not at all unexpected since he ate AND he got his IBD med....hoping he drifts down back to yellow at +2 (unless that is too quick of a dip, in which case I shall hope for a low pink number :P)

He waited until +1 to the rest of his first meal, so we shall see what the rest of the day brings!!

I will get a +2 and then seek advice for when I should be testing next :) I will also set my alarm to feed again as I am not used to feeding him more than twice a day!
 
Re: 7/12 Skooter AMPS 295 +1 341

Greetings!

So his +2 is 259. I am supposed to leave to go to my parent's house around +5.5 and probably be home around +8.5...so I would be feeding him his next meal around the time that I have to leave to go over there.

Thoughts on additional readings I should be getting?
 
Re: 7/12 Skooter AMPS 295 +1 341 +2 259

Remember Molly...the +1 is USUALLY going to be higher than the Pre-shot because of the food you fed at shot time.

The +2 is the more important to predict future results...if it's lower than the pre-shot (by more than a couple points) you should plan on testing more often since that drop at +2 usually means they're going to have a more active cycle (and Skooter's is lower than the PS so you should expect a more active cycle)

I'd plan on getting at least a +4 (since he does still have a ways to go before worrying about him) and then seeing where you're at

Looking great!!
 
Re: 7/12 Skooter AMPS 295 +1 341 +2 259 +4.25 158

I am feeling pretty darn good about this +4.25.......I could really get used to these numbers!

Skooter is also getting better with the testing. He is getting better about just sitting there and letting me do it. So that is good as well. I am planning on testing him one more time at noon (which would be +5.25), then giving him his second meal (1/3 can of food) and then heading over to my parent's house. I should be home by +8 or so. Based on his numbers thus far, is he going to be ok if I leave him?
 
Re: 7/12 Skooter AMPS 295 +1 341 +2 259 +4.25 158

looking great today!

that high at +11 this morning (356) was probably a bounce from the low numbers last night. If you haven't encountered bounces yet, here is a post that describes New Dose Wonkiness & Bouncing.

It's really hard to predict ahead of time what Skooter is going to do. Cats do become predictable to some extent, but we don't know enough about skooter yet to predict much. More data will help him become more predictable. Many cats' BGs would be rising by +6. Look at the speed of his numbers moving from one test to another (are they rising or falling?) and from that you can get some idea of what might be coming. That's not foolproof, because cats do what they do, but it will help give you an idea, and as you get more data, you'll begin to see what Skooter typically does.

Food is the tool you're going to be using to manipulate his numbers. If you have to leave and his numbers are still dropping, leave him low carb food to nosh on. In the later half of the cycle it might drive his numbers more than is desirable, but when you have to leave, safety is the first concern. Better to overfeed than to have his numbers go too low when he's alone. If he's basically flat or rising, then leave without worrying. that would tell you that the insulin curve has bottomed out or begun to rise toward the next preshot.
 
Re: 7/12 Skooter AMPS 295 +1 341 +2 259 +4.25 158

Molly, do your parents live far? Can you take Skooter with you?
 
Re: 7/12 Skooter AMPS 295 +1 341 +2 259 +4.25 158

They are about 30 minutes away, I just don't know how long the family meeting is going to take. Unfortunately they just got a new puppy and they have not been around each yet at all and I do not want this to be their first meeting. It took us about 4 years for Skooter to take to my sister's two dogs. So taking him with is kinda out of the question lol

I will plan on getting a read before I leave, which should be about +5.75 and then put out his second meal (1/3 of a 5.5 oz can of Nature's Variety chicken)....

I will definitely need to stop by the pet store to get some more food on my way home and want to get a couple more cans of FF gravy lovers, which I strangely cannot find at the pet store....oh well....
 
Re: 7/12 Skooter AMPS 295 +1 341 +2 259 +4.25 158

FF gravy lovers is available at regular grocery stores around here.

btw, last night i asked about skooter's regular meal schedule. i think you want to feed him at least twice per cycle on a routine basis, so at least 4 meals per day. I fed punkin at preshot (1 can) and +3 (1/2 can) both am/pm cycles. I'd put Skooter's meals pre-nadir, mostly in the first 3-5 hrs of each cycle so that the carbs are being eaten when the insulin is most effective.

after nadir, most people just give something for pokey treats that is minimal, a 1/2" cube of boiled chicken, a bite of freeze dried meat, etc. Ordinarily, i wouldn't give a meal at +5.75, but obviously today is different. I think that's too late for a routine meal for most cats.

if you're leaving and he's still headed down, then that fact would be more important than the perfect cycle, so you'd leave food out, even if it's in the second half of the cycle.
 
Re: 7/12 Skooter AMPS 295 +1 341 +2 259 +4.25 158

just thinking more - he's dropped 100 points between +2 and +4.25 - i'd get another test before +5.75, say at 5 or 5.25. he may go into green today.
 
Re: 7/12 Skooter AMPS 295 +1 341 +2 259 +4.25 158 +5.5 153

Coasting along nicely!

I know feeding him now will probably spike him, but I would rather that have him continue to go lower....as you all said, safety first :)

I am gonna feed him and head out......hoping to be home in time to get a reading in the +8 hour......


Hope everyone is having a wonderful Caturday!!!
 
Re: 7/12 Skooter 295 +1 341 +2 259 +4.25 158 +5.5 153 +9.75

Enjoying the time in the blue today!!!!!

I am still hoping to be able to do my 5K tomorrow....I will be planning on shooting Skooter at 630 tonight and then 615 tomorrow morning....

As horrible as it sounds, is there anything I can do to keep his numbers up in order for me to do this event? I should be able to be home by +6 or so....I am going to try and make a couple of the foodsicyles tonight and leave one out before I leave so that way it will melt in order for him to eat tomorrow while I am gone. It is the Twin Cities Color Run and I signed up for it about 4 months ago and have been pretty excited to go.

Hoping for a quiet night tonight, but I did pick up 10 cans of gravy lovers fancy feast and a lil chocolate for myself in case it is a bit longer of a night than I anticipate....
 
Re: 7/12 Skooter 295 +1 341 +2 259 +4.25 158 +5.5 153 +9.75

It's nice to see Skooter in the blue for such a long time today. I wonder if he got down to green while you were gone.
 
Re: 7/12 Skooter 295 +1 341 +2 259 +4.25 158 +5.5 153 +9.75

How long will you be gone Molly?

From when in the cycle to when?

I'd suggest getting a +11 today so you can see what he's doing at PMPS time...gives you some time to think
 
Re: 7/12 Skooter 295 +1 341 +2 259 +4.25 158 +5.5 153 +9.75

If I can get him his insulin at 615, I would need to leave at +1 or +1.5 at the very latest....

I am thinking I would be home by about +5....

I had already set my alarm to go off for a +11 :P
 
Re: 7/12 Skooter +2 259 +4.25 158 +5.5 153 +9.75 163 +11 212

Since I am out of room and need to do his PMPS and following tests, here are his AM cycle results for easy access :)

AMPS = 295
+1 = 341
+2 = 259
+4.25 = 158
+5.5 = 153
+9.75 = 163
+11 = 212
 
Re: 7/12 Skooter +2 259 +4.25 158 +5.5 153 +9.75 163 +11 212

I think you made a typo. His +4.25 was 158 not 58. If it had been 58, you would have had a heart attack. :-D
 
Re: 7/12 Skooter +2 259 +4.25 158 +5.5 153 +9.75 163 +11 212

Have you tried the frozen food with him yet?

Some cats will eat it frozen or not, so that's not a guarantee that if you put it down when you leave, that it'll be there a few hours later....LOL
 
Re: 7/12 Skooter +2 259 +4.25 158 +5.5 153 +9.75 163 +11 212

Oopps! Just fixed it....

And no, I am making a couple tonight....I will get them in the freezer and see when they are done if I can put one out and see what he does....
 
Re: 7/12 Skooter PMPS 206

Molly, are you going to get a +1 and a +2 tonight? I am betting you are going to have another active night.
 
Re: 7/12 Skooter PMPS 206

I was going to give his ears a little break as he is getting a little touchy and growly when I test him and wait for a +2 since the +1 usually spikes some due to eating his din din
 
Re: 7/12 Skooter PMPS 206

Alarm has already been set for a +2 :)

I would be happy with some blues tonight....I am thinking it is a pretty good strong possibility I will get them :) Green MIGHT scare me ever so slightly, but I know I am well taken care of and I have the equipment (aka hypo kit) to take charge if need be. I am just AMAZED at the difference the food change is making. I know it is what everyone has been saying all along, but it still just floors me. I feel like I should be showing his spreadsheet to anyone on here who is humming and hahing over if they should switch or not....hell, even to those who haven't even THOUGHT about changing over lol
 
Re: 7/12 Skooter PMPS 206

I think this is her first double dip

One of the crazy little things Lantus sometimes does is to dip again at the end of the cycle.....it's higher than the nadir, but lower than a previous test

So like if you had a cycle like this: AMPS 250, 190, 100, 180 Then at PMPS you got 170, that's a "second dip"...it's higher than the nadir of 100 for that cycle, but lower than the 180 you got on the last test you did.

Does that make sense?
 
Re: 7/12 Skooter PMPS 206

Yes, get the concept, now can you explain what that usually means for a cycle or is it like everything with this wonderful FD where it depends on the cat?
 
Re: 7/12 Skooter PMPS 206

Oh good, Liz....I am glad that is the right answer, because we wouldn't want anything about all of this to be EASY, now would we? lol :roll:
 
Re: 7/12 Skooter PMPS 206

Good heavens, no! If it were easy, anyone could do it! :lol:

Skooter is looking great, Molly. I hope she gives you some nice, safe, low numbers tonight and surfs low blues for you tomorrow.
 
Re: 7/12 Skooter PMPS 206 +344

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaand, BOUNCE! :evil:

Anyone have a basketball we can play with? This boy sure likes to drive his momma nutzo
 
Re: 7/12 Skooter PMPS 206 +344

as far as tomorrow goes, i don't think you know enough yet to safely shoot 2u and just leave him. two cycles isn't really long enough to know what this dose will do. last night he may still have had the effects of dry food showing in his BGs. You also don't know if he'll eat catsickles yet or not, so it's hard to depend on them. I doubt they'll be fully frozen in time for you to try them tonight.

i'd lean towards giving a one-time reduced dose or skipping in the morning, even though neither one is ideal. of course you're going to come up with the same problem when you go to work on monday morning.

let's see what others think. maybe someone else has an idea.
 
Re: 7/12 Skooter PMPS 206 +344

I would rather skip tomorrow and see how he is doing as I do not have a choice about Monday.

He comes before anything else, so I am thinking I will skip my run, they do it every year and I can sign up for next year :)


He is waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay more important than a 5K.
 
Re: 7/12 Skooter PMPS 206 +344

It's exciting to see what Skooter will do! How about some blue surfing tonight?
 
Re: 7/12 Skooter PMPS 206 +344

With a +2 of 344, I am guessing not....but the one thing I am learning for sure.....you pretty much can't predict anything with this.....

And with that comment, I think I have learned the most important thing about this disease lolol

I just noticed that I need to update his subject line, it didn't do it right lol
 
Re: 7/12 Skooter PMPS 206 +2 344

I am planning on giving him his fourth (and final meal) of the night at +3, which is in about 15 minutes.....and then planning on a +4 reading....

Does that sound good?

I am also thinking of doing a test run tomorrow for Monday, while I know the numbers may be different, I plan to put the "frozen treat" out around 730, which is when I would be going to work on Monday and then 1. seeing how long it takes to melt and 2. if he eats it.
 
Re: 7/12 Skooter PMPS 206 +2 344

Max is the king of bouncing and diving. He has gone from 344 into blue numbers many times. I agree that predicting is often impossible. I'm right about 10%!! Take a look at his ss some time. :lol:
 
Re: 7/12 Skooter PMPS 206 +2 344

Sounds like a good plan to me!

OK now Skooter....time to come down ......there's a party to go to tonight and you don't want your mama upset with you!
 
Re: 7/12 Skooter PMPS 206 +2 344

Welpers, I think he is getting used to having these mini meals....I gave him his 1/3 of a can and he ate about half of it....I am guessing he will eat more in a little bit.

I had to use two of my smaller Rubbermaid containers as his containers...so hopefully with a knife tomorrow I can cut them out ok lol


I will check in at +4 for how he is doing and if I am good for testing for the night or if I should test more. I know that pretty much regardless of his numbers tomorrow (if he happens to go low and no one is around) I want to shoot his 2U as I have all the "weapons" I need against a hypo episode....however, is there a number that would be considered TOO low to shoot? I am not anticipating having that problem tomorrow, but if I don't ask the question now, then of course, tomorrow he will pull some crap and go super low just to mock me. So I figure better to ask now then wonder tomorrow.
 
Re: 7/12 Skooter PMPS 206 +2 344

most of us will shoot anything above 50, but you don't have enough data on how Skooter responds to do that

I'd suggest if he is below 150, you "stall", DON'T feed, and post for help. Make sure your subject line shows that you're stalling and needing help

If push comes to shove, you can always go by the information in the Sticky at the top of the page on Shooting and handling low numbers

Don't worry so much..You GOT this!! :-D
 
Re: 7/12 Skooter PMPS 206 +2 344

Lovely cycle today for Skooter. :-D And very considerate of him to bounce at night so you can get a decent sleep. :lol:

People here shoot almost anything over 50, but only when they have the data to do so. We suggest 150 as the number where you post and ask for help before shooting. There are a few options you can do. You might want to cram a bit before hand by reviewing the Shooting and Handling Low Numbers sticky.

As for tomorrow, beans gotta have a life too. Cats will get back on track if they miss a cycle. As someone who has given more fur shots than I care to admit, and that's what a skip will be like.
 
Re: 7/12 Skooter PMPS 206 +2 344

I have read that several times, but I have a feeling I will be looking at it more and more...

The pizza is gone, so it is a good thing I was able to get some chocolate tonight :)

As for tomorrow, I don't think I would really have a lot of fun as I would be spending all my time worrying about him.....so I am ok with missing this. I have another 5K I am signed up for in a couple of weeks anyways. I also think I will have an easier time going to work on Monday know I did a "test run" tomorrow, especially with the frozen food thing, to make sure Skoots will eat it. Plus, come on, quality time with this handsome guy?!?!? Who in their right mind would turn THAT down :P
 
Falling nicely (I think nicely) into this mommabeans favorite color, lellow (though I may have to change it to blue or green :P)

I was re-reading the sticky note, so I am thinking it would behoove me to get a +10 and/or +11 before his shot tomorrow.

It looks like it was a 36 mg/dL drop per hour average....so I am thinking I might be able to get some sleep and wake up around +10 (which would be 430) and get a reading then? Or should I get another one in before that?
 
I think you are good to sleep until a +10 or +11. When Neko was on Lantus she didn't go down at any steady rate, but she would slow down the fall as she got closer to nadir.
 
Yay!! Snooze time for momma!

Had a lot to digest today between Skooter's second cycle on all wet and dad's dx.....I am ready for some I-) I-) I-) I-) I-) I-) I-) I-)

Oh how I miss drinking caffeine......
 
Great job today, Molly. I'm glad you have the chance to get some rest tonight.

Some cats get second dips, some don't, and some get them some of the time but not all of the time ;-) :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top