7/12 Jupiter PMBG/81 yay!! Pill and food!!!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamie & Jupiter

Member Since 2013
Link to yesterdays condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=99719


Ever since I gave Jupiter his prozac and tramadol this morning, he has been hiding. He is acting so scared. I think hes afraid of me since I had to forced him to take his pills. :sad: I picked him up and he lunged out of my arms scratching my chest and arm. I get grass to coax him out from under the couch - he comes out for a second to eat the grass and then hurries back under the couch.

Last night I noticed he was laying with his tail between his legs - doesnt this usually indicate that the cat is scared? He was laying like this even when he was being cute and rolling over and purring when I was petting him. His pupils are very dilated while hes on this pain medicine and become a little less dilated after about 8 hours - but still more dilated then normal.

He wont eat either... I dont know what to do.... :cry: I felt like last night things were great, and he was acting like he felt better.... and now today.... I just dont know... all he wants to do is hide


Todays numbers:
AMPS-67
Skipped Shot
PMPS-81

Recap of yesterday:
AMPS-71
Skipped Shot
PMPS-87
Skipped Shot
+6-55
 
Re: 7/12 Jupiter AMBG/67 Jupe hiding and acting weird

Awwww, poor Jupe :sad: Maybe the pain med is making his tummy a little upset?? Sending appy and feel better vines to you guys :YMHUG:
 
Re: 7/12 Jupiter AMBG/67 Jupe hiding and acting weird

Hi Jamie. Nice AMPS for Jupiter this morning. I'm sorry I can't offer any advice or suggestions on the pain meds or A/B other than have you tried pill pouches? Know that we have you, Dane and Jupiter in our Prayers.
 
Re: 7/12 Jupiter AMBG/67 Jupe hiding and acting weird

Okay I did get him to eat a few licks of food. I am sure he is afraid of me :sad: :sad: :sad: I tried petting him and he moved himself back even more :cry:

thank you both for the visits

thank you for the prayers. He used to take a pill pocket everyday for his prozac (for his anxiety) but ever since we started using them to give antibiotics he wont eat them anymroe
 
Re: 7/12 Jupiter AMBG/67 Jupe hiding and acting weird

It seems like everything comes with a price. Wish the antibiotics and pain pills just made him feel better with no other problems. I feel for you Jamie, cause that is how Cleo was when we started the sugardance. Hiding and running from me all the time. Even before I reached for her.

Prayers that Jupe comes around, and stops acting scared of you cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 7/12 Jupiter AMBG/67 Jupe hiding and acting weird

OH Jamie.....you get one good night with a happy Jupe, and then..........your back to square one! I feel so badly for you 2 right now..... such an ordeal!

I am so glad you went to the vet's yesterday and got a shot of antibiotics....that will help!

the only thing I can add is.....a few years ago Tomcat had surgery to remove a surgical pin in his leg..by his leg...(I didn't even know it was in there!!! Prior owners were good enough to take him when it broke but didn't return to remove the pin 2 months later....he had that in there for YEARS!! ) and a tooth extraction ...anyway.....he was given tramadol at the vets and I brought some home too. well, let me tell ya......I never gave them to him. I couldn't. He was so freaked out and spooked by everything....all wide eyed and WILD EYED and Black eyed!!....looking around constantly like a laser show was going on all the walls. A totally freaked out cat! Tom would have scratched me if I could have got close enough...! Perhaps Jupe is scared not understanding the "weirdness" ....hence, his tail tucked under and he clawed his way off of you.

I know you want to continue to give the meds, but perhaps he is just kinda in spaceland right now and that is certainly an unknown for him~ something cats don't like!

I know we all are COUNTING the days for Thursday...surgery day! and on to better days for you all

I know you are probably sick of everyone saying this but: WOW how about those non-insulin numbers!!! when and how did that happen right?

congrats!

~kelly
 
Re: 7/12 Jupiter AMBG/67 Jupe hiding and acting weird

Hi Jamie - we are saying prayers for Jupiter! I'm thinking he's just feeling really weird on the pain meds. I've taken some pretty strong ones too and they just make you feel so loopy and weird. I know it's horribly stressful when you don't know what is wrong or why they are acting a certin way.

Hang in there!
 
Re: 7/12 Jupiter AMBG/67 Jupe hiding and acting weird

Hi Jamie, Tramadol can upset tummy, looked at my bottle it says take with food,haven't use it it years but think It gave me a tummy ache without food, maybe give a bit of something then give, just a thought.. last thing you need is more worries. healing vines and ((hugs))
 
Re: 7/12 Jupiter AMBG/67 Jupe hiding and acting weird

I got him to eat some of this iams maximum calorie food.... I have to leave for a few hours got some stuff we need to do today. Jupe is due for more pain meds in an hour but I wont be home at that time... I think it may be better to give him a little longer off the meds anyways. Gonna leave out lots of varieties of food while were gone with hopes he will eat something
 
Re: 7/12 Jupiter AMBG/67 Jupe hiding and acting weird

I'm pretty sure that Barb posted in Ann&Maggie's condo the other day that both Checkers and her daughter's cat had the same reaction to Tramadol. Maybe shoot a PM her way to double-check on that. Can your vet give you some bupe for the pain instead?

The prayers cotniue from here.....
 
Re: 7/12 Jupiter AMBG/67 Jupe hiding and acting weird

Jamie, here is the original post I made when we tried Checkers on tramadol/Ultram
Liz/Zener found it for me yesterday...thanks Liz
There was a discussion about it yesterday in Ann/Maggie's condo.
My DD's cat reacted the same way. Others did too, but they're in old condos, and I can't find them again.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=51833
 
Re: 7/12 Jupiter AMBG/67 Jupe hiding and acting weird

He's tripping on the pain meds. Everything is perceived in an altered format and he just doesn't have the ability to understand that. No wonder he's freaked out.
Soft lighting, minimal noise and stimulation, mild confinement to 1 room with soft furnishings while he comes down off it ... the same things you do with someone having a bad trip on drugs (courtesy of a former job answering a drug abuse hotline!)

Hang in there.
 
Re: 7/12 Jupiter AMBG/67 Jupe hiding and acting weird

Mine reacts like that too.... except she adds being over-stimulated and paces all over the house. She just can't relax.
Is there any way you can make the dose a little smaller.... maybe shave some of the partial pill down a tad.

He definitely needs a quiet place to be. I've made tents with sheets over mine when she would settle in a spot.... giving her a hiding place.
They truly don't understand why they feel so bizarre.
It's a trade off.... pain or bizarre.
 
Re: 7/12 Jupiter AMBG/67 Jupe hiding and acting weird

Jamie & Jupiter said:
Okay I did get him to eat a few licks of food. I am sure he is afraid of me :sad: :sad: :sad: I tried petting him and he moved himself back even more :cry:

thank you both for the visits

thank you for the prayers. He used to take a pill pocket everyday for his prozac (for his anxiety) but ever since we started using them to give antibiotics he wont eat them anymroe


Jamie,
Try wetting the pill pockets and rolling them in FortiFlora and see if Jupe will eat them. Salmon oil capsules poured over the pill pockets will work miracles, too if you have some.
 
Re: 7/12 Jupiter AMBG/67 Jupe hiding and acting weird

Jamie --

Please call your vet. There's a drug interaction. It's not lethal so don't get upset. It's just that Jupe is probably feeling weird, hence the hiding. You need to know which drug to stop. IMHO, the tramadol is the one to discontinue. If you need a pain med, buprenorphine has much less of an interaction with Prozac. I don't think this is simply a paradoxical reaction to a pain med.

There's a drug interaction between tramadol and Prozac. This is from Wikipedia:
When animals are administered tramadol, adverse reactions can occur. The most common are constipation, upset stomach, decreased heart rate.[citation needed] In case of overdose, mental alteration, pinpoint pupils and seizures may appear. In such cases, veterinarians should evaluate the correct treatment for these events. Some contraindications have been noted in treated animals taking certain other drugs. Tramadol should not be co-administered with selegiline or any other psychoactive class of medication such as selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors (SSRIs), tricyclic antidepressants, or monoamine oxidase inhibitors.[citation needed] In animals, tramadol is removed from the body via liver and kidney excretion. Animals suffering from diseases in these systems should be monitored by a veterinarian, as it may be necessary to adjust the dose.
Prozac is an SSRI. The interactions are everywhere I searched. Your vet should know about the interactive effects of these two meds.
 
Re: 7/12 Jupiter AMBG/67 Jupe hiding and acting weird

I actually called the vet immediately after giving the first dose of tramadol to ask about the interactions with the prozac. She said it was perfectly fine to give the 2 together. He is acting really good right now... purring and happy and acting like he feels well.... I only waited 8 hours this morning since the last dose of the tramadol and I really think I should have waited longer... I will probably give a very small dose tonight... maybe in a few hours from now since he seems to be doing well now. its been 10 hours since the last dose. I think I will wait til its been about 12 hours and shave off some of the pill to give a small dose
 
Re: 7/12 Jupiter AMBG/67 Jupe hiding and acting weird

I've never used tramadol. But, I have used Buprenex, and usually I give way less than the vet prescribes.
When J.D. had his dental in January I had to give him bupe for one week, every 8 hours, but I ended up halving the dose because J.D. was pacing and wobbily on when given what the vet said to give. Almost everytime I've used bupe, I've ended up giving (sometimes a lot) less than the vet prescribed.
I hope Jupe remains happy and purry tonight and sending eating good vines to him.
 
Re: 7/12 Jupiter AMBG/67 Jupe hiding and acting weird

He did eat a little bit just now... and a little is better then nothing... i had to open an appetizer and 3 cans of food to even get him to lick some... what he ate this morning he would not eat now. hes never been so picky. never met any cat this picky.

im going to wait until 12 hours since the last dose and break the pills smaller and see how he does. the vet is open tomorrow so if he is acting really weird after tonights dose maybe i will call in the morning? not that they ever return the calls... and i have gotta call back atleast 3 times to get any question answered.... :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 7/12 Jupiter AMBG/67 Jupe hiding and acting weird

If any questions call your pharmacist they know a lot of what works together on meds, yes, I was thinking same thing, drug interaction. Myself have been given things that don't go together, doctors aren't great at giving meds but Pharmacist they do this all the time and are great for info. animals and humans get same meds these days. Still sending lots of healing vines to you.
 
Re: 7/12 Jupiter AMBG/67 Jupe hiding and acting weird

Well he is acting okay right now and his pupils less dilated. I am thinking of just giving him a very small piece of pain medicine tonight. I would like to see him eat first though in case he runs and hides after giving him the pill.
 
Re: 7/12 Jupiter PMBG/81

((Jamie & Jupe)) Got the numbers down and now you're on a totally different ride. I do hope Jupe settles down and stays happy purry where he belongs! Hang in there!!
 
Re: 7/12 Jupiter PMBG/81 yay!! got jupe to take pill!

Okay sorry guys but I gotta brag!!! I came up with a good idea tonight and it worked!!! WOOHHOOOO feel like I finally did something right !!!!! Okay so Jupiter loves grass, thats how we coax him out from under the couch... So I gave him just a small piece of pain medicine tonight.... wrapped it in a small tiny piece of a pill pocket... and wrapped that in some grass and held it together and fed it to him... he gobbled it up!!!!!

YAY!!!!!!!
 
Re: 7/12 Jupiter PMBG/81 yay!! got jupe to take pill!

MOL, I love bribing the cat, what every works, great umber for Jupe tonight Yay. good job mom :smile:
 
Re: 7/12 Jupiter PMBG/81 yay!! got jupe to take pill!

OKAY SO.... FINALLY GOT HIM BACK OUT FROM UNDER THE COUCH!!! used some more grass to coax him... then.... I dipped some of the grass into a FF appetizer... wanted to show him FF appetizer was yum! Then I fed him by hand a few pieces of the appetizer... then I stopped and he stopped eating... so I kept feeding him by hand until he didnt want anymore... I dont know why but he liked when I held it in my fingers for him. Will keep trying this!!!!!! Hes never liked this before but maybe he wants to babied since he doesnt feel well.

I am happy again tonight. Really bad day - but right now things are good!
 
Hi Jamie,
So happy to hear you came up with that great idea!
And I'm glad Jupiter is eating!!!
Good job! Both of you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top