7/12 Mr Kitty "AMPS" 163, coming home, PMBG 49, +7.5 79

FrostD

Member Since 2020
Yesterday

He was stable overnight, "we didn't give him his insulin this morning because his blood sugar was 163. I actually wouldn't give insulin til tomorrow" :banghead::banghead: I need a triple eye roll emoji. Whatever, I'll do it with higher dose when I get home and be off schedule.

"He doesn't really want to be handled this morning" haha yes I know, my poor sweet kitty.
 
Lots of kisses all over Mr Kitty, unless he would object - then just air kisses and virtual cuddles.
Love and best health help and wishes. I know people say it a lot but Seriously, Mr Kitty is so lucky to have you, Melissa:bighug:
 
Melissa, I just caught up on your previous condo. I’m so sorry you are dealing with another issue but so glad that he’s coming home. :bighug:
 
Max ended up with chf and after they removed the fluid it came right back. I was told watch his appetite and respiration rate of course.
 
So glad he’s coming home!! I understand dealing with multiple issues, lots of love to Mr Kitty and to you as well. Be kind to yourself - even if it’s just a deep breath or two right now.
 
Thanks everyone!

He's home. Went right for food and water so I'll take that as a good sign. He was 112 and ketones 0.2 when I got home, so I'll just count this morning as a skip and start again at usual time tonight so I'm not 4-5 hours off schedule.

We are worried about fluid coming back, we just cannot do another $2500 ER trip. I still need to talk to regular vet, now that we know the signs and that it will likely come back im hoping he can do another tap for cheaper. I don't think we'd tap again beyond that.
 
So glad to hear he is feeling better, and home, and eating, and with decent BG and ketone numbers despite the skipped dose. :bighug::bighug: Good luck dealing with the new feeding regime.

AND I am soooo impressed with your s/s formula for copying amount of insulin left...going to try and copy!
 
So glad to hear he is feeling better, and home, and eating, and with decent BG and ketone numbers despite the skipped dose. :bighug::bighug: Good luck dealing with the new feeding regime.

AND I am soooo impressed with your s/s formula for copying amount of insulin left...going to try and copy!
Thank you!

And be careful with that...it's a bit funky if there's anything but numbers in the dose cell. And if you happen to merge cells across the dose line. It was more helpful at higher doses and with a vial lol but still a good reminder! You might have to play with it a bit to get it to work properly on yours.
 
Thank you!

And be careful with that...it's a bit funky if there's anything but numbers in the dose cell. And if you happen to merge cells across the dose line. It was more helpful at higher doses and with a vial lol but still a good reminder! You might have to play with it a bit to get it to work properly on yours.
:) I think I figured it out (changed from a COUNT to a COUNTA since I put text in the dose cell for the R doses) though it was random trial and error to calculate how many rows to put in the offset formula. Not convinced it's going to come out completely right because of the R text, but good enough for me. Question - is the multiplying by 0.9 to account for wastage?

Glad to see he is feeling so good to steal boulardii pills! (also, what? Wouldn't have thought those are worth stealing!)
 
:) I think I figured it out (changed from a COUNT to a COUNTA since I put text in the dose cell for the R doses) though it was random trial and error to calculate how many rows to put in the offset formula. Not convinced it's going to come out completely right because of the R text, but good enough for me. Question - is the multiplying by 0.9 to account for wastage?

Glad to see he is feeling so good to steal boulardii pills! (also, what? Wouldn't have thought those are worth stealing!)
Yep! Wastage and a general buffer (it was more of an issue at higher doses, force me to order a little sooner). I had same trouble with offset formula. Just remember to reconfigure it when you start new vial/pen!
 
I'm so happy to hear he's home and liking the new menu! :) Neko dove right into raw as well. I'd always heard you needed to transition, for her that was only because I left some canned on the side, she preferred the raw. Took two days for me to transition her.

You've still got some 4 unit depot there, but I'd be tempted at 1.5 units to ease him back in. It's so much easier to go up than fight low numbers, especially if you aren't 100% sure his appetite will continue.
 
@Wendy&Neko PMPS 49.....thoughts? I can stall for 20 more mins

He's already eating raw with probiotic (because I didn't expect this), but no meal completer in it yet.
 
Oh, and since he did a 49 with no shot this morning, I think another no shot experiment might be in order. If nothing else, it'll drain that depot some more. Let's see where he is in 20 minutes.
 
Don't worry about the clavamox. When Neko got sudden fluids in her chest, she went from green to reds in a couple hours. Heart stress/disease causes insulin resistance/higher numbers.
 
It's really hard to say if he's on his way up, or he got that food bump from his food, mostly because he's new to raw so you don't have data on it yet. Can you stall any more? Your post said you could do just 20 minutes stall.
 
It's really hard to say if he's on his way up, or he got that food bump from his food, mostly because he's new to raw so you don't have data on it yet. Can you stall any more? Your post said you could do just 20 minutes stall.
I can't, I'll be too far off schedule :/
 
Although it's been 8 minutes now so probably by the time.you give a reply i can test again lol

At this point I'm thinking skip as an experiment, I have plenty of ketone strips if needed. I can test one more time, if he's above 75-ish I'm thinking 0.5? Gut tells me 1.5 too high
 
Feed that boy! If you haven't already. I'd get a before bed test, as part of the experiment.

ETA: Could you change that PMPS on your subject line to a PMBG (blood glucose), cause you didnt' shoot that 49. :eek:
 
Feed that boy! If you haven't already. I'd get a before bed test, as part of the experiment.

ETA: Could you change that PMPS on your subject line to a PMBG (blood glucose), cause you didnt' shoot that 49. :eek:
Done! He polished off the rest of that raw in no time.

Will get a +2/3 ish.

Regular vet called back just now (this guy doesn't sleep I swear), he said he really doesn't think the cabergoline is tied to fluid. There's just nothing he knows of that would logically tie them together, especially after just two doses. So that's a bit of a relief.
 
Regular vet called back just now (this guy doesn't sleep I swear), he said he really doesn't think the cabergoline is tied to fluid. There's just nothing he knows of that would logically tie them together, especially after just two doses. So that's a bit of a relief.
Whew! Good to know. It's the only cost effective treatment currently out there.
 
Glad Mr. Kitty's taken to the raw food so easily and he's doing better. Out of curiosity which meat did you opt to get for him?
 
Glad Mr. Kitty's taken to the raw food so easily and he's doing better. Out of curiosity which meat did you opt to get for him?
I'm sure he'd transition immediately if I let him! Need the completer first.

We grabbed chicken breast and turkey tenderloin since those were the vacuum sealed ones. I chunked it...I may never do that again lol maybe a mix of ground and chunked, because that is time consuming and a little hectic with kids running around.

Friday's shopping trip I may try to grab a lean beef and pork, we'll see. I'm waiting on vet to reply about definition of low fat.
 
I'm sure he'd transition immediately if I let him! Need the completer first.

We grabbed chicken breast and turkey tenderloin since those were the vacuum sealed ones. I chunked it...I may never do that again lol maybe a mix of ground and chunked, because that is time consuming and a little hectic with kids running around.

Friday's shopping trip I may try to grab a lean beef and pork, we'll see. I'm waiting on vet to reply about definition of low fat.
I've never chunked meat because I've always bought it pre-ground, but I hear it's great for cleaning the teeth and getting the cat to eat slower so it doesn't do the scarf and barf. Curious to know what your vet says about what low fat is. I imagine lower fat means higher carb and that won't do, but if you had to juggle between CHF and diabetes, the CHF would win in this instance, if only for a short time.
 
I've never chunked meat because I've always bought it pre-ground, but I hear it's great for cleaning the teeth and getting the cat to eat slower so it doesn't do the scarf and barf. Curious to know what your vet says about what low fat is. I imagine lower fat means higher carb and that won't do, but if you had to juggle between CHF and diabetes, the CHF would win in this instance, if only for a short time.
So he just emailed back, he said there really isn't a clear guideline. His recommendation is <30% DMB especially given pancreatitis history, but he said really it could be as simple as just going lower than what he's currently at with the Friskies. Interestingly, he said chylothorax can be tied to pancreatitis.

It doesn't seem like CHF. Current leaning is chylothorax or cancer, should know in a few days

.
 
Last edited:
Just catching up as I haven’t been around for a few days. I am so sorry you and Mr Kitty have been through this. Se ding many strong Aussie vines to him
 
+7.5 79.

Appetite back to normal. Interesting. I guess I'll see where he is AM, but now I'm thinking 0.5U if high enough/rising on own (and will stall without feeding this time if needed :rolleyes:)
 
Back
Top