7/12 Do Lou pmps 268+3 303 dental tomrrow

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa and Do Lou (GA)

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=19476

Well at least he seems to feel better today :-D he got me up in the night several times purring away but it sure would be nice to see those pinks turn into blues again and then tomorrow is his dental that I guess will throw his numbers off even more :?: :YMSIGH: :YMSIGH: all P's in place this morning ~O)
 
Re: 7/12 Do Lou amps 328+3 300

But we are hoping for better numbers once the dental is out of the way....good luck to you both tonight and tomorrow morning! Do Lou is heading in the right direction with tht +3 anyway...hope you have a happy day...
 
Re: 7/12 Do Lou amps 328+3 300

Good morning! Here's hoping for better numbers today for Do Lou. And dental tomorrow? OH what fun... it usually does through Mannie's numbers off some, and alot of kitty will drop due to the anesthesia, so best watch afterward. hope you guys have a great day today.
 
Re: 7/12 Do Lou amps 328+3 300

Excellent news about the dental. I have often suspected he needed one even though checks came back ok.
I wouldn't worry too much about any numbers till after dental.
 
Re: 7/12 Do Lou amps 328+3 300

Vet recommended I give 1/2 his dose in morning rather then no shot but I would like advice from our advisers here on this since even though I like my vet we all know from my past that he is not up to date on lantus use
 
Re: 7/12 Do Lou amps 328+3 300

We will help you through the dental! It is upsetting for us, but great for the kitties as it usually brings their BGs down A LOT!!!
Moonie has had 2 so far, and civvie needs one also..
Come on down today Do Lou!! O?? :mrgreen:
OH WAIt I just read your post--The anesthesia makes their BG DROP--It's called the nom nom effect--anesthesia eats the bgs--usually after dental.
See Moonie's SS 11/18/09 when she came home she dropped a lot, so you will need to check...
BUT See what helpers say as far as am shot...Ours was a while ago so I cant remember, but I'll try to find my posts from then..
 
Re: 7/12 Do Lou amps 328+3 300 dental tomrrow

Cheryl (Sienne and Gabby) has an up-to-date dental check list. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/12 Do Lou amps 328+3 300 dental tomrrow

D and Noisy said:
Cheryl (Sienne and Gabby) has an up-to-date dental check list. :mrgreen:

well this is good to know have to check and see what it says :-D I sent her a PM about it
 
Re: 7/12 Do Lou amps 328+3 300 dental tomrrow

Here's the info:

Dental info

• X-rays: either before or the day of the procedure. Also x-rays after to make sure there are no tooth fragments left after an extraction.
• Bloodwork: prior to the dental to rule out anything that would prevent the procedure
• Pre-anesthesia sedation/induction: Ketamine (some had been recalled), propofol, valium. Induction should be with an IV drug vs. a gas.
• Anesthesia: Sevo or Isoflurane (these should not be used for induction, however)
• Blood pressure monitoring (Doppler or Cardell monitor)
• Cardiac monitor: pulse oximeter or cardiac monitor
• IV catheter for fluid access
• Post-procedure antibiotics if necessary. (See Dr. Lisa’s commentary - let me know if you want this)
Pain meds: administered post-procedure and to take home: Buprenex, no metacam due to the potential for renal failure. A fentanyl patch may be excessive for the purpose of this kind of pain management

ETA:
Feed only small amounts when you get home. Anesthesia slows gastric motility and if you give too much food, it results in scarf-n-barf since some of the meds also act as appetite stimulants.

Get an "in the door" test so you know whether the anesthesia is dropping BG numbers by PMPS.

Vets vary with regard to the AM shot. My vet says to hold insulin since you're not giving food. Other vets will suggest half the usual dose. I think a lot can depend on when the procedure is actually going to take place and how your cat will respond to insulin and no food.
 
Re: 7/12 Do Lou amps 328+3 300 dental tomrrow

Sienne and Gabby said:
Here's the info:

Dental info

• X-rays: either before or the day of the procedure. Also x-rays after to make sure there are no tooth fragments left after an extraction.
• Bloodwork: prior to the dental to rule out anything that would prevent the procedure
• Pre-anesthesia sedation/induction: Ketamine (some had been recalled), propofol, valium. Induction should be with an IV drug vs. a gas.
• Anesthesia: Sevo or Isoflurane (these should not be used for induction, however)
• Blood pressure monitoring (Doppler or Cardell monitor)
• Cardiac monitor: pulse oximeter or cardiac monitor
• IV catheter for fluid access
• Post-procedure antibiotics if necessary. (See Dr. Lisa’s commentary - let me know if you want this)
Pain meds: administered post-procedure and to take home: Buprenex, no metacam due to the potential for renal failure. A fentanyl patch may be excessive for the purpose of this kind of pain management

Thanks for this :-D but I am still unsure of what insulin dose to give in morning :?: what do you recommend?
+4 295 down a wee bit
 
Re: 7/12 Do Lou amps 328+3 300+4 295 dental tomrrow

Good question -- I vaguely remember half the dose but that info is not dependable.
 
Re: 7/12 Do Lou amps 328+3 300+4 295 dental tomrrow

D and Noisy said:
Good question -- I vaguely remember half the dose but that info is not dependable.
which is what my vet said to do but we also know how he is really not familiar with lantus
 
Re: 7/12 Do Lou amps 328+3 300+4 295 dental tomrrow

Do Lou is already coming down - that's good to see. We have never been through a dental with any of our cats, so I am reading all of the advice you're getting with interest. Good luck with that dental.
 
Re: 7/12 Do Lou amps 328+3 300+4 295 dental tomrrow

Good luck w/ the dental. Do Lou should do so much better after wards. Remember what your mother used to say, "You'll thank me for this later." :lol:
 
Re: 7/12 Do Lou amps 328+3 300 dental tomrrow

Sienne and Gabby said:
Here's the info:



ETA:
Feed only small amounts when you get home. Anesthesia slows gastric motility and if you give too much food, it results in scarf-n-barf since some of the meds also act as appetite stimulants.

Get an "in the door" test so you know whether the anesthesia is dropping BG numbers by PMPS.

Vets vary with regard to the AM shot. My vet says to hold insulin since you're not giving food. Other vets will suggest half the usual dose. I think a lot can depend on when the procedure is actually going to take place and how your cat will respond to insulin and no food.

He is being done first thing I am to be there at 8:30 and my vet is doing him first and of course I have no idea how Do Lou does with no food aboard since this situation has never presented itself yet
 
Re: 7/12 Do Lou amps 328+3 300+4 295+5.5 257 dental tomrrow

Good deal.
His two pics in your posts get me every time.
He's the definition of "brighted eyed".
 
Re: 7/12 Do Lou amps 328+3 300+4 295+5.5 257 dental tomrrow

Hi Lisa, So glad to hear that DL is feeling better. Good luck with the dental! He'll do fine. Sorry I can't help you about the dose. Stu has never had a dental.

Ella
 
Re: 7/12 Do Lou amps 328+3 300+4 295+5.5 257 dental tomrrow

Ok, I don't mean to crowd in on your conversations and maybe I should have started a new thread (ask and I will). Reading all of this makes me extremely nervous. How often do all of you have your cat's teeth cleaned? What effect does anesthesia have on bg levels in the long run both if a cat is on insulin or if they are otj? Does bad oral hygiene effect levels? Again, sorry if this is the wrong place to panic!
 
Re: 7/12 Do Lou amps 328+3 300+4 295+5.5 257 dental tomrrow

Carrie & Trouble said:
Ok, I don't mean to crowd in on your conversations and maybe I should have started a new thread (ask and I will). Reading all of this makes me extremely nervous. How often do all of you have your cat's teeth cleaned? What effect does anesthesia have on bg levels in the long run both if a cat is on insulin or if they are otj? Does bad oral hygiene effect levels? Again, sorry if this is the wrong place to panic!

Teeth cleaning on a cat just depends on each cat some need it young if they have gum issues but Do Lou is 7 and his still look OK to me I am a vet tech so I am trained to do dentals but will not be doing his just watching while he is sedated. I am not the one to ask about the BG levels since I honestly do not know the answer there I have my cats teeth cleaned as needed usually one of my older abys had hers done 2 weeks ago she is 11 and has had hers done 2x now and I have another cat that almost needs hers done yearly she has lost some teeth she is 13 now. I am told that any kind of infection we are not aware of can interfere with BG levels.
 
Re: 7/12 Do Lou amps 328+3 300+4 295+5.5 257 dental tomrrow

For Shadoe's dental, I can't remember what we did if half or no dose, but even after, she hit some serious low greens. All she had done was a bit of cleaning as her teeth were pretty good considering it was her very first dental ever. She had 4 teeth Xrayed but only one upper right molar was pulled and the other 3 needing polishing up a bit. I think it was in March, but you can see on her ss.

I did take her meter and demanded they test her with HER meter, plus record the numbers before they started and after they were done. I took food because she tends to go low at the vet.
I have caught her too low at the vet before and had to feed her to bring her up right away, so take some on Do Lou's food also.
 
Re: 7/12 Do Lou amps 328+3 300+4 295+5.5 257 dental tomrrow

Gayle and Shadoe said:
For Shadoe's dental, I can't remember what we did if half or no dose, but even after, she hit some serious low greens. All she had done was a bit of cleaning as her teeth were pretty good considering it was her very first dental ever. She had 4 teeth Xrayed but only one upper right molar was pulled and the other 3 needing polishing up a bit. I think it was in March, but you can see on her ss.

I did take her meter and demanded they test her with HER meter, plus record the numbers before they started and after they were done. I took food because she tends to go low at the vet.
I have caught her too low at the vet before and had to feed her to bring her up right away, so take some on Do Lou's food also.

Thank you Gayle I may just give no shot in the morning I will also check out your ss, his teeth are pretty good as well so I do not anticipate it too take a real long time but I guess you never know

+7.5 296 we seem trapped in high yellow
 
Re: 7/12 Do Lou amps 328+5.5 257+7.5 296 dental tomrrow

No advice on the dental from me, as none of mine have ever had one, but it's good to read this thread. Good luck tomorrow; we will be thinking of you both and sending good thoughts and vines to Do Lou. :-D

Flat yellow cycle....could there be a fun evening ahead? :-D
 
Re: 7/12 Do Lou amps 328+5.5 257+7.5 296pmps 268 dental tomrrow

That 268 looks better! Good luck tomorrow with his dental. We will be thinking of you.
 
Lisa dont worry..The not feeding part is the worst--They look at you with those eyes like where's my food momma??-- Dont Look into his eyes! @-) cat(2)_steam
But like someone said--keep thinking, it's for his own good!
No really, we all have gone through it & after you will say,I'm glad it was done
Moonie did have that nom nom effect(named by Jojo) where the anesthesia ate up her bgs & she went low after she got home--
So, what ever they decide for you, just feed small amounts because they are ravenous when they get home!
Sending the Easiest Quickest Dental vibes to you & Do Lou & Big HUGS!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top