7/12 Hershey PMPS(316) +3(271) +7(269)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Member Since 2012
7/11 Hershey

HAPPY FURSDAY, EVERYBODY!!!!

Beautiful sunny day here, but a chance of storms...well, it IS summer! :lol: Hershey and Oreo go the the vet this afternoon - as I said in yesterday's condo - I emailed her a link to the Tilley website and the Roomp Rand and gave her a snippet of the Protocol we follow because I couldn't print all of that out.

Hershey has been 8 cycles on this dose: stayed completely pink in 2, saw yellow in 2, blue in 3 and green in 1, so far. How's that for spreading the colors around?

Well, much to do before the vet appointment, so, I'll scoot.

Have a great day -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)

AMPS (331) +12 - Shot .75u at 7:00am
+4 (180)
+5 (170)
- fed - Grabbed a couple bites Oreo's food before I could stop him, so ~ 7% carbs
+7.5 (142)

PMPS (316) +12 - Shot .75u at 7:00pm
+3 (271)
+4 (221) - fed
+5 (252) - eating a little more of his +4 food
+7 (269)
 
Re: 7/12 Hershey AMPS(331) +4(180) +5(170)

I was just thinking...maybe I should've scheduled his appt according to his cycle, so maybe he'd show some good numbers while there. Oh well, live and learn. This time I scheduled according to the beans' schedule - what was I thinking? :lol:

Think I'll grab one more test before we leave, just to see how the drive, etc, affects him.

Later -
 
Re: 7/12 Hershey AMPS(331) +4(180) +5(170) +7.5(142)

+7.5 (142)

Decided to go ahead and test since I can pack up the meter to go. Not green, but I'll take a pretty blue surf :-D
 
Re: 7/12 Hershey AMPS(331) +4(180) +5(170) +7.5(142)

Home from the vet with two NEGATIVE kitties! :-D :-D

Went in feeling kind of prepared, had meter with recent numbers, computer to access SS if WiFi available, had copied SS to desktop of computer in case no internet, in same folder copy of Roomp Rand and Reader's Digest version of protocol.

The vet didn't even stick her head in the door of the exam room. :sad: The assistant drew their blood and weighed them upon my request. Each had lost a pound, according to their scale. Each was supposed to weigh 12 pounds. Oreo weighed in at 11.1 and Hershey at 9.5.

I had asked about a urinalysis and the secretary said okay. The assistant wanted to know if I had brought it with me. Uhm, no. I don't usually carry cat urine around just in case...After drawing his blood, they tried to get a specimen and he was non-compliant. Yeah, no, I don't want you trying to squeeze urine out of me, either, thank you very much. :roll: She sent us home with a specimen cup.

I asked about dental and she asked if anyone had ever looked at his teeth...uhm, not that I know of. At this point, the kitties were already in the van and she said for us to look at them and if we saw a lot of plaque, then he needs to be seen for it. He's 10-years old, I'm guessin' there's a lot of build-up in 10 years!
thduh2.gif
She suggesting us using a child soft toothbrush and brushing the outside of his teeth, not worrying about the inside. She offered to sell me some flavored toothpaste. I asked if it had sugar in it, reminding her that he's diabetic, and she said she didn't think so, but would check. YEP! Sugar. So, we're to try using water and a little baking soda.

She said we'd need to make an appt for one of the docs to look at his teeth. After explaining that I didn't want to make another appt just for that, she said they could go ahead and do his prelim lab work at that time, too. We discussed a little about how things would go before and after, the procedure and an estimate.

So, I was actually over-prepared as nobody even asked about his diabetes. But, we did confirmation that they don't have feline leukemia, so that alone was worth the trip!!
 
Re: 7/12 Hershey AMPS(331) +7.5(142) Home from VET

That is a nice blue surf. Hope the vetty visit didn't spoil it. Woohoo for two negatives! Phew! I know you're glad to have that taken care of. Now on to the dental. :roll:
Liz
 
Re: 7/12 Hershey AMPS(331) +7.5(142) Home from VET

sometimes vetty visits make you go .. ohmygod_smile Glad that you have two negative kitties though! Hopefully you have success with teeth brushing .. it was a no go in this house!
 
Re: 7/12 Hershey AMPS(331) +7.5(142) Home from VET

Wow, on the vet visit, but good that they are both negative. I have been through so many vets, just to find one that I liked. I was never happy with any of them. At least the new one I found complimented me on the SS and liked our site. That was a big plus for me. I can't believe she didn't ask about the FD! If I were you, before you get the cleaning done, ask on this site about what to do, we have a long procedure as to what to do before, during and after.

Nice blue for the "after" vet!

Thanks so much for all your supportive visits to our condo!
 
Re: 7/12 Hershey AMPS(331) +7.5(142) Home from VET

Good news Libby. Odd about some of the other things but that seems to be how some vet visits go. I am not looking forward to finding a new one ohmygod_smile
Keep on with the blue, it is a good color for Hershey!
 
Re: 7/12 Hershey PMPS(316)

Hi guys,
Yay on the negative feline leukemia. Boo on the rest of the "exam". Have you considered looking for a new vet?

Hershey had really nice blues today, so he's allowed a bounce!!

Have a fine evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 7/12 Hershey PMPS(316)

I didn't test Hershey after the vet visit, because I wanted to hang onto the blues as long as possible. :-D He seems no worse for wear and is sleeping happily. Oreo has been a little grumpy since we got home, was even grumpy with Jessica, which is RARE! But, he seemed more traumatized by the whole thing, so I told her just to give him a little time.

Hey, Liz. Thanks for stopping by. I was THRILLED to hear two negatives!! That was the longest :15 of my life!

Hey, Devon. Good to see you. Yeah, I'll let you know how the toothbrushing goes. I think that one has Doug's name written all over it! :lol:

Hey, Barb. Thanks for visiting us. Yes, MAJOR YAY! for two negatives!! Good idea. I'll ask around here about the dental. I did some reading from the link Sienne was kind enough to share. It helped me know some of the questions to ask. :smile:

Hey, Donna. Glad to see you. :smile: I hope you find a new vet without too much trouble. We started with this vet because she was my mother-in-law's vet. But, she's about 25 - 30 min away and we now have two less than 10 min from us. Doug keeps talking about finding somewhere closer. We'll see...

Hey, Ella. Thanks for checking in on us. I keep going back and forth about changing vets. Initially, she was less than nice about us not wanting to do things the way she'd always done them. But, since then she has been more like herself and even prescribed Levemir, which she is completely unfamiliar with. (Doug said she went along just to keep me off her back! :lol: ) She learned we were using half-unit syringes and asked that we bring some to show her since she'd never seen them. So, if she's willing to learn with us... :YMSIGH: I just don't know...like I said...I keep going back and forth...

:lol: :lol: Yes, those blues were nice to see, but don't give him too much permission for a bounce...give an inch and all that...
 
Re: 7/12 Hershey PMPS(316)

Great news on the two negatives, and that the vet can give you the answer without having to sent the sample to the lab to get the results. Not so great news on not checking if a dental is needed. It would have been nice for the vet or the tech to at least have a look at the teeth. As for needing dentals, it's really ECID. Neko is 11 and at her dental had just a bit of tartar on the upper left but otherwise the teeth of a much younger cat. Theo is 8, had a canine tooth removed 2-3 years ago and a lot more tartar.

I understand your debate about changing dentists. I'm debating the same thing myself. Theo has a different vet (needed a place with all females) and they have experience with Lantus, a vet and 2 techs who had diabetic cats. Neko's vet I've been to for years but they started Neko with Caninsulin. Sounds like it's maybe time to "interview" the vets closer to you.
 
Re: 7/12 Hershey PMPS(316) +3(271) +4(221)

Hey, Wendy, and thanks - YES! Glad to have the negative result!! I kind of figured someone should at least look at Hershey's teeth by the time he's 10. Oreo is 5 and I was thinking maybe after we got Hershey squared away we'd see about his teeth, too. I actually picked a brochure today to get a quote on pet insurance. I saw another one, but it didn't cover FD. This one said it did - and yearly dental! So, I thought it worth checking into.

+3 (271)
+4 (221) - fed

Well, bless my heart...I just realized I'm off by an hour...no wonder Hershey doesn't act hungry. Of course, Oreo "spoke not a word, but went straight to his work" and is happily pigging out! :lol: :lol:

Bless Hershey's heart, it means another test in an hour...
 
Re: 7/12 Hershey PMPS(316) +3(271) +4(221) +5(252)

+5 (252) - eating a little more of his +4 food

Surely +4 (221) wasn't his nadir...could it have been?? Did I mess him up by feeding at +4??
 
Re: 7/12 Hershey PMPS(316) +3(271) +4(221) +5(252)

I think he's within meter variance and looks pretty to flat to me. However, Gracie does this.....she comes down to about +3/+4, heads up about +5, comes down again +8/+9.

So I wouldn't necessarily discount him for the rest of the night ;-)

Glad the tests were negative!!
 
Thanks, Marje. Looks pretty flat to me, too, but better flat yellow than flat red! Going to get a +7 in a few minutes, then call it a night. Doubtful I'll get any more tests before shot time. Can't seem to stay up as many nights in a row as I used to...

Major relief about the negatives!! :-D

+7 (269)

Nine cycles on .75u: 1 cycle saw green; 3 saw blue; 3 saw yellow and 2 were all pink...Is he asking for more juice or more time to decide about this dose???

Goodnight......
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top