7/12 Gobnait AMPS 108 +9 78 +11 112 (u2.5) +2 106 +3 90

Status
Not open for further replies.

MJ and Gobnait

Member Since 2011
good kitty. neuropathy looking better too. not quite on the toes like in her profile picture but getting there

7/1/2011 Shot 3.0u NOTES: Feeding only diabetic food but still also dry diabetic food

* no AMPS
* +3 106
* +6 128
* +9 183
* PMPS 224

7/2/2011 Shot 3.0u NOTES: Spoke with Vet on phone. He suggesting lowering to 2.5 from 3.

* AMPS 22
* +2 213
* +8 178
* PMPS 220 Shot 2.5u

7/3/2011 Shot 2.5u NOTES: now eating only wet food per reco from zobaline people

* AMPS
* +3 139
* +8 180
* PMPS 223 Shot 2.5 u

7/4 to 7/11: During this week I did test her occasionally but didn’t record. She was always around 120-180. She began to drop on 7/9/2011. On 7/10/2011 I joined the forum

7/11/2011 Shot 2.5u NOTES: 1st week as board member. Starting spreadsheet. Feeding only wet and meat (some sliced turkey today at breakfast)

* AMPS 121
* +5 86
* PMPS 107 Shot 2.25u.

7/12/2011

* AMPS 108
 
Re: 7/12 Gobnait AMPS 108

thanks!

glad I found you guys!

There is a similar forum I joined for my horse and the people on it saved his life when he was a foal. He would NOT be here now if I'd listened to my vet. Nothing like people with the hands on experience and knowledge share.
 
Re: 7/12 Gobnait AMPS 108

Morning....I haven't had a chance to welcome you and Gobnait yet but we send you a hearty welcome to LL! Gobnait's numbers are looking really nice. I've seen Sienne helping you out quite a bit and so I haven't jumped in much but we're all here to help.

Is there a way I can help you with your SS? If you can tell me if you have a google account or not, that will help. Once you do, I can send you some pretty easy directions. We had another person that couldn't get his SS going and I got one up and transferred ownership to him. So pls let me know.... easiest way is to post on our condo because I'm working today and can't get to many condos. Once we get a SS up for you, you can decide whether you want to do a recap of the previous day or not. Some people do, some don't. I find it helpful and if I'm helping someone, it's a neat thing to have but not necessary...easy to look at the SS.

The other thing we do is to post a link to the previous day's condo. Here's the link to your Sun/Mon condo:

7/11 Condo

Here's how you do that:
1. Go to previous day's condo and copy the browser address

2. Open up "new topic" for a new condo and in the large text area where you write, put your pointer and click on the URL button just below the Subject line. It will look like this:


3. Place your pointer in between the two url's and paste your copied browser address, now looks like this:
Paste browser address here

4. Replace the second bracket with an =
browser address

5. If you want to put a title in there (like Yesterday's condo or 7/11 Condo), then it would look like this:
Yesterday's Condo

Let me know if you have any questions!
 
Re: 7/12 Gobnait AMPS 108

Thanks Marjorie! I actually do have my spreadsheet formatted but until I get my laptop fixed, I'm having to use the one supplied by work and it is denying me access to Google docs. I do have a Google account. I just need my PC back from shop :)

and I'll post the condo tomorrow! (it's really just a piece of carpet at this point, not such a condo)

I'm holding out hope that this cat will reverse with lo carb food. She has historically eaten whatever she wanted, whenever and my food too so.... stopping that could make quite a difference!

Thanks to everyone for their help!
 
Re: 7/12 Gobnait AMPS 108

Hi guys, and welcome from us! I like how nice gobnait's numbers are looking .. Hope you guys have a great day!
 
Re: 7/12 Gobnait AMPS 108

Hi!! I just wanted to say welcome aboard!!

very nice amps today - and good luck with the food changes. I bet you'll find it will make a world of difference.

have a great day today!
 
Re: 7/12 Gobnait AMPS 108

Thanks Michelle.

your Mannie baby sure is dramatic. SO handsome too.

I'll need to post a pic of my other kitty Desmond. he's like your Mannie but orange. He was licking Gobnait for about 30 minutes last night. he seems to know something is up.

Frankly he's also getting a bit envious of the attention. He lined up this morning for his cosequin tab. ("where's MY meds!")
 
Re: 7/12 Gobnait AMPS 108

Just stopping in to day "welcome"! Gobnait's numbers are looking fabulous!!

Amy & Trixie
 
Re: 7/12 Gobnait AMPS 108

Wanted to stop by and say hello! Glad you are here. Gobnait's numbers look like they are responding well to the insulin. The food change will make a huge difference.

Good to see you and welcome again!
 
Re: 7/12 Gobnait AMPS 108

oh another fluffy white chested black kitty!

I just pricked her at +9 and she's 75. I am being told not to panic at these low numbers... but they're making me panicky
 
Re: 7/12 Gobnait AMPS 108

Those #s are very nice, and no reason to feel panicky. Frankly, I love those #s on Gobnait. :) Those are good #s. :) Someone will be here to help you. When's your next test at?

With regards to the meat, you could always try steaming some boneless, skinless chicken breasts (or thighs, or whatever comes boneless and skinless these days in the poultry department). What I do is I get the breasts, and cut them up into bite sized pcs, then steam them until done. Then put into a container (after they've cooled down, of course), and into the fridge. I give 1 oz. 2x/day between meals to help fill that void (mainly 1 oz. midday, and 1 oz. before I go to bed). It's a thought. :)
 
Re: 7/12 Gobnait AMPS 108

Thanks Angela. this helps!

Sounds like you're suggesting a catkins diet!

I picked up a few mini cans of the wellness diet and they both gobbled it up and are now passed out on my bed.

I test and shoot Gobnait again in 2 hours.
 
Re: 7/12 Gobnait AMPS 108

Hi MJ and Gobnait and welcome to Lantus Land.
You are doing extremely well. The switch to wet, lo carb food is already making a difference, so be sure to keep a watchful eye on Gobnait's numbers. She is a beautiful kitty.
With regard to tonight's shot, post your +11 number and ask for advice in your subject line (go back to your first post of today and edit the subject line there so that people will see it). I'm sure that one of the knowledgeable dosing people will be around then to give you advice.

Again, welcome!

Ella & Rusty (who loves Wellness Turkey)
 
Re: 7/12 Gobnait AMPS 108

Just stopped in to say Hi and Welcome! Gobnait's numbers are looking great!

78 is a great number but if it was me, I would test again before 2 hrs. (but that's just me - I would want to make sure the number doesn't tank) :-D)
 
Re: 7/12 Gobnait AMPS 108

OK. testing now as its just short of +11.

I'm telling her it was YOUR idea btw. she's not thrilled with me and all the poking.

Is it possible that blood is harder to draw when at lower numbers? It's become MORE difficult which seems backward.
 
Re: 7/12 Gobnait AMPS 108 +9 78 +11 112 do I need to test PM

Hi All! per suggestions above I just retested and levels are up a bit. She did also just eat 1/2 small can of wellness about 1 hour ago.

Can I just shoot her in an hour without testing? she has just hidden from me for the first time.

and why is it so hard to get blood today? I've really had to work her little ears!

She's showing excellent restraint in not clawing me. she just bunches up, puts ears back and meows her sad scratchy little meow.
 
Re: 7/12 Gobnait AMPS 108 +9 78 +11 112 do I need to test PM

Silly bean. You MUST test at pre-shot. Kitties can hand you all sorts of surprises and right now, you're too new at this to shoot a dropping number.

Also, no food within 2 hours of shot time. It can influence your pre-shot number.
 
Re: 7/12 Gobnait AMPS 108 +9 78 +11 112 do I need to test PM

Hi and welcome to LL! :-D :-D Definitely get a preshot test. Getting the +11 and the preshot shows you if the number is dropping or surfing/rising. If it is still dropping we usually advise a newbie to stall and retest without feeding. Try not to give food 2 hours before the preshot test. If you feed too close to the test it will influence the number.

Testing will become easier. Do you give her a treat after every test? Many of us use freeze dried chicken or salmon. A small cube of boiled chicken is good too. May cats including Tess actually sit and purr during the test in anticipation. As for the difficulty in getting a drop of blood are you warming her ears? That makes it a lot easier. You can use a rice sock or just hold and massage her ear until it warms up. What size lancets are you using?

Thanks for stopping by Tess's condo this morning.
 
Re: 7/12 Gobnait AMPS 108 +9 78 +11 112 do I need to test PM

Hi again, MJ,
Yes, you need to test PMPS. AMPS and PMPS are always required because you need to know your kitty's number before you shoot. Otherwise you are shooting "blind"--which is not a good idea. A lot can happen with the blood glucose between +11 and PMPS. The reason we suggest a +11 is to see if the bg is rising or dropping and to give the dosing experts a chance to look at the trend in numbers before PMPS. This give them a heads up. I am not a dosing expert, but I think that if Gobnait's number at PMPS is still going up, it is safe to shoot your normal dose. However, you don't have much data yet and you have just switched to wet, lo carb food, so if the number has dropped, please ask for help in your subject line. In the meantime, take a look at Libby's post on how to proceed if you get a low preshot number: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=46005

You say that you fed a little food at +10, so the +11 number probably reflects the food to a certain extent. In any event, PMPS is mandatory. I'm very sorry that Gobnait is hiding from her tests. Poor kitty. Do you give her a treat (e.g. freeze-dried chicken bits) after each test? Are you putting Neosporin with pain relief on her ears after the test? (I use the creme after the test and at night to aid the ear in healing, but many here use the ointment 20 minutes before the test, wipe most of it off, and test. Apparently this numbs the pain.)



Good luck, and I hope that one of the knowledgeable dosing people will be along to help you with PMPS.

Ella
p.s. I see that while I was struggling to write this you have already received great advice. So I'll just leave my post to reinforce it!!
 
Re: 7/12 Gobnait AMPS 108 +9 78 +11 112 do I need to test PM

yes on the pmps before shoot test - I know how hard that is when the kitty will not cooperate... the others have covered the reasons why. - good luck :-D
 
Re: 7/12 Gobnait AMPS 108 +9 78 +11 112 do I need to test PM

Just wanted to drop by and welcome you to LL. You are doing such a great job with Gobnait and the numbers look really good! I remember how nervous I was when Simon first posted a number in the 70's.

Thank you also for visiting Simon's condo today. With everything going on with my other cat Cleo, I have been a nervous wreck. Thanks for your kind words.

Good luck tonight. You have some wonderful people helping you tonight.
 
Re: 7/12 Gobnait AMPS 108 +9 78 +11 112 do I need to test PM

So sorry you are having a hard time testing but I'm jumping on the PS testing bandwagon. Just to give you an example, just a few days ago, Gracie fell from 102 to 45 in two hours; she has also fallen 50 from +11 to +12. If you are getting a low number at +11, there is the potential for it to be a lot lower (unshootable) at +12 like Gracie was the other night. It's hard to account for those unpredictable kitties!!!

Hope the testing is starting to go better.
 
Re: 7/12 Gobnait AMPS 108 +9 78 +11 112 do I need to test PM

Hi everyone. Ugh feel like a bad cat momma. Someone came over and I gave her her shot without a pre-test, watched a movie. she's happily lounging on a chair. she's been so stable maybe I'm lulled into a false sense of security.

so NO food prior to test?

OK. It's hard when I have to work all day. I came home today early and used that to my advantage to feed her the new food I'd bought. she was hungry and it wasn't great timing I guess. I am NOT going to be able to time my schedule to get this right. I'm only even able to get away with coming home early (or at all during the day) now because I have a badly sprained ankle.

I tested her just now at 2 hours after shooting and she's at 106. (4 hours after eating)

Nice big droplet of blood this time but it seemed waterey. Is this just the difference between and warm and cold ear? maybe that's it. It was nice and hot when I poked her just now.

I will pick up some bonito flakes. She does love fishy things.
 
Re: 7/12 Gobnait AMPS 108 +9 78 +11 112 do I need to test PM

Hi MJ - no, no bad cat momma.... we all do the best that we can. :-D She will get used to the testing - they all do. It does get easier. :-D I know how hard it is when one has to work - alot of people here do. When I was working I could only get minimal tests done. The morning was only the preshot and then the +1, I was off to work after that, returning home just in time for Mannie's shot in the PM - I truly had no AM cycle data. To compensate I tested as best I could in the evening hours. After a while you see the pattern and how the cycle will run for your kitty. You'll see the low number of the cycle. It was helpful for me too to try and test more often on the weekends, or when I was off. that too will give you an idea of how your kitty's cycle works. Grab a spot check whenever you can. I think most of us try for a preshot, and +2, and again later in the evening, like before bed - at least a minimum of two per cycle. The +2 is a good one, as it is when onset begins and the insulin starts to do it's thing, and can really tell you where your cycle is headed.

You'll figure out a schedule that works. I am sure of it - it was hard for me, but we worked it out. Some of us use auto feeders too so that we can feed when we are at work - that really helps. There are many of us that can't make it home during the day. Don't worry - it will all work out. You are committed to your kitty, and when we are things always come together.

and yes on the no food for 1.5 to 2 hours before testing - this way you know for sure that you have a true BG reading before shooting, and not one that is food influenced.

Sometimes the blood droplets are watery - Mannie does that too, and I've never been sure why that is. sometimes they are bright red, other times not. I often wonder if it's just because of where the lancet does its thing. Could be on the temp difference too!

I hope your ankle is on the mend. Those are never fun! I broke mine few years back, and know how hard it is without a healthy one! Good luck with our recovery!

Enjoy the rest of your evening. Gobnait's numbers are nice ones tonight. :-D Mannie loves those bonita flakes too! good stuff!
 
Re: 7/12 Gobnait AMPS 108 +9 78 +11 112 (u2.5) +1 106 +2 90

thanks!

Just tested again and she's at 90 3 hours after 2.5 units.

she was so active i was thinking she'd gone hypoglycemic! she was all over me purring, the she assaulted the cat nip banana. maybe she's just been feeling poorly for so long and is just feeling better now. i don't know how long she was sick before I saw the neuropathy.

This ankle may require surgery so... maybe that's good timing. I'll be home most days and can test. I'll go for a full read tomorrow WITH treats. i have frozen shrimp in the freezer that i just always have for my mistreated cats... I'll give her one after the poke.

blood droplet just now was HUGE and bright and gushy. so odd.

I've sort of taken to just poking her on the bathroom counter. i don't know if that's the best way but at least the light is good and she maybe won't think I'm coming to poke her everywhere else in the house.

focus tomorrow is to measure at least:

AMPS on empty belly
+1
+2
+6
no food 2 hours before PMPs
+1
+2

that sound right?

MJ
 
morning! I bet she was so active last night as she is just feeling better. YAY! It's hard to know how long they has been sick before any of us knew... it was that was with Mannie too.

Your plan for today sounds great! Good luck!

Sometimes I think too our kitties choose their test spot. If she likes the bathroom, then why not? Mannie likes the floor - great... :lol: :lol: but it works for him, and he is relaxed there, so floor it is.

wow, and sorry on the potential ankle surgery. bummer, but I know how that goes. Mine was the same....

have a great day today!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top