milfordcollector
Member Since 2012
Good evening Lantus Land!!!! I haven't updated Sabrina's ss for quite a while but need some advice from experienced eyes regarding the recovery from DKA. She was hospitalized from last Saturday 7/5 through Wednesday 7/9. The vet sent me home with amoxil, sub Q fluids(150ml per day), Tumil-K, anti nausea if needed, appy stimulant, & denamarin. The vet started her Lantus back up Wed.(1U) morning at 10am........needless to say her bg #s didn't warrant a shot Wed. night I tested her ketones in the afternoon...1.7. Now no shot til Thursday morning amps(+23.75) 1U..ketones 1.0....she hung out between 42-58 all through the day & +12 93....(no pm shot) Friday started @ 269, amps 278 .75U, ketones 3.5.....ended @ +14.50 79, no shot again. Today ambg 225, amps 249 .5U, ketones 3.5, now at +9.75 58......no pm shot so far...............I'm so confused......will sub q bring down the bg, I have her on FF kitten turkey, & prescription DM....she has an adversion to food so I've been syringe feeding her, tried all tricks stinky cheese, tuna, cooked chicken.....whatever I can think of :? I just ordered more test strips(ketone, blood) for my meter but the earliest I'll possibly get them is Tuesday........................SUGGESTIONS, ADVICE, OR JUST SUPPORT IS GREATLY APPRECIATED...........Thanks Cindy & Sabrina cat_pet_icon
recap: 7/9
amps(At vet, no reading) 1U
+4.75 90, ketones 1.7
+11.25 54
+16.50 151
7/10
+23.75.....amps 173 1U.....fed & waited 1/2 h before dosing
+3 86, ketones 1.0
+3.75 50
+4 45
+4.25 42
+4.5 52
+4.75 50
+5 54
+5.25 57
+6 43
+6.25 54
+6.5 52
+7 58
+7.5 50
+8.25 46
+9 45
+9.75 55
+12 93..............exhausted, can't do this to her & I anymore.........we rested all night, no shot I-)
7/11
ambg 269........fed 2syringe purina dm
amps 278, ketones 3.5 .75U
+1 257
+2.5 211
+3.75 170
+6 135
+9.5 82
+12 81
+12.75 96
+13.50 98
+14.50 79.......................again no shot tonight
7/12
ambg 225...........fed 2syringe ff kitten turkey
amps 249 , ketones 3.5 .5U
+1.5 228
+3.5 162
+5 92
+9 51
+9.75 58
+11.25 107...................so far no shot tonight................... ohmygod_smile
recap: 7/9
amps(At vet, no reading) 1U
+4.75 90, ketones 1.7
+11.25 54
+16.50 151
7/10
+23.75.....amps 173 1U.....fed & waited 1/2 h before dosing
+3 86, ketones 1.0
+3.75 50
+4 45
+4.25 42
+4.5 52
+4.75 50
+5 54
+5.25 57
+6 43
+6.25 54
+6.5 52
+7 58
+7.5 50
+8.25 46
+9 45
+9.75 55
+12 93..............exhausted, can't do this to her & I anymore.........we rested all night, no shot I-)
7/11
ambg 269........fed 2syringe purina dm
amps 278, ketones 3.5 .75U
+1 257
+2.5 211
+3.75 170
+6 135
+9.5 82
+12 81
+12.75 96
+13.50 98
+14.50 79.......................again no shot tonight
7/12
ambg 225...........fed 2syringe ff kitten turkey
amps 249 , ketones 3.5 .5U
+1.5 228
+3.5 162
+5 92
+9 51
+9.75 58
+11.25 107...................so far no shot tonight................... ohmygod_smile